We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty and terrible!”
Review of Hotel Van Gogh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Van Gogh
Ranked #146 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dirty and terrible!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Terrible hostel!!! Disgusting!!!


That was not my first stay in Van Gogh Hotel and I really love it before but now its very dirty hotel with disgusting and rude stuff!! When I come my bed was dirty,with dust in towel an pillow and I asked to change my bed linen. Rude guy from reception desk told me that I should be happy that I had any linen at all. Next day another guy was rude with me when I politely ask some question!
So, I'm very sad that wonderful hotel become hole and I hope nobody will choose this hotel for stay! Choose something more friendy and clean for your vocation in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank icelady234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    416
    156
    45
    43
See reviews for
76
140
154
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This lovely little hotel is in a very quiet setting, no noise at night but close to all the action. Smart Bedrooms, Tea and coffee making, good bathroom. Breakfast amazing for 5€ Bacon, eggs, mushrooms beans etc. plus bakery goods, all types of coffee and tea etc. What value. In foyer machines for cold drinks, snacks and useful travel good. Microwave and guest fridge. Loved this hotel and would recommend to all

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed on the hotel side of the place and it was great - staff available 24 hours, great location in the museum district, easy to get around to other places as well. We also rented bikes from them and they were perfect for exploring the city. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca_J22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

As a group of 6, we decided to visit Amsterdam. This hotel was one of the first we considered because of how cheap it was.

Despite the fact that it's cheap, this hotel is spotlessly clean!

It is only a couple of minutes away from the action. Every night, I would walk back, but you could get the tram if you're not a fan of cardio.

10/10 - would visit again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank malnomis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed on the hostel side in a private room and could not believe how nice it was for a 'hostel'. In my opinion it was more like a hotel! Clean and modern, fresh towels when you needed them. The shower room was fab! The beds were comfy and we slept very well.
We were there for three days and didn't take a tram or bus anywhere in the city as walked everywhere - a great location. I would definitely recommend to others and visit again.
Excellent value and would certainly come again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights in the 6-bed dorm, and it really had exceeded my expectations for a hostel. It was really cozy and comfortable, not to mention extremely clean. The location is fantastic, easily accessible to almost anywhere in Amsterdam. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and they are more than happy to recommend you places to go and to eat. The five euro breakfast was sumptuous and well worth the money. Need I say more?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimottyTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed in the hotel (there's also a hostel) for 4 nights. The room was clean and comfortable. Lovely big shower. The all you can eat buffet breakfast for €5 (in advance, it's €6.50 on the day) is excellent value with lots of choice and fantastic coffee. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great, right opposite the Museumplein and a few minutes walk from the Concertgebouw concert hall (the reason for our visit was to attend to two concerts). There are tram stops opposite the hotel for two trams that go to the centre. The only niggle was the beds which were very soft so didn't suit us oldies used to a firm orthopaedic mattress! If we visited Amsterdam again we would definitely stay at the Van Gogh again. Excellent value and location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJaneY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#40 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#316 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#98 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#117 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Gogh

Property: Hotel Van Gogh
Address: Van de Veldestraat 5, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Van Gogh 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant Ventral Location & Young Vibes , Affordable Comfort!Situated in a top spot at Amsterdam city centre, the most vibrant centre for art, fashion and culture, 3 major World Famous Museum at your doorstep: Van Gogh Museum & Rijks Museum, Stedelijk Museum. hotel is fully air-conditioned, guest kitchenette available. hotel attracts lot of young travelers who enjoy comfort and quality accomodation, yet affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing