We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,453)
Filter reviews
5,453 results
Traveller rating
3,015
1,871
387
110
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,015
1,871
387
110
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscitizen mfree moviesmood lightingshower and toiletmood padzuid stationtram stopcity centrerooms are smallhuge bedgreat conceptfrosted glassfunky hotelschiphol airportnumber trammodern designcommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
3,535 - 3,540 of 5,453 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This is a quirky hotel, unlike any other you'll stay in - so make sure you research it before booking. If you're not phased by minimilst bedrooms, and not phased by the shower / toilet / sink being IN the bedroom, and if you enjoy rooms that are exceptionally designed for your comfort, then this is it.
We loved the huge bed, comfy pillows and duvet. Loved the rain shower and mood pad. Choice of in-room entertainment is simply great.
A nice touch was that all calls are through SKYPE, and so although we called Australia, there was no charge.
Would we stay again...? YES

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChocksSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

A truly fantastic hotel.

Possibly the best I've ever stayed in of it's type.

It is only about 10 minutes by train from the airport - not convenenient for the city centre. Although in an up-coming are, with the WTC, RAI etc. And the tram and Metro get you easily to the centre.

The whole ambience of the place - the friendly staff, the 24 hour food/drink/internet and the super cool rooms were amazing.

I've stayed in hotels in more stunning locations, but none as good as this. 5 stars from me.

Room Tip: It's far from the centre-you get used to that.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickgg37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Staying in CitizenM is much better than ordinary hotels. You have luxury, but you will use all things available. In other hotels, you are paying for spa, swimming pool, thousands of unuseful employees, etc. Moreover, the price is very decent! I would recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evaldorossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Hip, cool, trendy, modern, clean, neat - yea, yea. But overhyped and overpriced, minimal spec'd rooms. The iCrowd may like it, but I want a room I can walk around in, that has a wastebasket, a glass to drink from, more than three hangers, a proper space to work at (bedside tables are tiny),ability to lay the luggage out and somewhere where I don't have to be lying in bed to watch TV. And if you get a room near the elevators, there seems to be a constant sound of machinery during the night - not loud but enough to notice. Free Wifi.

Room Tip: For the best room, checkin somewhere else....
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cannon_Wood_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Hi “Aeonweir”,

Apple would never design prisons, neither citizenM.

citizenM focus on essentials for mobile citizens in a short trip, I mean a personal environment to feel like our own home, contemporary with luxury Vitra furniture, 24/7 food & beverage outlet, a functional room, which includes also a 2 plastic glasses and wastebasket (under the sink, for glassware just ask downstairs), a large drawer under the bed fits a large samsonite suitcase, open, while hangers can be used for a jacket and jeans. There are no outdated huge rooms with expensive slow internet, movies and high phone prices – at citizenM wifi and movies are free, phone calls cost the same as Skype.

It is affordable luxury at an affordable rate, works just like a budget airline. A clear rate structure with no hidden costs, first rooms sold at the lowest 69 EUR going up with occupancy, up to 159 EUR. Booking in advance guarantee the lowest rate.

All the best,
citizenDiego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

It did just as it said on the tin, but better.. From the very attentive staff, to the buzz of the lobby and cafe/bar..the rooms were exceptionally clean, funky and with a huge bed... plenty of room for 4!
Only 20 minutes from the centre of Amsterdam, which was no problem at all.. the tram service was fantastic... Before you go go on line and get the Iamsterdam card... which is very good value for money... travel, enterence into museums, boat trips all included, so if your on a budget I would seriously recommend it...
I will be back to Citizen M... and would recommed others give it a try, hopefully like me you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blucube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews