We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic beds, cool design”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #48 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2011

When my husband and I travel we tend to go for boutique hotels or B&Bs. The most important aspects for us are a comfortable bed, good shower, great location and general ambience. This hotel ticked all the boxes. They scrimp on some things (no tea/coffee in bedrooms, limited hanging space for clothes, no bath) but in exchange you get a massive, super comfortable bed, films on demand, mood lighting, floor to ceiling windows and a fantastic rain shower.

It's really well-located, the tram stops right outside and will take you into the city centre, and it's a short walk from Zuid which is about 8 mins from the airport. In other words a perfect location. The food is available all night for when you get the inevitable muchies, and the communal areas are clean, slightly quirky, and really comfortable and light.

The staff were helpful without being intrusive - i.e. only there when you needed them, and other guests were friendly enough.

One thing I'd suggest though is if you're a girl, take a decent hair dryer (the ones they provide are the rubbish travel ones) and take an additional adaptor plug (they only provide one). I'd also suggest limiting your clothing to stuff you can fold and put away in the underbed storage (you get about 3 coat hangers).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,936 - 2,942 of 4,972 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

The Citizen M fills a niche well. It caters to tech savvy short term guests with mid-level budgets

The core concept is to use technology to cut personnel costs to the rock bottom without unduly compromising service, to use architectural and interior design to cut room size to the bare minimum without unduly compromising comfort, to locate the properties near transport hubs in outlying areas to cut costs without unduly compromising convenience, and to wrap this all in a sleek stylishly designed package with free internet.

Technology/personnel costs: Self-checkin and checkout at touchscreens in the lobby eliminatedall but one front desk person; fully automated room controls covering temperature, shades, television and wakeup calls reduced the need for front desk and floor staff.
Comment: This worked well. The staff member on duty in the lobby could explain things to the non tech saavy guests. Most guests did not require assistance.

Architecture and interior design: The rooms were a bit smaller than the European norm, but far larger than the Japanese norm. A huge bed filled one end of the room, wall to wall with storage bins underneath. There was no sofa/divan, no bureau for clothing. The shower and the toilet stood in the middle of the room, with movable plastic enclosures, with a sink and rotating mirror. There was no conventional bathroom. The windows were wall to wall with very effective blinds encased by interior and exterior glass. There were no conventional curtains. There was a small desk and hard chair, not quite large enough for work.
Comment: A colleague noted that the design limited privacy for toilet and shower, and might be an issue for some couples.

Location: the hotel was adjacent to the Amsterdam Zuid station with great access to Schiphol and on the number 5 tram line eight minutes from the Museum area and fifteen minutes from old parts of Amsterdam. The hotel distributes a very clear map with tram routings to help guests find their way around.
Comment: This works – just get a day card for transit and enjoy. The rates at the hotel were far lower than at properties located in the museum area and old parts of Amsterdam.

Bottom Line: As the many favorable reviews here suggest, the concept works well and is likely to spread to San Francisco, Boston, Stockholm, Copenhagen and other fairly high cost destinations that appeal to younger travelers with some money. Of course, the tech saavy who are most likely to post on-line reviews are also the most likely to like the Citizen M concept.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aversetospam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Very unusual but superbly equipped and incredibly friendly hotel.
Although tired from travelling I had a smile on my face from the moment I arrived. The staff are smiling all the time as though they are waiting for you to notice how brilliant their hotel is. Bed was the most confortable I have ever slept in. Small things like free wi-fi and movies are very welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon2036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Hotel was great. We arrived via tram #5 from Centraal station. While the hotel is slightly on the edge of the main part of Amsterdam, the tram service directly outside (Prinses Irenestrat) and the daily rate make this hotel phenomenal. The lobby concessions were perfect for our needs, with friendly staff. The room was very kitschy, which we liked. Big, comfortable bed, plenty of TV and (free) movie options, shower and toilet. Not too much room, but we were exploring Amsterdam while we were traveling. All in all, we loved this hotel and recommend it highly. It could be awkward if you aren't staying with a romantic partner as the toilet and shower are open.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corndog09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The hotel is fabulous-well designed, good location, very friendly members of team, room was very tidy, with mood pad -remote. The great hotel for the good value, wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: You can choose your favourite temperature in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parczyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Rooms, hotel as others haved described. Tram 5 close for easy travel within city. But also close (4 blocks?) was the metro, bus stop and local train to airport. Walked to train station, and for three euros got to airport with no stops. Would stay again.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank coyotedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

CitizenM is more than a hotel. It is an experience by its own.
You will find yourself telling about it as if it was one of the tour sites in Amsterdam.
Every inch of this hotel is decorated and branded in some way. As if nothing was put in place without a thought.
Yes the rooms are small. But if you ordered a room here you probably knew that. On the other hand this what makes this hotel so unique. How they managed to squeeze everything into it and still give you enough space and a unique feeling that you have exactly what you need.
The bed is huge and most comfortable, so don't be worried about your night sleep.
The room is clean, and obviously the most interesting things are the shower and toilets. You will either love it or hate it but will not be indifferent. We liked the concept. I can understand why someone can feel uncomfortable having the shower fully transparent. Anyway it was very comfortable with full control of water temperature and great water pressure.

The lobby and public area of the hotel are beutifully decorated. There is an area with Macs and printers where you can conenct to your email or surf and print whatever you need without the need to ask the staff to do it for you (very handful when you need to print your borading pass/ car rental confirmation/ a map to the restaurant).
You do not even need the receptionist in order to check-in or out. You are doing it online using a special workstations located at the entrance of the hotel. (Of course, the staff will help you if you are technologically challened).

The cafeteria is very convenient. They serve good cofee, good fresh pastries and generally a good selection of packed salads and light meals that you can get at any hour.

The staff is generally young and helpful. I must say that I tried several times to get their help in getting a recommendation for a restaurant or some information regarding the transportation and got inaccurate information.

The hotel is located near the "south" train station of Amsterdam, what makes it very close to the airport by train (6-10 minutes) , but quite far from the city center (20 minutes by tram). But the tram stop (number 5) is just on the opposing side of the street what makes it very convenient.

To summarize, if you are planning to spend most of your days touring the city, then it is a perfect place to start and end your days in Amsterdam, giving great value for money, while adding something more to your city experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCocoNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#31 of 373 in Amsterdam
908 reviews
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#34 of 373 in Amsterdam
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
1.6 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £81 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing