We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Japanese capsule style hotel with much bigger rooms”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #38 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Citizen M! I think the brand just remains in your mind months after checking out. Whether its the electronic check in desks or the informative healthy complimentary juice boxes or the uber cool modern interiors this hotel is just a fun experience. Located in a quiet suburb of Amsterdam, although well connected by public transport by metro or tram getting back from the main city post midnight may be slightly expensive as public transport shuts early.

Every part of the hotel is covered in little Citizen M reminders which add a fun element to your stay. The rooms are extremely compact with a huge bed and capsule shaped enclosures for your power shower and WC, ideal for single people or a couple. The room has no cupboard but a huge flat screen TV with free movies and a Philips mood remote controller which provides enough entertainment and color to the room.

The reception opens up to a lounge and bar open 24 hours where food can be bought supermarket style and enjoyed in the many areas of the lounge. The lounge resembles a living room and is extremely cosy.

Overall a very enjoyable stay with great staff except the distance from main amsterdam city.

Room Tip: All rooms are standard size you should get a room on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Biren27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,808)
There are newer reviews for citizenM Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,915 - 2,921 of 4,808 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

Having always previously elected to stay in central Amsterdam I was a little apprehensive about staying some distance out of town, I need not have been. What citizenM misses out on with regard to a central location centre it more than compensates with every other aspect of its slick and stylish operation.

No real need for me to go into detail about check-in, rooms, eating, where to catch the tram, etc, etc as these aspects are fully covered in all of the other positive Tripadvisor reviews. All I can say is that the rooms are indeed fantastic (what a marvellous bed!!), the tram into the city centre is no barrier to making it to the centre although the last tram back is perhaps a little early for some. I must mention the staff, all of whom were discreet but always there when required with great advice and above all fantastic professional service.

I am converted, as great as the city centre hotels are (although now somewhat overpriced to a poor Brit!) my first choice for my next visit to Dam will be as a 'citizen', what a great concept. Thanks very much to all at citizenM for a quality stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank System38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This is definitely very interesting hotel that you should visit at least once. I will not describe it since you have many descriptions of other guests. Just a few remarks from my (business) prospective: if you should stay more then one or two nights pick something else. Don't expect any amenities or services. It's totally do it yourself. Public transport is not close. There is almost nothing near by. Taxi to the city center is cca 15 EUR.
Good things - fast and automatic check in. Comfortable bed. Room is like a gadget to play with. Very good price for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EstebanBelgrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

What a great hotel. I chose this hotel as I was in the city for a concert at the Amsterdam ArenA. A great location both for the airport, ArenA and getting into the city (number 5 tram into the city from next to the hotel). The hotel is modern and unique with great facilities (free wi-fi & movies). You definitely have to be comfortable with whoever you're staying with as the toilet and shower don't afford much privacy but the rainfall shower is amazing! Huge comfortable bed as well and the 24hr cafe has a good selection of food and drinks.

I will definitely be back and would recommend to anyone. It might be out of the city but it only takes 15 mins on the tram.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paddi110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights when visiting Amsterdam for Take That / RW concert. Good access to train from Schipol, Metro and the Tram line (No 5)

Hotel was cool, rooms and the common areas. Having kitchen in the centre does as they say make the common areas feel a bit like a big living room.

Staff were helpful, breakfast was ok, though fruit went quickly on 2 mornings.

Great that WiFi is free every where, and a plus for the Macs instead of PCs

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0ll0x2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Ultra modern and amazing. The best hotel i've ever stayed in. They provide everything you need. The rooms are small however they are cleverly desgined so you have enough room.
The staff are very helpful and friendly, they can't do enough for you.
Drinks and food not cheap however this was all over amsterdam not just in the hotel.
Would 100% recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traceymozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a weekend break and were not disappointed with any detail of the hotel. Firstly its location is very easy to get to with the Amsterdam South train station a few minutes walk away and then the tram (no.5) right outside the hotel to take you into the city centre (48 hours travel ticket on any public transport only 11 euros.) I've visited Amsterdam several times before and have always stayed in the centre but never again! We discovered a whole other city staying further south! It was quiet but only ten minutes away from any part of the city you want to visit - AND AWAY FROM TRACKSUIT WEARING, FOUL MOUTHED BRITS!
The reception area and several lounges are very relaxing and the 24 hour food, drink and reception staff available is a very welcome novelty in a hotel. It also has to be said that the reception staff were very helpful indeed, especially Deara. I travel quite a bit and cannot remember someone being as pleasant and genuinely helpful as she was and is a real credit to the hotel.
The rooms are very original and have an oriental style to them (the ethos of the whole hotel in fact) and the toilet and shower with their multicoloured lighting was an interesting touch. Also if you can, get a room on the higher levels with a city view of the World Trade Center, which looks fantastic at night. The bed is another talking point and would probably sleep four people if you were that way inclined; very comfortable and right next to the window which gave it an authentic big city feel when you looked out at night.
To sum up - brilliant hotel in a perfect location with some of the friendliest staff I've encountered. Would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be looking into others in the chain in other cities as a result of our stay.

Room Tip: Don't do the early check-in for 20 euros, leave the bags for free in the hotel and go explore fo...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashers1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 371 in Amsterdam
868 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#37 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#32 of 371 in Amsterdam
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £98 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing