We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #47 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Stayed for 5 days during a conference at RAI and everything was great.
What is good to be said about this hotel has already been mentioned in the previous reviews: modern, great staff, free wifi etc.

The privacy in the room is quite low, so it is advisable that if you share the room with a companion, you know each other very good (bathroom and shower can be seen in the attached pictures).

The RAI is a 10 minutes walk through a park - therefore the trip before and after RAI activities is just relaxing.

If you go to the hotel from Schiphol airport and take train, please note that even if Amsterdam Zuid is the next station not all the trains pass by it (I've taken a train going to Amsterdam Centraal wrongly assuming that I'll reach Zuid) - just pay attention.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanyC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,432 - 2,438 of 4,966 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I chose this hotel because I had meetings in Amsterdam Zuid. The hotel is perfectly located for anyone having meetings in the business area, you can get to/from the airport in about 15min, the basic services work incl great sleep and the area is splendid for a morning jog of any distance.

The retro futuristic design of the hotel is interesting and, to some, an attraction in itself. The rooms kind of reminded me of Bruce Willis' apartment in the Fifth Element, incl shower in a tube. Movies and other entertainment in the room/ tv are free of charge and the remote doubles as a mood control. The common areas have apple computers and lounges with furniture that you would pick for a modern but unsurprising look.

On the downside, this is probably a single traveler hotel only unless you are very comfortable with the person you are traveling with. The toilet and shower are situated in the middle of the room but can be closed off by a semitransparent glass tube. Very space efficient but sounds and smells are shared and too some degree sight. That works for some but obviously not for all. If you want to test a fresh relationship, this hotel may be a good place.

The breakfast was disappointing. I could have missed it but I couldnt find any cereals and the only eggs available were boiled rock solid and fridge cold. It s not a deal breaker at this budget (breakfast is extra 14euro) but it seems as if at least the cereals would be a cheap remedy.

Room Tip: As far as I could understand, the rooms are identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The hotel is situated a bit outside city centre; but public transport is excellent. The hotel offers very functional, although a bit small, rooms, free WiFi, free movies and free calls to Europe, both mobile and land line numbers.

A most curteous and modern/yong staff with a good eye for detail.

Very reasonable prices - very nice sushi at the 24/7 bar/cafe in the foyer.

Free internet computers.

What's not to like?

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesperSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Easy logistic: connected to the International Airport (7 mins by train) + city center very well served by Tram #5 (every 5 mins with stops @ Museums + downtown well connected).
Comfortable and welcoming design (all Vitra) lobby, inviting to hang around any time of day&night for a chat, a drink, a snack...
Design rooms, small but cosy, good for singles and couples for no more than 2-max 3 days (otherwise no space for luggages...).
In-room domotics is a plus.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisabetta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Ended in this hotel by accident after missing my flight. For a budget hotel this realy delivers a good product.
Rooms are well insulated so no noise from aircraft etc, bed is comfortable and rooms are well appointed.
If I have to stay over in Schipol again this would be my first choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XKR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I spend three days at the hotel and it was lovely. The first day a very nice smile helped me to check- in, Robert. I went to my room to leave my bag and visited the bar, area which is the common area between the computers lounge and the resting area ( various living rooms). I meet different people and the bartenders were very open and helpful.
The staff make me feel at home. Eventough I read on one of the revoews that the hotel was little far, I do think so. I took a tour on Sunday to see the Grand Holland and the departure time was at 9:15, the TRAM 5 is half a blok away from the hotel, but it did not pass at the time was supossed to. For 1 second I was going to miss the tour I have already paid. The tour I booked was on Damrak 26, I enjoyed but did not recommend it because we visited Delf, Hague and Rotterdam and the miniature city but it was just a sightseen tour, we did not get to visit the places or do a little walk.
My expirience at the Citizen M was lovely I do recommend it and if I go to Amsterdam I will stay there. I like the atmosphere to go on my own and feel like home.

Room Tip: The person helping you to check in will advice you on that sense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#32 of 373 in Amsterdam
908 reviews
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#34 of 373 in Amsterdam
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
1.6 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £81 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing