We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you fancy something different”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #37 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Stay here if you fancy something different”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel is situated close to Amsterdam Zuid train station which is under 10 mins. by rail from Schipol airport so a great spot particularly if you are arriving late in the day. The only downside is it is in a quiet business/residential area, which lacks places to eat close by, but the hotel does good sushi etc. The area is very quiet at night, though there is a nice bar near the train station you can pop in on the way to the hotel. 10 mins or so to the Museums - get an all day pass on the tram. The staff are very helpful and welcoming, they seem to really enjoy their jobs. The hotel is unusual in design, checking in, eating and room design, a big change from the norm. Huge comfortable bed, though the room layout may seem a bit strange, I thought it great, but my wife took some time to get used to it. Best to describe it as a adults only hotel unless parents get to the remote control fast! A bit out of the way, but a great experience. Will stay again - a great find.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0lidayh0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,642
    1,646
    325
    90
    60
See reviews for
254
2,404
380
1,011
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Although the hotel is not in the city center, it's very well connected: just a pleasant 5 minute walk from the train station (which is just a 6 minute train ride away from the airport), and tram line 5 stops in front of the hotel, bringing you to the center of Amsterdam in 15 minutes, with strategical stops along its route. All in all very convenient.
We were warmly welcomed by the staff, going out of their way to accommodate us, and show us around. The lounge area is pleasant, colorful, beautifully decorated, what a treat to be able to sample highlights of modern design, to actually use a piece of furniture you normally just know from a picture! The room is identical to other citizenM rooms. Everything functions beautifully, shower and bed are very comfortable, I love the black out shades, because of serious jet-lag sleeping during daytime was a must for us...! My 12-year old enjoyed the mood lighting to the max. My only complaint would be the tiny size of the in-room safe. I really appreciated the free WiFi and the ease of not needing a password at all - WiFi worked flawless in our room as well as in the lounge area.
Breakfast was not exceptional but good for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

DIY style management. Efficient room design. Reasonable room rate for its great location. I'd definitely choose this hotel. It's close to the plaza, and we only had to walk about 200 meters before getting indoor. You don't have to worry about safety even if you come back at midnight. The hotel itself is quite new and offers really a brand new hotel experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DominicFasold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level 6 Contributor
684 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel is a good price comparably for other rooms we looked at in Amsterdam and the location is about two blocks from the train station and right near one of the stops on the tram line which we found easy to use. The self check-in was okay (it saves on cost) and they had a nice array of sandwiches and drinks that could be purchased which meshed with my vegan diet. The hotel is made of shipping container sized rooms literally stacked on top of each other.

But the room is the weirdest hotel room I've ever been in. I really didn't like spending any time in it. When you walk in you have to weave through the bathroom with a toilet and a shower each with a circular glass enclosure and a circular, tube-like sink. The bed is a king-sized bed at the back that literally fills the entire space with no room around the sides or the back. It felt like climbing into a loft. There is a very small writing stand and a table and other than that, just empty floor.

It felt like spreading out for the night in a corner of an unfinished warehouse. After showers in the morning it was muggy from the shower mist and I had to get out just for some air. You better be really comfortable with whoever you are staying with because there is absolutely no privacy. My wife enjoyed the weirdness of it. As for me, I'd rather spend a little more for a more typical room. I would give the room itself a 2 and it is the price, cleanliness and location which bring it up to a 3.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the manager, Andrew.This hotel is modern, unique and fun.It is however not close to the city centre.You need to take a tram (which is directly outside the hotel) for ± 18 mins to get into Dam square.We arrived at 11h40.The first staff member wanted to charge us extra to check into our room earlier than 14h00.Another staff member was then kind enough to allow us to check in earlier at no extra charge.The rooms are unique and everything works off remote control.This system, however stopped working from Friday afternoon to Sunday morning.We discussed this issue with the manager,Andrew, who was extremely apologetic and was kind enough to offer us a free night stay next time we are in Amsterdam.I would not recommend more than 1 person staying in the room, as cool as it is, it is extremely small.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the garden as oppossed to the 'city'
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazzagordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Lovely design and atmosphere. The rooms aren't big. They are the width of a kingsize bed. It's not for those who need to have a suite size room with living/kitchen/double bathroom and bed. Citizen M balances this "problem" by offering a very large lounge area with couches and tables in the lobby. I enjoyed staying here, just dropping by in my room for a quick shower and then spend the evening in the living area, as you would do at home.

The shower is in a see-through tube, so if you are there with your partner, expect a small show. Toilet is also in a not-see-through tube, so don't eat mexican of your relationship will take a new turn the next day.

For those who like to go running, the Beatrix park is literally next door. It offers a 2 km lap around the park with very few people in your way. If you want to go for a longer tour you can run to the Vondel park which is a up north, but expect a lot of more runners. Or you can just run a few more laps.

Room Tip: Spend your evening in the comfy lounge downstairs, don't stay in your room all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackboxshots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed one night at the CitizenM hotel when my flight connections left me with an overnight in Amsterdam. The CitizenM hotel is a short, easy walk from the airport - no problem doing the walk with luggage. Check in/check out at the hotel was a breeze. I found the room small but comfortable. The quirky part is definitely the layout. The toilet and shower are separate stand alone 'cylinders' of opaque glass in the middle of the room. They are roomy, clean and functional but the placement right in the middle of the room is a bit of an adventure. Perfectly fine when alone but not a lot of privacy if you are sharing the room! You have been warned. The room is very quiet and the beds comfortable. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#39 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,328 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 368 in Amsterdam
847 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing