We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute of it!”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #38 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved every minute of it!”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

What a fun, energetic hotel. We loved the usable lobby spaces, free use of the computers and the 24-hour canteen. The bed was SO comfortable and of course, the mood pad was fun to play with. As someone else stated, the staff really helped make the experience fantastic. Gregg was a very attentive ambassador who really took care of our needs. Another ambassador recommended a really great Indonesian restaurant where we could get the whole rice table experience.

We would love to revisit Amsterdam since we were only there for 2 nights. When we do, we will definitely stay at citizenM. Sure it wasn't right in the heart of the city, but I don't know that I'd want to stay there. The tram stop was so close it really didn't matter.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,610
    1,621
    324
    90
    58
See reviews for
251
2,372
374
1,007
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Very cool and quirky design, well thought out, space-efficient fascinating little rooms with big comfy beds, very well maintained and didn't seem at all cramped. Great coffee (everywhere in Amsterdam), staff enthusiastic and helpful. Wonderful transit system, easy to get anywhere you want in Amsterdam in little time. A unique restaurant within 5 minutes walk (organic, based on Dutch historical cooking traditions but innovative). Would definitely stay at CitizenM again - my kids would get a kick out of the rooms. Would love to eat at that restaurant again - wish I could remember the name, but they can tell you about it at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jia-daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This hotel is simply amazing and the staff are great! I stayed for 3nights with my boyfriend and we loved it so much. About a 15/20 tram journey into the central station of Amsterdam. But tram 5 and bus stops literally outside the hotel door.

The rooms are small(ish) but they are full of brilliant gadgets and fun quirky suprises.The bed is SO BIG and really comfy. The shower dome is transparent and the toilet cubicle is frosted, but there is also a curtain seperating the bed from the rest of the room. Both shower & toilet have cool changing mood lighting inside which you can control from your "MOOD PAD" which is a remote which controls pretty much everything inside your room. There is a safe in the room. A small hanging space for clothes but a huge draw under the bed. Bin, Sink, Mirror, UK Plug sockets, bedside tables, chair and a cuddly toy also included.

Massive lobby with mac laptops, printers, free Internet. 24/7 Bar and Food counter which stocks so much and is pretty cheap.You can also order food & drinks to your room. Hotel is non smoking.

Seriously, the best hotel in Amsterdam. So cheap considering how awesome the hotel is. We've already booked to go again we loved it that much.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisi_rosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

My wife and I have stayed here a few times and love the place. Yes, the rooms are small but they're fun as hell. The bed is an XL king size, free movies, cool shower and design of the room. Downstairs is a nice place to relax and the coffee and snacks are really nice. On top of all this Citizen can be quite cheap compared to the rest of the hotels in Amsterdam. Granted, the hotel is not in the heart of the city but with a bike or a tram getting into town is a breeze. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piddyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Ok the rooms were small, but how much time do you spend in your room when you are in such a beautiful country for only a few days? Even so, they were great, the mood pad was so much fun, having a shower was interesting and they had complimentary movies!. Their lobby was so relaxing, very big, books everywhere and the furniture was amazing. There is a tram stop right outside that takes you right into the city. Very convenient and cheap. Would definately stay again! Miss that king size bed so so much!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaza87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Tx
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

As soon as we arrived the great staff made us feel welcomed.The hotel does not have a regular restaurant, mostly snacks, drinks, and light self serve meals.The hotel is about 100 yards from the #5 tram stop and a number of restaurants are two stops away.First, the room is somewhat small, but well laid out. It has mood lighting and music. The circular shower was great and the bed was comfortable. The great part of of our stay was the staff, friendly helpfull and fun. They are generally younger, but with good knowledge of how to make you feel special. To name a few special one's: Jess from Jamaica, Gregory from Poland, Marcos from Portugal, and Amy from Norway. They work all areas of the front, help with check-in, as bartenders (Jess mixes a mean Cucumber Martini), and cashiers. Multi-talented. Since we were traveling by train the #5 tram goes directly to the Centrale Station.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC72Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utrecht
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I come from Holland, so always very critical about the Dutch Hotels/Restaurants:-))
This one is just a very chill, nice, clean, designed, great ambassadors, good food, place-to-B!
The room; WOW factor! You just need to experience it! It made me smile:-D
Also real ok to be there by yourself, friends or as a couple. Everyone is so welcome. The bed is very comfi, the room is amazingly designed, very practical and nice. The room views are not great but the area is a real good one, easy to walk or go by tram to the city center. great shopping area also...The only thing they need to think about; where can I hang my clothes? But thats a not-that-important-thingy:-)
Also good to have a private or business date/appointment in the lounge. Or just to be by yourself to read a book:-) Many different choices to sit or hang around, quiet or in a crowd. Ok nice food you need to get yourself, also very relax, not a restaurant to sit on tables. A bar where people are very willing to help and serve. The prices are also very ok.
For sure I'll come around again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MmeJeannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing