We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfy and functional”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #38 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We have spent three nights on this hotel and we are very pleased. Good value for money, very functional, no waste of space, perfect for technology lovers, very comfy and big bed and the staff is very helpful. I personally liked the power-rain shower and the lightning of the room. Also the movies on demand and free WiFi is always a plus.

If you are a hotel traditional sort of people and not open to new experiences please stay away of this hotel. For those who love new experiences and ways to do tourism this is your place.

Although there are some downfalls i.e. the canteen was too expensive vs. what is offering. The temperature of the room couldn't be warmer than 23ºc meaning that if it is cold for you there is no other option, not even been able to switch it off! There a light streaming of air coming from the window which is quite unpleasant.

But overall I have to say this is a great hotel, modern, cool, functional and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aadjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,812)
There are newer reviews for citizenM Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,935 - 2,941 of 4,812 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

The hotel is in a walking distance from the museum quarter. And there is a tram (#5) just outside the hotel which can take you to museum quarter and the city center. The tram is very frequent and runs until midnight.

The rooms are superb!! The bed!! Oww the bed!!! It is huge and super comfortable. The lights etc. is super super cute! There is a nice TV and a lot of free movie options (if you ever need).

The reception of the hotel is super chic! And the staff is very very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlereya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I spent the weekend with 10 girls at Citizen M and we loved the hotel!

First of all the location may seem a bit random but it's within easy reach of the centre (10 mins on the tram which is round the corner from the hotel) and 5 mins from the train station (World Trade Centre) which takes you to the airport for EUR 3 in 10 minutes! You might want to take a taxi to get to the airport though if you don't want to go around trying to find the hotel from the train station (although it's not hard).

The first impression is really good, you come in and use the machines to check in, someone will help you with that. The ground floor area has lots of seating and modern facilities. The canteen is open 24 hours and sells snacks more than actual meals. It's a bit pricey but if you want something it's there. They also do cocktails at the bar which is a plus! I bought breakfast from a supermarket we found in town but it's not that pricey to get something small in the morning. I wouldn't recommend paying EUR 10 for their breakfast special though as it's only juice, a croissant and yoghurt.

The hotel room is the fun part, it's got a remote control that controls the whole room. You can change the temperature, the colour of the lighting to suit your mood, control the blinds... there's playlists on the TV for when you're getting ready to go out, loads of movies to choose from and normal tv.

The shower and toilet are two separate pods, the toilet having frosted windows. The showers are completely transparent so you might feel a bit awkward taking a shower stark naked in front of your roommate (if they're not your partner!) but don't worry there's a white mesh curtain you can draw which although you can still see the outline, makes you not so exposed and it's not too bad really! The room is small though and can be difficult to manoeuvre, it's best for hand luggage sized suitcases and you'll need to be tidy otherwise you'll trip over your stuff! The bed is really comfortable and the tv is on the wall so you can watch tv and fall asleep.

Overall it's a really good hotel, and really cheap so it's worth staying there and taking the tram into the centre since hotels there are more expensive and a lot older!

Room Tip: The food is expensive so go to a supermarket nearby and pick up breakfast.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimmok88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This is a very unique concept hotel. Focus on modern, to-the-point, tech-savvy, utilitarian and low cost. Rooms are like containers, almost pre-fabricated but to fairly good standard. Some where in between a super luxury dorm room to an artist's loft house! Seeing is believing. Service was very friendly, location was perfect to the Amsterdam World Trade Center and Amsterdam Zuid Station (15 mins to Schipol airport). Loved all the signs which kind of go as "Citizen M says.....". Drawback: Tight on space (30 sqm); no storage area in room. Positives: XL size king bed, funky (good) bathroom; electronic controls for blinds, temp, lights, alarm and TV. Enjoyed it more on day 2 and 3 versus day 1.

Better if visiting single or as a couple - not for visits with kids!! Too tight! Ideal for business travelers.

Room Tip: all rooms are identical internally.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venkat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Ok where do I start, Myself,My partner & another couple stayed at the Citizen M Amsterdam, From the moment we walked in we where like 'WOW', Such a trendy/Cool hotel, On arrival you check yourself in on there little high tech computers, there is a staff member there to help you if you get stuck. Once we got checked in we went to room 330 which was a garden view :) the rooms our cool & funky, the shower is great & you can set the mood off the room with the funky colour lighting :) Hotel staff where lovely if you need extra towel etc they where with you stright away :)

Only downfall I didnt like was when the housekeepers needed into the room & you had on DO NOT DISTRUB sign on the door (because someone kept taking ours off the door) the housekeepers would off tried entering with there little cards the lights in the room would come on :( Which was a pain when you are in a nice sleep!! Also the Breakfast bag which was 9.95 is not worth it as you only get a yoghurt,Coisant,tea,orange juice & an apple, We were told we could get a hot breakfast at any time & when I went to get a hot breakfast I was told it was unavailable so I had to then get a breakfast bag which was a total rip off!!!

Other than that I would defo recommend this hotel & I will be back next year only for longer :D Hotel is in a great location also :)

Thank you Citizen M for such a plesant stay :D

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emzBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This is a hotel for tech freaks like me. Everything is trendy, cool, interactive and fast. This is no place for old people who likes afternoon tea with biscuits as the most excitment that they get in a day... this is for people who lives fast! Great place, great people and great overall experience!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejoenlondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I have stayed in this hotel once on business and once for a cheap weekend. The latter was far more suited to the rooms here but I had a nice stay both times. A big suitcase will take up the entire floor and if you want an iron or anything printed it might be a mission. There are some great common areas, awesome art and the staff are all upbeat, efficient and friendly. Good tram connection to the city and airport line close by. Nice "help yourself" food and drink (not great value but good selection), free hardcore porn on at all times (to help you reinforce your dutch stereotypes), and a very well considered layout, decor and finishing details that make this the best hotel I have every stayed in for the money. The Glasgow one is good as well and the rooms are slightly bigger...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wongmseiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 371 in Amsterdam
868 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#37 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#32 of 371 in Amsterdam
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £97 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing