We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
citizenM Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$398
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$461
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$333
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel De Hallen(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,194)
Filter reviews
5,194 results
Traveller rating
2,869
1,785
369
104
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,869
1,785
369
104
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscitizen mfree moviesmood lightingshower and toiletmood padremote controlzuid stationtram stopcity centrerooms are smallhuge bedfrosted glassgreat concepton demandhour barfunky hotelnumber tram
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,899 - 2,904 of 5,194 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is pretty, the rooms are really comfortable. The hotel members were very kind, they help us with directions, train tickets information, and banks location.

Very very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsolh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We spent 4 nights at citizenM in April 2012, and our stay was superb. We loved the funky modern design of the hotel, and the staff were amazing.

The rooms are small, but the space is very well utilised, and you don't feel cramped in the rooms. The rooms come equipped with a "mood pad" which allows you to choose lighting, temperature, window blinds, tv programmes, music etc from one control.

The bathroom is not formally separate from the bedroom, but the loo and shower are encapsulated in cylindrical glass opaque doors which offer privacy. There is also a curtain which you can close the bathroom off from the bedroom with.

The bed is nice and big, and very comfortable. We found ourselves oversleeping every morning (which is not a bad thing while on holiday!) The room is also very very quiet (the windows are thick), so you don't hear any outside noise. Bliss!

The hotel staff are all extremely helpful, friendly and fun. They also come from all over the world, so you're very likely to find someone who can communicate with you in most languages.

The hotel has free use of an internet / computer station with 4 apple computers. This was extremely useful for travellers wishing to look up a map, restaurant, activity etc. And they let you print!

The food available at the hotel is also of a very high standard, and they make excellent coffees. The food style is kind of a pret-a-manger style, so you choose what you want (ready made) from a shelf/fridge and then eat it around a colourful bar area.

Everything is run on computers, so you check yourself in and out, and it's very easy to do.

Proximity to the public transport systems is also very convenient. It's 5 minutes from the Amsterdam Zuid train station, and 1 minute from the nearest Tram stop. We found it very easy getting around from there.

I would highly recommend staying at citizenM!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SH27380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Spent 3 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Yes, rooms are small but there is a handy under bed drawer to store all your stuff in. And yes, you do need to get on well with your room mate! Love the mood lighting, purple a definite favourite (it would be great if whole room was bathed in the coloured lighting).
Bed comfortable and huge, toiletries smelling lovely, very dinky units. Shower great - beam me up scotty - do you think they could pipe hot air into it to dry you???
Staff lovely, cheerful and helpful - top marks.
Decor brill, loved the style, also the Macs.
Enjoyed one hot meal, they cook a fresh dish at tea time, and veggie curry box was fine. Breakfast plentiful but bit limited.
Rooms very quiet, which kind of surprised us! Only suggestion to hotel is it would be great to have some sort of window to let in fresh air - the air conditioning is great, but I'm not a great fan and like a bit of fresh air!
Make sure you get off at right stop on tram 5 from central station (the hotel is just across the road and bike lane, and to the left) as we got off the next one and got a bit lost.... It was quite nice to be a tram ride from the city, and the service was very regular, going right through the centre of Amsterdam, making everywhere easy to get to.
Will definitely recommend to friends

Room Tip: All rooms the same, we had view of garden and it was nice to see the trees through the blinds
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeandBuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

While I am not sure if this hotel is for everyone (families with young children), it is definitely for the rest of us to enjoy. Everything about the room was unique (yes, I had to close the toilet cubicle as I couldn't quite get my head around the toilet being open) and comfortable. The staff were most helpful and the availability of different foods, snacks, and drinks were refreshing.

Getting there from Central Station do not take a taxi unless you have a crazy amount luggage. I did, not knowing the area, and paid an arm and a leg and know that I was basically robbed. The number 5 tram is simple from Central Station and it stops right next to the hotel.

Enjoy : )

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at citizenM for 3 nights and were thoroughly impressed. The room was smaller than most hotels back in the US, but this is always usually the case when traveling in Europe. That being said, it's the perfect hotel room setup for the European traveler looking to explore a destination city and clean up in the morning and have a comfortable place to rest their head(s) at night. The king size beds are very comfortable and the shower pod is a great size too. The modern feel for the hotel is funky and fun...and the 'Mood Pad' that controls everything in the room is very easy to use as well. This unique element definitely added a little fun to visiting Amsterdam outside of exploring this great city as well. While the hotel is not located within the city center of Amsterdam, it is easy to hop on the GVB public transportation tram (Line 5) and only takes about 15-20 minutes to get to the Dam Square and other important landmarks.

I'm looking forward to seeing more citizenM hotels popping up around Europe and in New York in the coming years. The receptionist informed me that these hotels soon to open will have the same feel/vibe which my girlfriend and I both enjoyed a lot.

The only real 'con' that wasn't bothersome to us, but may be for others, is that you definitely need to be very comfortable with another companion when staying in one of these rooms. You will be visible in both the shower and toilet pods, so if you don't want your friend or significant other to see you using either, you'll need to take turns stepping out of the room so that they can use them. That being said, it is a very comfortable and clean hotel that I'll be sure to look into again if staying in Amsterdam or other major city destinations!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same so all you need to do is get a reservation! You may want a unit with a garden view room as opposed to a street view room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PanhandleTraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews