We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food in a quaint little restaurant”
Review of La Colina

La Colina
Ranked #2,992 of 3,814 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a quaint little restaurant”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Found La Colina down the side street whilst looking for a steak house to dine at.

We hadn't booked but that wasn't a problem, sat in the window so could watch the restaurant and the street passers-by.

The food choice was good, lots of nice steaks and grills (chicken / lamb / fish)
The service was polite and prompt, our main courses were ready and served in less than 10 minutes (we ate at about 8pm on a Saturday evening)

Everything was cooked to perfection, was very tasty and we didn't leave a scrap. Not a trace of fat in the fillet steak.

Needed to wait a while to order the bill - but not a problem really.

Would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seanclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    29
    26
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Steak great, the rest a let down.”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I had a lunchtime meal here, having walked past several times.

Nice ambience inside and the service is good, if a little too attentive as anyone who stops outside to peruse the menu is instantly jumped upon by the staff.

I had a Spicy Mexican Tomato soup for starters. Not only was in not spicy, but I doubt if it had seen a tomatoe. Very bland, not even seasoned.

For my main meal I had a trio of steak, cooked medium with a "salad" and fries. The salad consisted of a quarter of a tomatoe, a slice of cucumber and a couple of shreds of lettuce leaf. The fries were again, un seasoned and bland. However, the steaks were very good.

I doubt if I would visit again, just too much that did not hit the spot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect beef, friendly service”
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

The beef was so good that the other ingredients had hard time to stay in even. The price quality rate is excellent if you care just for the beef and good friendly service. Wine list was limited, but the recommended (and the most expensive) was really good. Apetizers did not quite match the excellent quality of the beef...

Helpful?
Thank Atrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Great steak, Mrs had salmon, said it was nice too. Walked past here dozens of times, should have gone in sooner

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andynbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant while visiting amsterdam”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We have enjoyed a romantic dinner for 2 everytime we visit Amsterdam, family run, quaint restaurant, food is beautifully cooked as of your request! Steaks are fabulous and mouth watering! Until our next visit thank guys! Xxx

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louisegough5936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Colina also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing