We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool experience, very small!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostelboat Anna Maria II
Ranked #138 of 241 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hostelboat was very clean, well located (10-15 mins from train station, another 15 mins to city centre) and the owners were very friendly. Free breakfast in the morning was a great start to the stay. That being said, the rooms are VERY small...we stayed in one of the 2 person cabins and the bunk beds were very short and narrow. There was not a lot of place to put luggage so the room felt very cramped with the luggage either on our beds or taking up the small floor space. The bathrooms were clean and we never had to wait to use them. Amsterdam is a very expensive city so taking that into account, this was a good budget accommodation if you're willing to compromise on space.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelsey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

This little boat , was an experience , very friendly , reasonably priced ,lovely breakfast . And walking distance to all of city amsterdam , come an go when you please . This is perfect for short people 4 of us stayed one night , 110 € cheapest accommodation , in a cabin 4 bunks , clean tidy what can I say , the expierience of a lifetime . Gotta stay in a houseboat in Amsterdam .

Room Tip: If your over 5 foot 6 forget it ! Quiet area , close to red light district .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This accommodation met our needs. Safe clean and friendly! We had a double bunk with a private bath. Very affordable and centrally located to everything. Host was very helpful. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is a hostel with a difference, and a quite memorable place to stay in Amsterdam. That being said, the room two of us slept in was absolutely tiny but that aside, the food was truly awful. The worst attempt at spaghetti I have ever had the misfortune to experience. OK for groups of young people on a tight budget and those touring Europe, but eat elsewhere!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nimitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This was a lovely place to stay for me and one friend. We had a fairly spacious room for the fact it was a cabin, our own bathroom and shower in the room. Hospitality was fantastic, friendly hosts who helped us out a lot with where to go etc. Feel at home here rather than staying in a hotel. Lovely views from the boat and I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a small but clean and cosy room in amsterdam.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliceness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Read loads of reviews that slated this hostel but i ignored them as it was so cheap and booked it anyway. SO GLAD I DID! For the money it is in a brilliant location, 10 min walk from central station, 10 mins from the red light district and 15 mins from Rembrantplein! I will admit when we got on board i though 'i cant live in such a cramped place!' but when you get used to it its fine. The rooms were tiny and if you're tall theres no chance you can stay there but the beds were really comfy, the rooms were warm and the toilets and showers were spotless. Breakfast was really nice and there was lots of it. Plus as it was such a small hostel you got to chat to all the other guests and mix with them. The staff we're so helpful and nice, they'd sit and chat and recommend places to visit and even lent my friend a towel because she forgot to take one, and when we missed breakfast on the first day they made up tea and coffee and got us cereal so we wouldnt go without.
Another good point was we could sit up on the deck in the evening and have a drink with a really lovely view of Amsterdam and all the boats in the dock, i honestly couldnt recommend this place enough, its a unique place to stay and i'd def go back again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bany1781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My friend and I were taking a weekend trip to Amsterdam and were excited about staying on a boat; unfortunately we were very disappointed. First impressions were okay, we were greeted by a lady smilling and waving through about a 3ft hatch, with extremely steep steps down to inside the boat. I certainly however did not enjoy attempting to safely climb down the stairs into the boat with my luggage. The lady who greeted us was very polite and spoke fantastic English, she also gave us information about good places to visit and the travelling system. To say the least we were shocked about the size of the room, we knew it was going to be small, but not that small! We weren't even able to pass through the door at the same time as there was not enough room, we had to create a one-way like system. The beds and the window were small, but we could cope with that. We next discovered that there was not a plug socket in our room, we asked where we could charge our phones and were told there were plug sockets in the public dining area - meaning we had to sit by our phones in the public area whilst they were charging to avoid them getting stolen, as we were told this was a possibility.

The other guests were obviously having a great time considering the amount of noise they made. We were woken several times by loud shouting/singing, whistling and laughter in the early hours of the morning i.e. 6-8am. Seeing as we had only been asleep for about an hour, we weren't exactly too happy about the noise! On one occasion one of the guys began banging on our door and shouting at us in German; unfortunately neither of us speak German. Considering that when we arrived on the boat we were sternly told to not bring 'the party' back to the boat and to have respect for the other guests; clearly the other guests did not get informed of the 'party' rules.

In the morning we had to join the queue for the shower, as the showers and toilet facilities were communal. There were only two of each of the facilities on the boat, on the plus side the toilets were clean and smelt nice! Our next serious problem was when we realised it was BYO towels as neither of us had packed one. It was however not the owners fault as it is advertised, but dont do what we did - take a towel!

Our last and final disappointment was when we had breakfast for the first time. We had read previous reviews which gave us high expectations for breakfast. We awkardly entered the dining area and discovered breakfast was just completely basic, it was just bread, jam, ham, cheese and poor refreshments. It was an experience staying on the Anna Maria II, but I certainly will not be staying there again. To add to the fun, when we checked out at 10:30am, we were greeted by extreme rain and wind!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank C-Hxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
ClinkNOORD
#7 of 241 in Amsterdam
1,022 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 241 in Amsterdam
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Hostelle
#36 of 241 in Amsterdam
268 reviews
Train Lodge
#50 of 241 in Amsterdam
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelboat Anna Maria II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelboat Anna Maria II

Address: Oosterdok t o 4, Pier 4, 1011 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied) , Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 241 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £45 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostelboat Anna Maria II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing