We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,500)
Filter reviews
5,500 results
Traveller rating
3,038
1,888
392
111
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,038
1,888
392
111
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews citizen m free movies mood lighting shower and toilet mood pad zuid station tram stop city centre rooms are small huge bed great concept frosted glass funky hotel schiphol airport number tram modern design common areas
Filter
Updating list...
3,575 - 3,580 of 5,500 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2011

A truly fantastic hotel.

Possibly the best I've ever stayed in of it's type.

It is only about 10 minutes by train from the airport - not convenenient for the city centre. Although in an up-coming are, with the WTC, RAI etc. And the tram and Metro get you easily to the centre.

The whole ambience of the place - the friendly staff, the 24 hour food/drink/internet and the super cool rooms were amazing.

I've stayed in hotels in more stunning locations, but none as good as this. 5 stars from me.

Room Tip: It's far from the centre-you get used to that.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickgg37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Staying in CitizenM is much better than ordinary hotels. You have luxury, but you will use all things available. In other hotels, you are paying for spa, swimming pool, thousands of unuseful employees, etc. Moreover, the price is very decent! I would recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evaldorossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Hip, cool, trendy, modern, clean, neat - yea, yea. But overhyped and overpriced, minimal spec'd rooms. The iCrowd may like it, but I want a room I can walk around in, that has a wastebasket, a glass to drink from, more than three hangers, a proper space to work at (bedside tables are tiny),ability to lay the luggage out and somewhere where I don't have to be lying in bed to watch TV. And if you get a room near the elevators, there seems to be a constant sound of machinery during the night - not loud but enough to notice. Free Wifi.

Room Tip: For the best room, checkin somewhere else....
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cannon_Wood_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at Citizenm Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Hi “Aeonweir”,

Apple would never design prisons, neither citizenM.

citizenM focus on essentials for mobile citizens in a short trip, I mean a personal environment to feel like our own home, contemporary with luxury Vitra furniture, 24/7 food & beverage outlet, a functional room, which includes also a 2 plastic glasses and wastebasket (under the sink, for glassware just ask downstairs), a large drawer under the bed fits a large samsonite suitcase, open, while hangers can be used for a jacket and jeans. There are no outdated huge rooms with expensive slow internet, movies and high phone prices – at citizenM wifi and movies are free, phone calls cost the same as Skype.

It is affordable luxury at an affordable rate, works just like a budget airline. A clear rate structure with no hidden costs, first rooms sold at the lowest 69 EUR going up with occupancy, up to 159 EUR. Booking in advance guarantee the lowest rate.

All the best,
citizenDiego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

It did just as it said on the tin, but better.. From the very attentive staff, to the buzz of the lobby and cafe/bar..the rooms were exceptionally clean, funky and with a huge bed... plenty of room for 4!
Only 20 minutes from the centre of Amsterdam, which was no problem at all.. the tram service was fantastic... Before you go go on line and get the Iamsterdam card... which is very good value for money... travel, enterence into museums, boat trips all included, so if your on a budget I would seriously recommend it...
I will be back to Citizen M... and would recommed others give it a try, hopefully like me you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blucube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Great little hotel...like an Apple iHotel would be. Brilliant for conferences at the nearby RAI, less than 6 mins from Schipol by train, 20mins from central Amsterdam bars, museums, brown cafes etc. 24/7 bar with food in the lobby, not sure about the sushi and noodles, but sandwiches and croissants fine but has a couple of good eateries within 20 minutes walk or in town by tram. Helpful staff, clean, warm. Only suggestions is that the room could do with some natural light - notice they are opening hotels at Schipol and at Glasgow (?) - they all look the same so maybe they should think about the light issue. Would give me a headache here if I had to hang around for any length of time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SinkingSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews