We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to get the bigger picture of the Netherlands”
Review of Wetlands Safari

Wetlands Safari
Book In Advance
More Info
US$67.51*
and up
Guided Canoe Adventure with Picnic Lunch in Waterland from Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Wetlands Safari takes you to the Dutch countryside just near Amsterdam. With a canoe we explore the villages and nature of Holland. Half way through the tour we picnic with Dutch products. The tours are from 15th of April till the 27th of September. You need to sign up beforehand.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great to get the bigger picture of the Netherlands”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Having spent most of our holiday in Amsterdam, this was a great addition to our trip to get the bigger picture of the Netherlands. I love being on the water anyway and exploring the canals by canoe was great. It introduced us to the wildlife, the locals and the geography of the Netherlands. Majel was very knowledgeable and accommodating in answering all of our questions and it was an opportunity to learn a lot more about the Dutch culture as well as the wetlands. It was a really lovely relaxing day, starting with coffee, having a picnic in the middle and ending with another cuppa before heading back into the city. I also got some great photos which is fantastic.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic guided tour of waterways by canoe”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was a fantastic guided tour of the waterways and reclaimed land in Watergang via canoe.
We were very lucky and as were the only two people on the tour, so we ended up getting a private tour.

The scenery was beautiful, spanning canals with houses, farmland, and woodlands along them.
The canals are very narrow along most points, so we were in very close quarters with families of ducks and grebes for a large portion of the trip. Along one stretch, the cows came right up to the edge of the canal where our canoes were parked.

The stop on the island was great, we ate lunch and took a short walk around. We saw very tiny frogs, toads, butterflies, and various flora.

Majel was very knowledgeable, both in her description of Dutch waterways and answering any questions we had about the Netherlands. I am unable to speak Dutch, but I had no trouble communicating with her.

Overall, this was the one of the highlights of our trip to Amsterdam. I picked out some of my favorite pictures from our experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Must do”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This trip was really amazing. Maje is very nice, patient, and open-minded. Te organization was just awesome and we had a very pleasant day. The experience of visiting Amsterdam campaign was unique: very nice countryside, beautiful island and green field and unexpected encouter with animals :)
Many many thanks Maje: all of our 10 friends still mention this attraction as the key success moment of our week end, even before the beauty of the Amsterdam city! Congrats!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julien_Perez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Harry's 21st”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely great, or a least that is what I thought during the trip. Having looked at the photos afterwards, it was even better......

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great day trip”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We went in June 2014. It was a delightful way to get out of Amsterdam for just a day, without a long trip. The outing was well organized and very relaxed. The paddling is easy and the scenery is lovely. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wetlands Safari also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Wetlands Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing