We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another vote for CitizenM”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #39 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another vote for CitizenM”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

There are a lot of positive reviews for this hotel, and those reviews are well deserved. Like the MotelOne chain in Germany, CitizenM does the basics well - huge comfortable bed, good location, internet - but with a twist - love the moodpad! I wouldn't necessarily pay extra for the trendy stuff, but at this price, it's a bit of fun to tell your friends about when you get home!

Amsterdam is a compact, walkable city. We bought a 10 ride ticket from the central station on arrival, and then used the tram outside the front door to get into the city centre. I recommend a leisurely stroll through the Jordaan district - this is a picturesque residential neighbourhood with a great atmosphere, and less touristy than the centre of town.

PS - when we stayed in October 2010, in front of the lifts on the ground floor, there was a very, ahem, interesting photomontage showing the side view of a series of hotel rooms - check it out (not for the faint hearted, lol!) Love this city!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edamrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,586
    1,604
    320
    90
    58
See reviews for
244
2,359
371
993
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We spent 2 nights in this hotel, but I would not recommend it for several reasons: 1. The ambassadors at the reception were smiling and friendly, indeed, but they were not listening properly, meaning that they were trying to solve/answer any type of demand/question very fast without paying attention to the guest needs. At check-in/check-out they were clicking soo fast on the computer, that we barely had time to read the instruction/information on the screen (the system of registering and finding your reservation is super efficient, but the personnel who was using it had a lack of proper customer orientation). 2. The room was as described, in terms of size, amenities etc....but, if you are allergic to dust, you'd better avoid this hotel. After unpacking and not more than an hour spent in the room everything was covered with dust and combined with the dry atmosphere from the air-system you can imagine how "nice" we felt. 3. The internet corner looked interesting with several mac desktops, but no proper connectivity and 2 out of 5 keyboards were not working. A nice ambassador came saying that he had no clue why those keyboards were out of order and there might be somebody downloading heavily regarding the connectivity (no follow up, we were left there with no solution)...the rest was ok...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famC60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed in citizenM with my husband on our way to Aruba. We wanted to have a good rest before a long flight., but got much more than just that!)) we absolutely loved this place, with all that small details! The place where technologies meet quality and very personal service. Definately will stay here next time!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sub_Marina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I have been here twice already, and I truly recommend this hotel for both business and holidays purposes. The hotel lounge is truly spectacular and bartenders Katerina, with her finest cocktails, Angela, with her finest ways, and Gregory, with his finest talks, are as astonishing as the whole surroundings of rich design set and best-in-class furniture around. You really need to stay here a couple of nights at the least and enjoy the cozier and most familiar yet professional atmosphere you can breathe in northern Europe. A Must Have Seen place for anybody.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galapperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I really liked this hotel. Not just it's room, the large bed and all the things that you can easily see at first sight. It' s also all the little small details that you will surprisingly find just about everywhere. From the lift, to the bathroom bottles.
It's very cool, I would dare to say it's a piece of art.
I will not come in to any detail, because that would be similar to spoilers for a movie. It's amazing to let your self discover the mobile citizen you hide inside you!
Hope to see more citizen ms around the world.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexInside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days in June 2011. We where told on the phone before we arrived that we could park our car outside the hotel. That was true, but they didnt tell us that it would cost us 3 Euros per hour. We where however able to park in a different location, so where given a map of how to get there. That would then cost us 6 Euros a day. The only problem was that we then had to get there using the map, which was very confusing, and quite far away. When we did find it, it turned out that it was not 6 Euros a day, but 8 Euros. At that time we where very tired, as we had driven all the way from Denmark. The last thing we wanted to do was walking around Amsterdam using a map getting back to the hotel. The hotel room was clean and bright, but that where it stops. No space anywhere to hang your clothes, a tiny shelf for toilettries, the smallest bin ive ever seen, and the bed was very hard and uncomfortable. And to get into bed, one person had to climb over the other( not easy at night if you had a drink) Ive been with my husband for a long time, but we both still prefer to go to the toilet in privat, and thats not possible in the room.
We tried the food a few times, but there was a poor selection, and the bread rolls and sandwiches was dry. Simply not worth eating. And to top it all, we had our car scratched when parked outside the hotel the last evening. We will however say, that the staff where very helpful, but we will never stay here again. Its not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toby40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Hi “toby40”,

I apologize for the experience you had with us at citizenM and for the miscommunication about the parking. Amsterdam is not a car-friendly city and street parking can indeed be expensive, note that all information about parking and options can be found on our website. The affordable alternative given by an Ambassador was the P+R at the Olympic Stadium, which is 2Km from the hotel. Price has changed from 6EUR to 8EUR and I apologize again that we gave you the outdated information.

I understand your observations about the room and I feel disappointed that you didn’t find the bed comfortable. Different citizens have different preferences however we focused on the most luxurious bed in comfort & size (2x2m), which is reflected on other reviews here on Trip Advisor. A great shower, free wi-fi, free movies on demand, best quality materials and a functional space are also essential for us. A large suitcase can be stored, open, in the drawer under the bed while there are hangers for a jacket, jeans and t-shirt, what makes sense for a short stay.

The canteenM is our 24/7 food & beverage outlet, where you can have drinks out of the fridge, or signature cocktails prepared by our Ambassadors, and grab from croissants, sandwiches to sushi and snacks. All products have to be fresh at all times and quality checks are made to ensure that – it is a very sensitive issue for us, and you can always approach an Ambassador so that we can deal with the situation straight away. In any case, we are putting extra attention preventing from happening again.

We regret we were no able to provide you a satisfactory experience, your review is already being shared with the team so that we can improve our services and communication. If there is anything else you would like to share, please, feel free emailing me directly via citizenDiego@citizenM.com

All the best,
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaford, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My stay at Citizen M was great. Loved the “Funky” décor, common spaces and modular room. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful. They were very welcoming. The food was fresh with good variety. I would recommend a stay. Be aware that the rooms are open concept.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCAT00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#41 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing