We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sjiek and trendy”
Review of De Ponteneur - CLOSED

De Ponteneur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$20
Cuisines: French, American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“sjiek and trendy”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

You can see the Ponteneur every time you take a train out of Amsterdam heading North. So, a visit to the DapperMarket(!) was the perfect opportunity to pay it a visit. You hardly expect something this elegant stuck in beside the Railway tracks, but it was spacious, old world and very light. There is seating outside, with a direct view of a main road. ... so, inside, a converted school from the 29th century was our choice. The food was delicious, generous portions... you need to ask for napkins.....
Can't wait to visit there for an evening meal!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cattmacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    23
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
396 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Nice watering hole to drink coffee or beer”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The place exudes a casual, laid back ambience that makes you want to linger around. And they do seem encourage it, with the stacks of reading materials on top of tables (unfortunately most are in Dutch) and their free WiFi, whose password written prominently on a blackboard. It's high ceilings makes it feel more spacious even if you're on one of the communal table, sharing it with other guests. Service is friendly, though you might have to catch the server's attention several times as they seem to multitask and get busy.

They have several Dutch & Belgian beers on tap. Their main courses are generous with reasonable prices. However, I was disappointed by their daily special when I visited. Written in Dutch, it's translated as Eastern Marinated Chicken Fillet with greens and fries. The sidings are very good, however the chicken turned out to be some sort of chicken teriyaki with a sate dip. The taste was neither here nor there and the sauce was too overpowering. Then again, I am from Asia so I may be biased when judging this kind of dish.

Their steak is thick and juicy but doesn't have much in terms of accompaniment aside from a few homemade (I guess) potato chips. Still, the place was full and welcoming. I will definitely come back to try their other offerings and linger around with their coffee or beer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hizonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friendly, relaxed & full of character”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I really enjoyed my time at Ponteneur with my friend who has just moved in to a new flat round the corner . We sat out on the terrace and watched the world go by on a couple of the afternoons that I was in Amsterdam. I am missing it already, now I'm back in the UK. Friendly and efficient service, good food, variety of drinks on offer...What more could I possibly want?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HenryRockhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gezellig!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Super nice food (in generous portions) and super cozy environment for on-budget yet cool dinners with friends and family. I love the relaxed atmosphere, the staff is friendly and the time seems still when you are seated at one of the table. Two thumbs up!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vandisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Busy Bistro with a lively atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Great food, good service and friendly staff. Full of locals which is always a good sign. Had a delicious venison steak which was cooked beautifully rare

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Batofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Ponteneur also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing