We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel. Location a bit far from the centre”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #44 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the manager, Andrew.This hotel is modern, unique and fun.It is however not close to the city centre.You need to take a tram (which is directly outside the hotel) for ± 18 mins to get into Dam square.We arrived at 11h40.The first staff member wanted to charge us extra to check into our room earlier than 14h00.Another staff member was then kind enough to allow us to check in earlier at no extra charge.The rooms are unique and everything works off remote control.This system, however stopped working from Friday afternoon to Sunday morning.We discussed this issue with the manager,Andrew, who was extremely apologetic and was kind enough to offer us a free night stay next time we are in Amsterdam.I would not recommend more than 1 person staying in the room, as cool as it is, it is extremely small.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the garden as oppossed to the 'city'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazzagordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,119 - 2,125 of 4,919 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Lovely design and atmosphere. The rooms aren't big. They are the width of a kingsize bed. It's not for those who need to have a suite size room with living/kitchen/double bathroom and bed. Citizen M balances this "problem" by offering a very large lounge area with couches and tables in the lobby. I enjoyed staying here, just dropping by in my room for a quick shower and then spend the evening in the living area, as you would do at home.

The shower is in a see-through tube, so if you are there with your partner, expect a small show. Toilet is also in a not-see-through tube, so don't eat mexican of your relationship will take a new turn the next day.

For those who like to go running, the Beatrix park is literally next door. It offers a 2 km lap around the park with very few people in your way. If you want to go for a longer tour you can run to the Vondel park which is a up north, but expect a lot of more runners. Or you can just run a few more laps.

Room Tip: Spend your evening in the comfy lounge downstairs, don't stay in your room all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackboxshots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed one night at the CitizenM hotel when my flight connections left me with an overnight in Amsterdam. The CitizenM hotel is a short, easy walk from the airport - no problem doing the walk with luggage. Check in/check out at the hotel was a breeze. I found the room small but comfortable. The quirky part is definitely the layout. The toilet and shower are separate stand alone 'cylinders' of opaque glass in the middle of the room. They are roomy, clean and functional but the placement right in the middle of the room is a bit of an adventure. Perfectly fine when alone but not a lot of privacy if you are sharing the room! You have been warned. The room is very quiet and the beds comfortable. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I loved our stay at citizenM Amsterdam City. Very friendly staff who are always offering help! Made my stay in Amsterdam very comfortable.
Very close to the tram stops and train stations, a hassle free location

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandaran Mohan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is a really good hotel to stay at if you are not expecting lavish rooms, furnishings, and swimming pools etc. The hotel is in a really convenient location, close to Amsterdam Zuid and major tram lines, and is very clean and safe. Rooms are small, about the length of a king bed, but have windows spanning the entire width. Shower and toilet are enclosed in pods, and this can be disconcerting initially. Blinds, A/C, TV, and room lighting are controlled with a relatively high-tech remote control. There's a decent bar/store downstairs, along with an area with computers and sitting spaces. Overall, this hotel is a very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangchenjunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

very good expericence, nice and very clean hotel in a pleasant neighborhood. Tram station just beside. Interesting modern concept of hotel. Very pleasant and friendly staff. A good address to keep in mind !
Restaurant is ok to eat some small dishes, breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pivoine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This chains want to be super-moderm and techo advaced, but they really lost the basics. They have self/service checking (which is fine for me), free WiFi and movies. The room is terrible: small, no separate area for bathrooms and extemely uncofortable and anonymous. No place where to place your things, just one chair. The price however is quite close to other more standard Hotel chains

Unless you are really into this 'ultra-modern', minimalist approach, I strongly advice to stay away from this place.

Room Tip: Take teh garden side. Dont much stuff with you. You will have no place where to put it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michele-Scar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2013

Hi "Michele-Scar",

Thanks for sharing your experience with fellow travellers. At citizenM, we see hospitality differently from the standard hotel chains, and understand it doesn't satisfy everyone.

Space is used smartly so no huge rooms with an expensive price tag but a functional room at an affordable rate. Basic at citizenM is luxury where it counts, going beyond Wi-Fi, which is about freedom and therefore must be free. Luxury here is about value, and the basic is a check-in/out experience that takes less than 2 minutes, friendly staff, a huge bed to get lost on, a power-rain shower, 24/7 food & beverage availability, a contemporary environment that feels more like a living room, an extension of your own home other than marble fountains, doormen and intimidating furniture.

We built our hotel for a niche on our own style, and respect that it is not suitable for everyone. That said, I do feel sorry that your expectations were not met here.

Wish you safe travels!

All the best,

Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 374 in Amsterdam
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#32 of 374 in Amsterdam
676 reviews
1.6 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#7 of 374 in Amsterdam
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £87 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing