We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient place, not very quite”
Review of Amsterdam At Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam At Home
Ranked #25 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Convenient place, not very quite”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

During the last 2 weeks I stayed here for leisure with mother at end April, the feeling wholely was fair.

It was so nice to meet the host Hans instead of Christel, actually I stayed there for 2 weeks but never met her. My mother just met her as she walked in our rented apartment suddenly without prior notice.

Also, there were some noise at night like walking around as we rented the upper floor. Other than that, everything seems fine. The location quite good as close to supermarket which was good to us can prepare dinner at night. By the way, the traffic there also found close.

Room Tip: Maybe the lower room would be better. But the upper room the view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank audrey-Tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelathome, Owner at Amsterdam At Home, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Audry,
Many thanks for leaving your comments here and for staying with us!

There must have been a misunderstanding however as Gavin, our friend who runs the B&B during our yearly vacation, welcomed you at the B&B and explained that I was on vacation.

During your stay our cleaning Amber came into the apartment to clean and change the towels, and met your mother. Unfortunately we did not meet personally this time but hopefully we may welcome you back sometime in the near future!

With kind regards,

Christel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
112
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leominster
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Thank you Christal. We had a great time despite the weather dropping to the same as Xmas! We loved your home and will book again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs apartment - lovely light and airy rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divingdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed in the studio apartment in the basement. It was very comfortable! Christel and Hans were super sweet, friendly and helpful, gave us all the information we needed! I especially liked the info on the different markets. They also provided bike rentals and airport transfer.

The location was also awesome, just steps away from everything, yet quiet.

One thing is that the sound proofing isn't quite ideal, you could hear people walking/talking in the street, and you could hear people walk around in the floor above. But it's a rather quiet street so it wasn't that big a deal. Also because it's historic and the toilet works by some pump system, it makes some noise whenever we bathe. Which we were ok with too.

I think the location and hosts were just perfect and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pawsielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundonald, Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Fantastic wee studio, plenty of room to move about, We stayed here for 5 days and didn't get frustrated at the lack of space as you do in many European hotels.

The hotel is in a fantastic location, close to everything but in a quiet and nice area. The building is a typical Amsterdam one, very pretty and rather old so it has a lot of character and none of the cheesyness of a lot of Amsterdam hotels. We felt very safe wandering around the area at night time.

Christel was so friendly she made us feel at home in her city and gave us large volumes of information about the place, what to do and what to avoid. She made us feel like we had a friend in a city we had never been to before.

The studio we stayed in had its own entrance as it was in the basement which was great because we could come and go as we pleased! The kitchen is well equipped and there is a supermarket very near by. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and i know for sure we will defiantly be back hopefully sooner rather than later.

Minus points (kind of)
As its a basement the lighting isn't fantastic! But it didn't bother me personally.
The double bed is two singles pushed together, again didn't bother us!

If you stay here listen to Christels recommendations! The restaurant she suggested around the corner was not only rather cheap but also outstandingly delicious and friendly!

If you go to Amsterdam avoid the sex museum and cannabis museum in the red light district, complete waste of money! Hop on hop off canal and bus tour also was a waste of money as i found it wasnt very informative and they kept advertising attractions they obviously owned/worked with.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This is a properly nice place to stay. We had a very warm welcome from Gavin, who gave us lots of directions and essential tips for the city. All clean and nicely decorated. We stayed in the downstairs apartment as wanted the twin beds but the upstairs is nicer. Very well located in a quiet, posh area, by canal with lots of atmosphere as is the oldest part of town. Really good choice, if you're wondering whether to spend that bit extra, definitely do!

Room Tip: Upstairs is bigger and better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Amsterdam at Home B&B for a few nights in July last year; he stayed for a few nights alone before I joined him as he was there for work. We had thought this arrangement might have complicated our booking but our host, Christel, was very amenable and flexible.

Christel and Hans were perfect hosts in what is a very conveniently located and yet quiet area of central Amsterdam.

The room was large and airy with a small indoor garden and a private en suite bathroom. When staying in the room you pretty much have the run of the house with a communal breakfast and (honesty) bar area. We understood that there was another couple renting the basement flat which also owned by Christel and Hans but we did not see them as the flat has its own self catering facilities.

Christel attended at the property each day to provide a hearty home made breakfast - we never ate the same thing twice and the menu was very varied with great fresh juices. Christel was happy to provide assistance, advice and recommendations for local sightseeing and there was a selection of discount vouchers for tourist attractions available from Christel too.

The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was hot with good water pressure. We would definitely recommend Amsterdam at Home B&B to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easygoinghoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have spend a Week in to At Home and we have
to say. It is a realy beatuyful place, clean, calm ..... like you stay by old friends.

The owner, she is so helpfull and its allowed to smoke down stears, up stears is smoke strikly forbiten. You get your owen Key an all trust i can belive in.

The Price is totaly fair!!!!
I love it!

Room Tip: Call soon a nuff!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank King-Frederik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
#7 of 367 in Amsterdam
198 reviews
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 331 in Amsterdam
429 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 331 in Amsterdam
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Vanguard
The Vanguard
#15 of 331 in Amsterdam
179 reviews
Breitner House
#14 of 331 in Amsterdam
219 reviews
Centrum
Artist House Apartments
Artist House Apartments
#32 of 228 in Amsterdam
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam At Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam At Home

Property: Amsterdam At Home
Address: Korte Keizersstraat 12, 1011 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam At Home is the ideal place to stay in Amsterdam! Two private and independent units are available in this beautiful historical house in the oldest part of Amsterdam. Shops, bars & restaurants - as well as museums and attractions - are literally a stone`s throw away. Everything can be reached easily by foot. You will be staying right inside the historic city-centre. Both of our units come with private entrance, fully equipped kitchen, free snacks, coffee- and tea making facilities (incl. free coffee & tea), bathroom incl. free toiletries, daily cleaning. Come stay with us, we promise it will be unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam At Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing