We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great location near museums”
Review of Hotel Van Gogh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Van Gogh
Ranked #144 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Paid 53 euro 1st night; 35 each additional for single room with attached bath; stayed three nights

Take bus 197 from airport; 4 euros each way

PROS
1. Great location in museumplein for museum lovers; almost opposite Van Gogh and Staedjikl musuems; within five minute walk to Rijksmusuem
2. Tram station almost outside hotel
3. I was given room on fourth floor which was very quiet
4. Gave space heater which really helped heat up the place in cold nights
5. Young and friendly staff
6. Great all you can eat breakfast buffet with meat, cheese, cereal, tomatoes, cucumbers, drinks, etc. for only five euros; this value cannot be beat
7. There is a Albert Hijn grocery store right behind Staedijkl museum on Van Baerlestraat; Hotel provides common fridge, freezer and microwave for guest use; you can save a lot of money by buying food from grocery stores rather than eating in restaurants
8. Room and bathroom were small but entirely manageable

CONS
1. Bed was very small and rather uncomfortable
2. Safe did not work since battery low; notified front desk but never fixed
3. Room floor was somewhat dirty with dust and never cleaned; fresh, clean towels everyday but bedsheet had stain and never changed during stay

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor are quieter; elevator or lift is small and slow but that is normal in europe...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PULAOKHAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (931)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Van Gogh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed for 3 nights with my two friends in a 6-bed dorm room (female only). The room was spacious enough with lots of natural light (and good black-out curtains!). The private bathroom was very nice and cleaned every day to high standards. We got clean towels every day on our beds. It honestly felt much more like a hotel than a hostel. We were very happy with the room, location, breakfast, and free wifi. The location is great with access to many trams that go to Dam Square, Central Station, etc. The only downfall of the location is if you are out late at night near Central Station, it will cost you 15+ euros to cab back to the hostel. Same if you have an early morning flight on a Sunday (trams don't start until 7 am).

Unfortunately, most of the staff working at the front desk are not very helpful. If you ask them for suggestions or directions, they just keep staring at their computer screen and give you one-two word answers that get you nowhere. Also, we could only pay on one VISA card when checking in because our booking for three was together. Other hostels I've been to had no problem in splitting up the total cost between the 3 people on different cards. So that kind of screwed up our finances for the trip! If you are looking for a fun hostel where you are going to meet people, this is not your hostel. There is no bar or pub where fellow travellers can mingle or really a common room to hang out. It is a good hostel if you are with friends already and want a nice clean hostel to stay in!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LCP949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

stayed here last New Year's Eve. Hostel is a good location, close enough yo the centre but a shirt walk away so not kept up till early hours if you didn't want to be. Good price, facilities & service. Would stay again. Amsterdam is great :). You must visit ye old Dutch pancake house by the flower market. It's the best :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is both a hostel and hotel. One part of the building is a hotel and the other part is a hostel. We chose to stay in this hostel - 6 bed mixed dorm room with its own private washroom/shower. Yes its a little bit more expensive that most hostels in Amsterdam and its not centrally located but the room and washroom/shower was always clean and and linens and towels are provided free of charge. The washroom is equipped with a hair dryer, and soap(hand soap, and shower gel) which is rare in hostels. There are also a small safe in the room for small valuables that can be used free of charge. The bunk beds were sturdy and comfy. They offer a daily buffet breakfast for extra charge of 5 euros (per person per day), which I thought was a good price (cereal, yogurt, fruit, pastries, bread, tea, coffee, milk).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o_OMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My brother, a friend and I all stayed here for two nights during our time in Amsterdam, and it was a very enjoyable experience! For being relatively cheap, the location was great, the safe were fine, and the continental breakfast was also very nice. The wifi was a nice plus as well! The hotel was very clean too, which apparently is pretty rare for budget hotels in Amsterdam, so that was nice. Definitely would recommend this hotel for budget travelers!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hostel is very modern and has lovely rooms and is very clean. The fresh linen and towels everyday is a nice feature. The electronic safes in the rooms give you a sense of security. The location is perfect for Museumplein and Leidseplein but out of the way of more central areas.

Now the bad points. The staff are terribly rude and I don't think it's just because I'm British that I think that. It was impossible to get more than a word out of them and they rarely looked at you or engaged when doing something. The room cards are wiped everyday when someone in your room checks out but we weren't told this so were locked out twice, both times our request was met with a look of irritation and no sorry or explanation, not even eye contact. The atmosphere is also non-existent so look at The Flying Pig for fun and the chance to meet people.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crawley_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

While this was my second time visiting Hotel Van Gogh within a year, I hadn't reviewed it yet. The facilities are very basic but clean and well kept. Walking distance to a grocery store (Albert Heins) as well as Leidseplein makes it a great place to stay. Their beds felt a lot more comfortable compared to before.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsimAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#37 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,378 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#57 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#329 of 371 in Amsterdam
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Gogh

Address: Van de Veldestraat 5, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £71 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Van Gogh 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant Ventral Location & Young Vibes , Affordable Comfort!Situated in a top spot at Amsterdam city centre, the most vibrant centre for art, fashion and culture, 3 major World Famous Museum at your doorstep: Van Gogh Museum & Rijks Museum, Stedelijk Museum. hotel is fully air-conditioned, guest kitchenette available. hotel attracts lot of young travelers who enjoy comfort and quality accomodation, yet affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing