We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay in the Red Light District :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Ranked #243 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One night stay in the Red Light District :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great little hotel in the heart of the Red Light District, very busy street, but I loved it as it was close to everything !It's a one star hotel, staff was very friendly and helpful. Worth the money!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ritusikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    91
    88
    32
    22
See reviews for
17
92
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

What a bargain this hotel is, great location in the red light district, large clean rooms and breakfast included, will definately be staying here again soon, and is a smoking hotel :-) only downside were the incredibly step stairs to the upper floors lol

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here last week.

Good points : Its cheap and very central... and strangely despite the location (heart of the RLD) its actually very quite inside the hotel... got 2 x great nights sleep.

Bad points : Its typical budget Amsterdam hotel .. a bit worn-out (but fine)... crazy steep stairs up to the rooms (only suitable for young people), basic breakfast .. slightly grumpy staff. My Room was small and I had to share a bathroom and shower room with residents of another room.

My biggest bugbear was I had no television in the room... there was one in the big reception area but there was always a few burly looking Russian gangster types hanging around smoking cigars, I don't like cigars or gangsters ... so didn't get to watch any TV. Also no tea/coffee making facilities in my room and couldn't get a hot drink at a reception during the day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the busy street are quieter for light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrLittlevillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights on our first trip to Amsterdam a few weeks ago. We booked through booking.com, it was great value compared to most other hotels in the vicinity (Amsterdam to us seemed quite pricy for accommodation). It was easy to find, about a 10 minute walk from the central station and in the midst of the Red Light District (squeezed in between a coffee shop and an "erotic outlet" haha). On first impression we were disappointed - we'd been allocated a tiny room with two separate single beds and a shared bathroom down the hall, although we'd paid for a double room with private bathroom. I spoke to reception who were at first reluctant and said the hotel was fully booked (understandable as it was King's Day), but after checking through the computer system for some time they eventually agreed we could move to a double room on the next floor. Which was MUCH better. The bedroom was large, basic furnishings and a bit dated but perfectly functional and comfortable. The bathroom was huge and looked quite new. Wifi only worked in one part of the room but was okay. The room was surprisingly quiet considering its central location, we could hear strange noises coming from the street late at night but nothing enough to keep us awake. We slept through breakfast every day so can't comment on that. Overall everything you'd expect from a budget hotel - basic but clean, a perfectly good spot to rest up when you don't plan on spending much time in the room anyways :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelsey_J_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed with my husband at this hotel from the 11th to the 17th of May in 2014.
Excellent location - right in the heart of the RLD - local to lots of main attractions.
Best hotel of its price range in the red light, excellent bathroom facilities and good size room for in dam
The staff were quite helpful and friendly. The wi-fi not working The first three days, but latter throughout the hotel was top notch.
Breakfast was also quite good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passenger_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I've stayed at this hotel every time I've been in Amsterdam and never had a bad experience that I can recall. The location is fantastic, you couldn't be more central, the hotel is right on the Red Light District.

Rooms are cleaned, towels changed etc...daily. Rooms are very clean and safe to leave your belongings in whilst your exploring the city.

Breakfast buffet is included (which I usually missed) and is ok, pretty standard continental breakfast really. Bread and jams, boiled eggs, cheese etc...

Another bonus is the free WIFI.

Would return (as always) to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Molnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Nice central location. Clean rooms. Towels changed everyday. You can have your room cleaned everyday if you want. Shared toilets and shower but only between two rooms so thats alright. Very basic rooms.

Breakfast food was alright. Scrambled and boiled eggs, mini frankfurters, bread, jams, butter, cold meats, cheese, orange juice, coffee, tea. Everyday.

Room Tip: Get a hotel in the center of town and walk everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lien_snave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#253 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#234 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#299 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#237 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#309 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 83 Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Property: Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 83, 1012 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel 83 Amsterdam 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 83 Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing