We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #48 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, great location (5/10 minutes by tram from central Amsterdam), great bar and the whole concept of a stylish self-service hotel with pod rooms was great. Loved the loo and shower inside pods in the rooms with the mood lighting, the free movie channels were a great bonus too. Bar was a little expensive as were snacks but Amsterdam is an expensive city. Great trendy and stylish hotel, really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,954 - 1,960 of 4,968 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here for one night as others have done. The rooms are exactly as others have described. For us this was perfect for landing in europe jetlagged. Super easy to get from the airport. Just follow the signs in english to thw trains. No lines at the ticket counter and you get off at the first stop and walk 5 minutes to the hotel. From the hotel buy a 24 hour tram pass on board (if you didnt get the tourist pass at the airport) andtake the #5 tram to the city center. 5 also stops at the museum. We will definitely stay here again when we visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tugokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed in Citizen M on a Friday night. It was not our first time. Entering the room it was cold. We called the reception and a manager came up to help us with tea and brownies. Very friendly!
Before dinner in town we had drinks at the bar, again the personnel was extremely friendly.
The interior is modern and comfortable.
Concept is also great for people that travel a lot and do not want to eat in a restaurant. There is a limited choice of food, but quality is good and you can eat where ever you like.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvetteNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel is a lovely stroll through the park behind the RAI. It is very functional, perfect for business travellers in my view. Clean, good free wifi throughout hotel and food and drinks available 24hrs in lobby. Rooms are 'modern' (based on Asian open room format) so wrong place if you are looking for big old-fashioned style hotel room. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLeM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This hotel room looked extremely interesting to my wife and I. We had 1 night to spend in Amsterdam and found it online and decided to take a look. It is a bit far from the downtown attractions but easy to get to (I would recommend the Tram Line 5 - drops you off less than 1 block away) and so much fun. You are immediately greeted by a hotel staff member who allows you to self check-in and directs you to your room. The rooms are cozy, very cool and operated entirely from the remote for the TV. The shower has neon lights and is much more spacious than it looks and the bathroom (has frosted glass around it) is similarly spacious though it is a bit weird to use the bathroom and have the other person see your silouette while doing so. The bed is large and extremely comfortable and is like the hotel, fantastic! I would recommend that you stay here as long as you are not claustrophobic as it is a bit like a pod room but we loved it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are the same, no differences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roto1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Went there to run the Amsterdam marathon. It was perfect. We where there for 4 days.
Very good location, very modern and trendy. Nice staff.
Just would like to have a little more space to keep the clothes :-) and warm eggs for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for one night but I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who loves a a change from the norm.
The rooms are amazing they fitted with mood lighting and the design of the room is so funky.
Give it a go! You won't be disappointed. We will be going back for sure.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BenBamforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#31 of 373 in Amsterdam
908 reviews
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#34 of 373 in Amsterdam
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
1.6 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £81 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing