We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool botel! Friendly folks, comfy bed, hello Amsterdam!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of AmicitiA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AmicitiA
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
181 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Cool botel! Friendly folks, comfy bed, hello Amsterdam!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

John was so awesome-- we got tripped up in weather issues and had to miss one night of our reservation but he switched it to the latter half of our trip, no problem. We arrived and there was a seamless check-in, and the reviews are right-- super-clean, small but fun! Only complaint was it got pretty hot at night, but you are on a boat :)

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandersmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    77
    42
    19
    10
See reviews for
11
90
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stay here 3 nights and it was great.Its very easy to find it and the staff - Roy is very kind and helpful.We came late at night and we advice him about it, he wait for us to make the check in.This is a non smoking boat, thats great.The rooms have enough space.The beds are great.Theres a closet in the room and the view of the window is beautiful.Everything is very clean, enough toilets and the breakfast is very good.If you don't eat something or you prefer something just tell him.You cant cook but you can use the microwaves during the day.Theres no wi fi but you can use his computer to go to the Internet from 11am until 10pm.After the check out he keep your luggage until 9pm.We would come back and recommend it. Its very peaceful,quiet and save.Central to! doubts fell free to ask me - dharaminderkaur@gmail.com

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudiagoncalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

We had a lovely time on Friesland. The rooms are a bit tiny but it's located so close to the city centre with a fantastic view. Breakfast was great with plenty to choose from and the owners were nice and friendly. Very hot showers, yet toilets could bea bit smelly. A bit noisy at times at night with loud neighbours walking up and down the corridors.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcfrogmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

The hostel was a converted barge, so don't expect huge rooms, they are small but perfectly formed. Decent mattresses for a hostel, good shower and very clean loos.

There was a bit of a smell from the toilets while we were there but i think that was tempoary and it seemed to be fixed on the day we left.

Breakfasts are great, the beer is fairly priced for amsterdam and the breakfast/bar area is clean and well maintained. There's a laptop with free wifi net on too, but its used a lot!

The guy who runs the place is wonderful, really nice guy, full of useful info and advice on the 'dam.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spudfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

We stayed here in October 2009 for 2 nights after finding the accommodation on Hostel Bookers. We had a great time here and actually spent time on the boat during our stay which when in Amsterdam is unusual!! Albeit in the bar :)

The boat itself is a short 10 minute walk from Central Station and is just far enough away from the busy areas that you can get a great nights sleep but close enough so you can be right in the thick of it within 5 or 10 minutes.

The rooms themselves are very small, be under no illusions, there is literally enough room for a small bunk bed, a sink, a wardrobe and 2 adults stood up. The prices however reflect the rooms size and we thought the Friesland was great value for money in a city that is not cheap to stay in at any time of year.

The boat staff served a great continental breakfast and the dining room doubled up as a bar later in the day. The bar doesn't have a bar man but an honesty system where you put money in a box to cover the drinks you take. The prices are really good as well with a beer setting you back a measly 1 euro 50!!

All in all we would definitely stay here again but if you are likely to spend most of your day in the room then there's a likelihood of cabin fever (excuse the pun!!). In Amsterdam though for a short break then it's ideal and would suggest anyone to give it a go as you are unlikely to be there most of the time.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mancopolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

Spent 2 nights at Hotel Friesland with my husband on 1st and 2nd May 2009. Bauke, the manager of the boat was really friendly and as already mentioned in previous reviews, rooms are small. Best things about the accommodation were the spacious dining area, great views of the water, the breakfast and location of the boat. Worst part of the accommodation - the smell from the toilet facilities and our room, No.9 backed onto the showers so we could always hear when the showers were in use. Would recommend taking flip flops to wear in communal showers and take a bath robe because very little space to hang your clothes in the showers. But it was novel to stay on a boat and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary-Louisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

We booked this because our trip landed us in Amsterdam just after Queen's Bday celebrations and everything else was already booked out. Luckily, the boat is actually in a pretty good location and walking distance to red light district and the canals. The boat manager was quite friendly and we enjoyed speaking to him everyday with what we had gotten up to. The breakfast was fine.

This is a boat - just keep it in mind - its a bit on the smelly side at times, and the rooms are smaller than overnight sleeper train compartments. as long as you realise this, you'll be fine.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWorldTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Vita Nova
Vita Nova
#111 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hostelboat Anna Maria II
Hostelboat Anna Maria II
#100 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
MPS Holland
MPS Holland
#51 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Passengership Avanti
Passengership Avanti
#90 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Train Lodge
#66 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hotelboat Fleur
Hotelboat Fleur
#75 of 226 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmicitiA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmicitiA

Property: AmicitiA
Address: Oosterdok, 1011 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your AmicitiA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Boat Friesland
b&b Boat Friesland Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing