We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of il palio

il palio
Ranked #1,037 of 3,729 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Was undecided at first due to the 'everything 5 euros' offer (it's actually only on the pizza and pasta) but it was really good. Had pepperoni pizza and penne all arrabiatti and both were much nicer than other restaurants that charge a lot more. Service was great too.

Helpful?
Thank tuckywuckywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    71
    29
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“€5 Pizza & Pasta!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

What a find! This restaurant is in a fantastic location close to other restaurants & bars. We were welcomed by friendly staff and our waiter was so kind! He recommended starters for us and was chatty asking us where we had travelled from etc etc. We were sat on the upper section which was decorated beautifully & was cosy & romantic. We ordered Mushrooms stuffed with Gorgonzola OMG what a gorgeous dish! They gave us free bread & garlic butter to dip in the cheesy sauce mmm. Then we ordered Hawaiian Pizza & Spaghetti Carbonara for €5 each-big portions and can't actually believe the price for such tasty good quality food!! I wish I had took a photo of the food to show you! Anyway-the bill for the food & 2 bottles of Peroni was €25 which is amazing for 2 people. Will definitely visit Il Palio again when next in the Dam-and so should you!

Helpful?
Thank Gellikinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Friendly Service and Tasty Pizza at a price you can't beat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Our first meal in Amsterdam and it did not disappoint. Lovely friendly staff and tasty pizza and pasta. Little boy loved the ice cream. Amazingly clean loos which is always good sign.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DurbanGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“True Italian Food In Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

True Italian Food In Amsterdam for a price you wont believe. Have the carbonara pasta for lunch and for i moment I thought I was in Rome. Very Friendly staff, made us feel at home, if your are near Leidenplein sure deserves a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ploferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
world traveler
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Budget Best Bet on Leidseplein”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The streets surrounding the Leidse Square are filled with tourist restaurants. A great many, whether Argentine Steak Houses or Italian restaurants, have fairly similar menus, and tourist specials. Of these, most are "you get what you pay for". But, Il Palio stands alone as one where you get very tasty food and very friendly service for a bargain price. Most pizzas and pastas are 5 Euros, which includes a basket of bread with garlic butter (not with pizzas). As is the case in all the Amsterdam restaurants, don't expect complimentary tap water, unless it is accompanying a glass of wine, or a purchased beverage. But, if you factor in a beverage and a gratuity, you can still come out at 9 Euros. This makes some of the 10 Euro plates that include the beverage (which can be beer, wine, or a soft drink), bread basket, and salad a great deal, for only one more Euro. (These plates include a grilled chicken dinner with pasta, a steak plate, or a fish plate.) Of things I've had, I enjoyed their gorgonzola lasagna, their mixed stuffed pasta plate, their grilled chicken, their meat ravilio, their salmon pizza, and more. If you're in Amsterdam for only a weekend, and want to make every dinner a lifetime memory, this might not be it. But, if you want tasty food at a great price, served by friendly folks, you've found it. For tourists on a budget, or a nice restaurant meal at a fast food price, this is the best of the Leidseplein.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BARRYfromBOSTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed il palio also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to il palio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing