We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The future!”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #39 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The future!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

It's the kind of room you would expect to find on a spaceship cruise liner. Using the remote from the huge bed you can adjust the lighting colour of the room, the blinds and shutters, the music (urban block, lounge, pop cafe etc), the temperature, and choose what TV show or film (about 40 movies on demand) you want to watch. It really is the perfect room to spend some quality time, the bed was extremely comfy, the waterfall shower was fantastic, and the toilet was quirky.

The reception/lounge/diner/internet cafe was really relaxed and had a great atmosphere, and the staff were extremely polite and helpful. I wish we stayed for more then one night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jord_kemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,586
    1,604
    320
    90
    58
See reviews for
244
2,359
371
993
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Termoli, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Excellent full four star accomodation in a business district in south amsterdam.
Location. Hotel is located 2 minutes walk from Amsterdam zuid train station, where there are direct train connections with Schipol and Eindhoven train station. (Ryanair airport) Tram 5 which connects museumPlein and city center is just 50 metres from hotel lobby. Lobby is completely Vitra designed with amazing furniture and several different design area where to rest, eat and relax. Check in is fully automatized via computer, with assistant providing help if needed, and it is... Room. Never ever had been in such a kind of room. No toilet room. Literaly. There is a slightly opaque cylinder glass that shields the toilet from the rest. Another similar cylinder surrounds shower. Washbasin is in the room beside the bed. Bed is gigantic. It occupies all room width and it is amazingly confortable, after you have chosen how to lie over it... Remote controller for curtain, Led colour-changing lights, Tv and temperature. Great benefit is a good choice of on-demand complimentary movies in different languages. Excellent sound insulation, medium light insulation: lots of light filters from borders of curtains, but in lobby there is eye-mask for sale, so problem may be promtly solved. No wardrobe, just three coat hangers. Very good price for Easter period. 130 euro per night per room is a bargain in Amsterdam for the accomodation quality provided. Breakfast was not included in the tariff, so you can purchase single items, or have a full buffet for about nine euros, but quality is not that excellent. Recommended, but only if privacy between guests is not an issue, otherwise avoid.

Room Tip: Choose city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domenico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My boyfriend and myself decided to spend Easter holidays in Amsterdam and choosing CitizenM accomodation was definitely worth it! We loved it all the way through and would definitely recommend it ti our friends and all others! The design is so cool and it gives an impression of entering a lovely space ship and entering a new time dimension. It was an excellent experience and would like to come back one day.

Room Tip: No matter which room you choose, they are all the same. You can decide at the hotel while registerin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

How close are you? Do you not mind pooping in front of your partner or friend? These are issues to consider when booking a room. As the bathroom and shower are within the room, the bathroom is created by closing a lightly frosted glass tube around you and the shower is created by a clear glass tube sliding around you in a very space age...Jetsonish way. Your partner and in my case, friend, watched me pee and shower but I did go downstairs when I needed to poop. I was fine but my friend was a bit uncomfortable.
I loved the hotel and would stay again provided I was alone or with the right person. I was told an older father/daughter decided not to stay in the hotel when they realized the privacy issue and there was no other available room.
Though, I focused on the shower/bathroom situation I completely enjoyed the international staff and experience. Fun and different and cheaper! Not for the conventional.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same though you have a choice between garden and city view. Neither are super or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustMeKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We loved returning to our room at the end of a long day exploring the city, the bed was perfect and one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on! The room has a great lighting system and the shower is very good too with a nice duo of shower gels/shampoo.
It has a great friendly atmosphere and the staff make you feel very welcome and at home.
Some previous reviewers have criticized how coming back to the hotel after midnight is difficult or expensive....there are frequent night buses which are included if you GVB travel card!
The only thing to improve on the room would be perhaps to have a mini fridge as we liked to buy local food. Also an in room tea/coffee making facility, as there was often a queue in the cafe for their coffee in the morning!

Overall though we loved our stay and we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeilaJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

stayed in amsterdam 1 night on business - could not believe the low price.
it is extremely good vaule for money
the building is hmm unapealling but once inside you feel that you entered a very trendy hotel with a vibrant feel about it. there is a mix of young touristsand business people.
the rooms are tiny (about 2 * 8 mtr) and too small for two persons unless you are very much nilove.... Interiors very modern, bed excellent, gadgets fun (everything int he room is adjustable with one remote even the color scheme).
showers and amenities work well, all TV, movies, Wifi is free and for 9.95 you even get a decent (if simple) breakfast. I will certainly try them out in london when they open.
at 87 euro?? great value
Location of the hotel is out of the towncentre - app 10min by tram i would guess.

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same -
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUMMIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#41 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing