We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place for early dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Het Karbeel

Het Karbeel
Reserve with
Het Karbeel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #180 of 3,729 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$27
Cuisines: Dutch, Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: From the morning you can enjoy a rich breakfast and a healthy lunch. The whole day we serve our speciality, the cheese fondues but also fish, meat and pasta dishes.
London
Level Contributor
215 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great little place for early dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We had carpaccio and onion soup as starters and prawns for main. Not enough time for pud as going on a river cruise. Had a bottle of Marlborough Sauvignon blanc not very good and expensive. Lots of people had fondue which looked great.

Helpful?
Thank Womble422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    247
    68
    12
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great for cheese fondue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We prebooked a table for the evening and were given a great window table. The cheese fondue was great but the wine selection needed to have been better as the Valpolicella was quite acidic for 25€ a bottle. The service was excellent and very friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelBerto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best fondue!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times, on different trips to Amsterdam. Always get cheese fondue, portions are huge with different selections of cheese fondue (all are good). One pot is more than enough for two people, although you may want to try different kinds. Cozy atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sd508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Bad Costumer Service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We wanted to try this place, since the reviews were quite good. After getting to the restaurant, we were told that we should wait about 10 minutes, so they could prepare a table for us.
While we waited, some other people started to arrive without reservation. Instead of calling us first, they totally forgot and they let those people seat first. We approached to the waiter and he try to offer us a larger table,but the owner, on a very rude way took us to an a small table where other people was clearly seating. We felt insulted and we left. I wouldn't recommend a place like this to any of my friends or family.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rochirive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Pancakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We wanted pancakes and they have them. Good choice and very cheap. In the heart of the touristy Warroesstraat area. Pleasant servers, excellent selection. Great prices.
Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Het Karbeel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Het Karbeel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing