We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different styles of accommodation. Totally worthy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vita Nova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vita Nova
Ranked #117 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Different styles of accommodation. Totally worthy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I spent 2 nights in Vita Nova and it gives me a very different perspective of living when comparing with hostel or hotels. Firstly the location is excellent, a great sense of comfort when you walk out of the boat everyday to explore Amsterdam. Though a bit tough if you carry heavy luggage and walk from Amsterdam Centraal, with walking distance of around 10 minutes. When we first arrived, the host was very helpful that he proactively took our luggage downstairs to our room. We were given a map and was told all the important attractions. Breakfast was excellent with great variety that we treated that as our brunch. For rooms, since this is a ship, they are rather small when compared with those in buildings. However, it is clean and I have good sleeps at all time. Will definitely choose Vita Nova again if going to Amsterdam next time.

Room Tip: It may be better to choose rooms not next to the shared bathroom, as these rooms should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Issac63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    104
    63
    16
    24
See reviews for
14
93
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The boat is located near Nemo museum, which is close to Chine town and Red Light District. In general - it's clean, but you have to remember it's a boat, so everything is really tiny - the cabins and showers. If you don't mind it - you'll surely enjoy it. The breakfast is great - really wide choice, also the owners are helpful and friendly. Good choice for the budget travelers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iwona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I spent my 1st night of my trip here. Great location very near the train station and the Nemo Museum. Friendly greeting by Brad, with lots of good information provided. My cabin was all I needed. The boat was clean and comfortable. The included breakfast was really good. I highly recommend the Vita Nova.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaltLakeCityStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World Traveler
Level Contributor
214 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I lodged three nights at Vita Nova in Amsterdam and would recommend it highly. Monica and Brad run a welcoming hotel; both were very helpful. The Vita Nova breakfast is one of the best I have had; lots of food, drink and variety.

One heads up and one suggested improvement. Like many boats and ships, the bulkheads are thin and you can easily hear your neighbor on either side of your cabin. Not sure they can do much about that.

But the Vita Nova’s WiFi could be improved; it is just way too slow. Monica was kind enough when I checked in to point me to a nearby cafe that has faster WiFi, but I was disappointed that the boat’s WiFi was so slow. It is only available in the public spaces, something I knew before I booked my reservation, but if there is any way Vita Nova can improve its WiFi, then this would be a near perfect lodging experience in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

very nice staff, but the wifi worked not very well, the bathroom was way too small so I chose not to take a shower that night, the biggest problem is the noise, OMG the noise! I could hear people talking in other rooms. It was horrible when people went by my room each time. Even in the morning I could hear the noise of the knife, fork and plate, etc. Even though I slept not really near the dining hall. The noisy was too horrible that I couldn't get sleep for almost the whole night. But still it was an experience to living on a boat like that, I don't know if I would go back again but I had not regret having choose this motel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toto Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

It's very obviously a budget hostel but in a great location. Room was TINY but awesome. I imagine it would be pain to spend any amount of time in but just to put your head down it was great. Certainly not a party boat as the shared area closes around 11ish. The single toilet certainly adds a level of 'excitement' in the morning.
Breakfast was ok, no less than I expected. Reasonable selection of cold cuts, cereal and pancakes. The American guy on the 'desk' was very helpful and friendly.

I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esstelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

It was cool to sleep thinking I was on a boat hotel. The boat itself is next to a deck that reaches out to a canal. You get a great view from the top of the boat.

The room is really small, I was in there with another friend and we had to struggle for space. The room has a basin in there so it's easy for brushing teeth etc. The mattress was comfortable, but then again, not enough space. I was in the top bunk and had to constantly hit against the ceiling even for moving an inch.

The shower is terrible, I would've got it elsewhere if that was possible. The water temperature is hard to control and not enough pressure. The owner did say that they run from a water tank, which means a set time for people to take showers - i.e. not too late in the night. It was annoying to have a limit like that because it was basically a curfew for me to get back to the hotel. But I guess this sorta thing could be expected for this kind of hotel.

Overall I wouldn't mind experiencing something like this for a change after a while, but once or twice is enough. Four points for a special experience, but that's that.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Passengership Avanti
Passengership Avanti
#93 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hostelboat Anna Maria II
Hostelboat Anna Maria II
#100 of 227 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#159 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
AmicitiA
AmicitiA
#74 of 227 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#30 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vita Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vita Nova

Property: Vita Nova
Address: Oosterdok T O 4, 1011 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied) , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vita Nova 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vita Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vita Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing