We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hostel like a hotel”
Review of Hostel Slotania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Slotania
Ranked #191 of 248 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed 23 May 2012

we stayed at slotania hostel in amsterdam for 11 nights with my friend. 2 girls in a mixed dorm of 8 could be a bad memory. although at this hostel everything was like lving in a good hotel. the only thing that was a little bit inconvinient for us was the location. amsterdam is a small town and if you live in the centre you can walk the hole city.the hostel was at about 20 minutes from the centre with transpotation. and aslo it was expensive (as a hostel...)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dellafrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

I had been there last Saturday. We were 6 persons. It´s not bad enough but it could be better.
We were in a clean room but with non toilet paper.I think that nobody arranged the room before or didn´t take care of it. Really good breakast with several options to pick up. There is a shopping center near and you can arrive there easily. It is no close to the center.Is 25 minutes by bus and we paid 37 euros for one night. To be honest, for the amount that i paid, i would prefer another hostel in the city center.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisbeth7219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I stayed at this hostel with 5 other friends and it was a great place to stay, i must admit i was worried about going after reading the reviews but what i found when i was the complete opposite, the rooms were basic but clean, had a T.V, 3 safes for your personnel items and bathroom that was very smart indeed. Breakfast was included with the price and overall a good feel to the place, didn't have much contact with the staff but the receptionist were adequate, but the outside deco could be confused with a mental asyllum but who cares nobody goes to amsterdam to stay in aesthetically pleasing hostel/hotel but for a decent night sleep and to get high and maybe sleep with the odd prostitute or 2, but hey that stuffs optional. ;)

Room Tip: The room was on the 2nd floor facing the front and access was by a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, friday and saturday. When we arrived we all thought 'what on earth have we booked' as the hotel on first appearence looks to be in a very unpleasant area, however it was fine and very quite. Slotermeerlaan is about 15 minutes tram ride form the central city and the reception hands out paperwork on how to get where and which stops to use. Once you step inside you are greated with a warm and new reception area with breakfast bar just behind, lift or stairs to your room and friendly staff. the 1st floor has recently been renovated and the 2nd was just being finished while we where there. Rooms werent the biggest, 4 people to a room with bunkbeds but for somewhere to crash out it was great. Very comfy beds, en-suite bathroom and all very clean. Overall a nice experience. Just a shame about the locaiton.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

If you are planning a trip to Amsterdam, avoid this hostel at all cost! In general hostels have its pros and cons. I was able to budget a trip to Europe for a month because I stayed in hostels in most countries. Typically it is safe and comfortable, except the Hostel Slotania, which was dirty, far from the tourist areas in Amsterdam. The staff was rude. They did not have a safe place to store luggage.The room's walls were stained.There were drugs visibly in the shared spaces.people were smoking pot and there were cigarette butts everywhere like a dump. I took my luggage to the train station to store in a locker and when I returned there was a strange older man who had convinced the other tenants to let him into the room without a key and he had already claimed my bed. The staff did not care about my complaints, they should be shut down.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lahorit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

From the website Hostel Slotania provides a very nice front that looks respectable, value for money and right in the thick of the action. Unfortunately it turned out to be none of these things. As Amsterdam was the last destination on my trip around Europe I thought I would treat myself to a nice hostel worthy of a £50 a night price tag, it turned out it wasn't worthy of anything. The staff were unhelpful, rude and arrogant and didn't give a damn about my custom. The rooms were cramped, unclean and unsafe! The bunk beds were very easy to fall out of and left very little room for the person on the bottom bunk. There was a hole in the wall completely exposed to the outside! The hostel boasts to be a short walk from the city centre yet turns out to be a thirty minute tram journey to Dam Square! It is in a terrible neighbourhood!

Overall this hostel is unclean, unsafe, and inconvenient with the rudest staff I have ever encountered. Stay away from this hostel!

Room Tip: Don't come here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anon607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The hostel was very clean and tidy however dorms were pretty small and difficult to move in when fully occupied. Bathroom is on a hotel level standard. Clean towels and liquid soap are already provided. Breakfests are great, you can eat as much as you want and there is a lot to choose from. Unfortunately the hostel has neither a common room nor a kitchen.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lukasz_PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Blue Square
#162 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,025 reviews
Hostelle
#34 of 248 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#146 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,335 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#66 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Slotania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Slotania

Address: Slotermeerlaan 131, 1063 JN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 248 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £30 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Hostel Slotania Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing