We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Italian Food In Amsterdam”
Review of il palio

il palio
Ranked #1,107 of 3,813 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“True Italian Food In Amsterdam”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

True Italian Food In Amsterdam for a price you wont believe. Have the carbonara pasta for lunch and for i moment I thought I was in Rome. Very Friendly staff, made us feel at home, if your are near Leidenplein sure deserves a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ploferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    73
    30
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
world traveler
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Budget Best Bet on Leidseplein”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The streets surrounding the Leidse Square are filled with tourist restaurants. A great many, whether Argentine Steak Houses or Italian restaurants, have fairly similar menus, and tourist specials. Of these, most are "you get what you pay for". But, Il Palio stands alone as one where you get very tasty food and very friendly service for a bargain price. Most pizzas and pastas are 5 Euros, which includes a basket of bread with garlic butter (not with pizzas). As is the case in all the Amsterdam restaurants, don't expect complimentary tap water, unless it is accompanying a glass of wine, or a purchased beverage. But, if you factor in a beverage and a gratuity, you can still come out at 9 Euros. This makes some of the 10 Euro plates that include the beverage (which can be beer, wine, or a soft drink), bread basket, and salad a great deal, for only one more Euro. (These plates include a grilled chicken dinner with pasta, a steak plate, or a fish plate.) Of things I've had, I enjoyed their gorgonzola lasagna, their mixed stuffed pasta plate, their grilled chicken, their meat ravilio, their salmon pizza, and more. If you're in Amsterdam for only a weekend, and want to make every dinner a lifetime memory, this might not be it. But, if you want tasty food at a great price, served by friendly folks, you've found it. For tourists on a budget, or a nice restaurant meal at a fast food price, this is the best of the Leidseplein.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BARRYfromBOSTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“valu”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

i was doubtful about the quality of food in the packaged menu we ordered for just about 10-12 Euros. we had a rip off previous day. However, soup was good, pizza was good, wine was pretty decent, waiters were friendly. They goofed on my vegetarian dish in spite of my emphasis but they happily took it back. Did not like the waiters hsppily going out for a smoke and then returning to take care of customers right away. May be that is ok in Amsterdam.

Helpful?
Thank docLosAltos_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food-great value”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We didn't believe that the main courses were only 5 euros but it was true. We had spaghetti with gorgonzola and it was amazing . The beer was good value too and free wi fi what more do you need? Excellent service and atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Attmosphere and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

If you get to Amsterdam and are looking for a great value Pizzeria, I would highly recommend this little restaurant.

It was quite busy and no wonder why because it was fantastic value, food was great and service was very good as well.

We ate there twice while we stayed there.

Richard Rost
Sydney Australia

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RICHARDROST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed il palio also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to il palio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing