We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap or cheerful”
Review of Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Ranked #250 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not cheap or cheerful”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The hotel is ideally located as it is only a 5 minute walk from Centraal Train Station and is situated in the red light district in quite a picturesque setting with pleasant views.
The hotel is three storeys high with no lift facility and the stairways are very steep so not suitable for the less fit or agile travellers.
The rooms are very basic, literally just beds, dressing table and wardrobe.
There is no TV, no safe, no coffee/tea facilities.
Upon arrival we found our bedding, towels and bathroom to be clean but the floor had not been vacummed and there was the deodrant can of the previous occupant on the window sill.
During our 3-night stay the maid came in daily and left fresh towls and emptied our bin but that was all. Our beds were never made nor was the room vacummed etc.
AS the hotel has smoking and non-smoking rooms the was always a strong smell of tobacco and of course (given its location) cannabis.
The staff were reasonably friendly and helpful.
There are breakfast facilites but we never dined as chose to eat out.
We paid 83 euros a night between two which I think is expensive for what it is.
I do not recommend this hotel on the basis that it was not clean, has a disinctive lack of facilities and is pricey in comparison to other hotels that are available.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz3699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    93
    90
    35
    22
See reviews for
18
96
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2013

When you goto Amsterdam, you don't look for a classy hotels. You just need a room in the centre of the city. And that's where Hotel 83 is located. In the middle of everything. Fantastic location just in the middle of the red light district. It is run by a very friendly family: a father and two sons. The old man is a soul of the party who also owns the pub next to the hotel. If you decide to drive there, there's a parking behind the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Vilma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Brilliant hotel for the view, the room and the staff. Literally right on the district, your room glows red its that close haha. Been to a few hotels in the Dam and this one was perfect, got to know the staff and they were a great laugh. Definitely be staying here again :) The only drawbacks for us was the key that we had to constantly be left back everytime you left and the stairs were deadly to get up but then again we spent so much time in coffeeshops and bars so this is probably why it was hard to keep track of the key and hike the stairs haha

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Hotel 83 is in a perfect location right in the middle of everywhere that you want to go and see! We done a lot of walking on this trip so it was nice that we didn't have to walk too far to get to where we wanted to!

We were all really impressed by the room which catered for 6 six people, rooms were massive and beds were really comfy too! Everything was clean and tidy.

Only tiny downfall was the breakfast...just plain old scrabmled eggs and tiny sausages when I say sausages I mean the tinned kind! (no toast)! Staff were friendly and helpful they gave us everything we asked for :) accommodation was ideal. Would definately stay here again!

xx

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This is not just a simple good old "bad hotel". It is much worse. it is actually a parody on the term "bad hotel". The owners seem to have taken everything that is bad in hotels industry, and tried to have done it worse in a very creative way.

First, there is the attitude. An unshaved individual (I think it was a man), was grumpy when I arrived and gave the constant impression that I am bothering him. Other service people were similarly innovative in finding ways of expressing their grumpiness.

But who cares about service, when you check out the facilities.

1. To reach the room you need to climb a staircase which is more like a ladder. It is narrow, very steep, and truly dangerous. I scared to fall to death while climbing it with my suitcase.

2. The room was awful, dirty, and shabby.

3. Unlike what I was promised, there was no shower no bathroom in the room. Instead, there was a corridor shower, just next to my door. Whenever there anyone used either the shower or the bathroom, I was awakened. I did not shower this day!!!

4. The room had no phone to call the front desk.

5. I have run out words to describe breakfast. I simply gave up on it. I think many did the same.

6, To make up for all of these, the price was around 120 EURO, truly expensive!

In summary, don't go there unless you are simultaneously rich, stupid and masochistic.

Room Tip: Don't go there! It is a disgrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yossi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

very good for a young group. But I would not take my family or girlfriend.
I have visited amsterdam several times, making the mistake of staying in an expensive hotel on the outskirts the first time. I have stayed in hotel 83 twice now and it has been very good given the price and location as It is central and not far from the train station.
The rooms are good, decent shower/wet rooms. always somebody at reception and they are always helpful. They offer breakfast but were not really prepared for a pack of hungry lads, not bad for a quick bite and a coffee. They have bikes to rent also.

Room Tip: If your travelling in with a young group ask to stay in the top room with the balcony overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattAB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#247 of 368 in Amsterdam
231 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#318 of 368 in Amsterdam
656 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#228 of 368 in Amsterdam
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#219 of 368 in Amsterdam
278 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#235 of 368 in Amsterdam
435 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#110 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 83 Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Property: Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 83, 1012 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel 83 Amsterdam 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 83 Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing