We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, basic hotel room. Fantastic location.”
Review of Hotel Bellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bellington
Ranked #327 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 9 April 2012

When my husband, 3 young daughters and I arrived in Amsterdam (Summer 2007) to discover that our travel agent had goofed and booked us in a hotel that was no longer in existence (it had been demolished, according to neighbours), the Bellington took us in with absolutely no notice. No, it was not the one bedroom apartment we had booked, but we had a clean room, enough beds, television, a small refrigerator and a private bathroom. Our room was small, simple, no frills, but it served our purpose beautifully. The free breakfast was lovely, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was much better than the room we had originally booked out in the suburbs. We loved being within walking distance of Museumplein, Vondelpark, Max Euweplein, trams, restaurants and shops. In the end, we were thrilled that we ended up at the Bellington, instead of the room we had originally booked. We had a wonderful action-packed 10-day adventure in Amsterdam that remains the best family vacation we have ever had.

Room Tip: We found this to be a good, very basic room. If you are looking for something fancy, this might not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sam Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Very hospitable family. Michel (manager) was very helpful in giving tips and directions on places to eat, sites to visit, best transportation etc. Complimentary buffet breakfast was also good with enough choices from cereals, breads, cold cuts, eggs, coffee, a wide variety of teas, orange juice and some fruits. The only small drawback is the narrow and steep staircases which elderly and physically challenged people would have difficulty in climbing as the hotel is located in the 2nd floor since the ground floor are high value commercial spaces of boutiques. Very good value for money

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank RAYMOND T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Adele F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I just back from Amsterdam, and want to say that hotel perfect for travels that need good bad, clean shower & toilet. Very nice, friendly helpful owners(Family from Japan), very good location and very acceptable price.
One problem, its a stairs, I have a problem with my back and I cant take my luggage up stairs, and if you don't know, I can explain in most hotels in Amsterdam very high stairs I think its approximate 95-100 degrees, and if you girl, and you have heavy luggage (my was 22 kg) it will be a problem. But still I ask owners to help me, and they take my language up stairs to our room. So what can I say, I am 27 y.o, from Israel and hotel is nice. Good Luck:)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niko4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

The first and last time we booked a room online it had to be the Bellington. Upon arrival we had to climb a Mt. Everest staircase just to get to the check-in desk. We were shown up another steep staircase to our room which I wouldn't have stayed in as a backpacker years before. There were actual holes in the bathroom and bedroom walls with exposed wiring. The room was dark and dank. We asked for another room which they "didn't have." We asked for a refund which they "refused." They would rather have your money right then rather than offer any customer satisfaction. We left immediately and took the loss.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYLAdy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

The only really good thing about this hotel was the location. The room was tiny and not very clean. Also, the reception and breakfast room were in the next house, so to get there from your room you had to go downstairs to the street, enter next door and go up steep stairs again (not very confortable). Breakfast was OK though. Next time I'm in Amsterdam I'll definitely look for something better.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeonardoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Location is in a high end shopping area in the museum district, but the hotel is not worth the money. The room was not clean, no AC, and construction started at 4 am on the roof and on the streets. The jack hammers did not stop. It was one of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superfry75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#283 of 373 in Amsterdam
296 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Sipermann Hotel
Sipermann Hotel
#314 of 373 in Amsterdam
293 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#78 of 373 in Amsterdam
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#310 of 373 in Amsterdam
665 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#268 of 373 in Amsterdam
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellington

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 78-80, 1071 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £43 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Bellington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Bellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing