We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel i have stayed in all my trips in Europe”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #39 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best hotel i have stayed in all my trips in Europe”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Gorgeous rooms, very clean, very kind staff- always with smile and feel you good. Near to schiphol and city centre.
I love CitizenM and all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina_ninetta80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,585
    1,603
    320
    90
    58
See reviews for
243
2,359
371
992
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

If you want to feel the smell of bathroom in your room ... If you want to pay top price for the worst breakfast of your life .... If you want a cold shower ..... If you want close the curtain and is ok the system stop your tv movie ... THAT's your Hotel .... Ahhh .. You will receive an email telling the breakfast in 24/7 ... Try have it 6:30 .... It's a joke !! Very good to the owner ... The profit must be fantastic !!!! He is a genius !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LuisAMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Hi “LuisAMM”,

First, I would like to apologize for the experience you had. Breakfast is served 24/7 but we do understand that your expectations were not met at citizenM, in which we are sorry, our hotel manager Francisco already been in touch with you, exchanging several emails, refunding the amount for both days.

Regarding your other observations, the room layout is indeed different than what you find on other hotels. Although you should not worry with bad smell throughout the room, there is air ventilation inside the WC preventing that, we do understand it won’t satisfy everyone’s taste. Not sure how the window curtain could possibly affect the TV movie in your room. The rain shower is powerful and temperature can be adjusted according to your preference.

Again, we are sorry that citizenM didn’t live up to you.

All the best,
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

What a great Hotel and Staff, i stay in Hotels once a week all over the place and this place takes some beating. Trendy, Claen great Bar Great Food, amazing. Couldnt recommend enough.......can I buy shares?

Room Tip: Anywhere is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RugbyboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We booked this hotel after the first night in the city enduring Queens Day we were jet lagged and needed rest...this hotel is located a block form the south metro station... and just off the highway one exit from the airport!.it is a quiet neighborhood in the suburbs and an easy walk to shops and a good Argentinian restaurant. The hotel is very Euro modern with a easy self checkin and wonderful lounge spaces...It also has a Bar/ food convenience self serve area near the checkin...All very modern chic and stylish....We discovered a park a block south and it was beautiful with goslings and swans.After the noisy city, it was bliss.
The room was very cool... light and airy with the glass circular shower and toilet pods. but the most fun was the Philips smart pad that controls the temp,shades etc and has a cool lighting settings for the colored lights in the pods.The bed is a comfortable built-in with storage below and can sleep 4 sideways or the regular way...

Room Tip: everything but a spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tickettoride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Excellent concept, the staff made me feel most welcome, the community areas were both stylish and comfortable, the quality of the rooms were exceptional, the dining experience was excellent, without doubt the right formula for today's citizens who have become disillusioned with the traditional hotel formula.

Room Tip: All rooms are created equal in citizen M - they are all excellent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidvasili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

just one stop in the train from schipol, and 15 minutes by metro/tram to central really liked the location. A decent, pretty quiet suburb with a train and metro stop about 1 minute away.
The interior was nice, modern with a nice bar/snack room and modern imac computers for browsing.
The rooms were as described. I was with my girlfirned and we had no problems with the close proximity of the room (the toilet and shower were in full view of the bed).
The rrom was great, clean, modern, huge bed, great shower and Good TV ( i was there during last day of premier league and was able to watch all the matches on my room tv). The mood lighting and music etc was a nice novelty.
The reason i give the place 5* instead of 4* was its location and also the really helpful staff. They even brought me a big bucket of ice so i could chill my beers in my room. Thats 5* in my book

Ps. other people had issues with noise and i can understand why, but being a experienced traveller i always bring ear plugs so cant comment on noise.

Room Tip: away from the lift if your a light sleeper, otherwise tehy are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfay87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

CitizenM makes a statement from the moment you step through the red tinted automatic sliding doors. It says: 'I'm a hotel with attitude - hope you like it'. Staff are all young and good looking, wearing striking black uniforms with red detail. Everything is automated from check in through to the control pad in the room which controls everything from lighting to blinds to TV. Movies and internet access are free. The bed in each room is huge and has a flat screen TV which can only really be seen properly from the bed. The common areas on the ground floor look like they are straight out of an interior design photo shoot – very retro and stylish. There is a good selection of food and drink which you can help yourself to, but the meals are very basic - just sushi and packaged stuff you heat up yourself in a microwave.
I stayed 3 nights and enjoyed it a great deal. I would definitely recommend it as relatively cheap convenient hotel if you want be between the airport and the centre of town and don't mind going out for meals - there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 3rd floor which had nice views of a garden outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComptonScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#41 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing