We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and great location !! ”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #39 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous and great location !! ”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

love this hotel so much have now visited twice and will not stay anywhere else in amsterdam!! The rooms are funky, the wifi is free, the tv is amazing with movies on demand and English channels plus other countries. The staff are outstanding and the location is fab with a nearby train station (zuid) and a number 5 tram every 5 minutes which takes you to dam square and central station. I can't recommend this hotel enough

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sammyk170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,585
    1,603
    320
    90
    58
See reviews for
243
2,359
371
992
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The essentials, for a super efficient stay in Amsterdam: small clean room with good bed, funky shower and plenty of room in the lobby for other purposes. Very good quality of breakfast goods (not cheap) Free use of computers. Close to railwaystation (direct line to airport) and tram (city centre).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celise v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband for a few nights while visiting Amsterdam. It wasn't as close to the centre of the city as I expected which was a little annoying. We walked in on some days and took the tram other days. The tram was about 35 minutes from central station, not sure on the walking as we didn't go straight from one to the other.

You can check in using a computer when you arrive which is quick and easy. The rooms are weird because they are long and thin. The toilet is closest to the door and only enclosed by sliding doors. Then right next to that is the shower in a similar pod, then just behind that is the bed.

There isn't a lot of room to move and it feels a bit claustrophobic, although the big bed is nice. There isn't a fridge or even any tea and coffee, although you can go downstairs and buy things at the bar.

There is a big area downstairs with couches, chairs, tvs etc where you can hang out. The wifi didn't seem to work in our room but worked well downstairs.

They let us leave our luggage on the day we checked out until we needed to head to the airport which was great.

Overall it isn't a bad place, just not somewhere I would stay again because of the location and small room size.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Faith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Pro's: room was of a fair size, clean and the wifi strong. Also found the staff around the check-in computers (a reception desk it is not) and bar/restaurant very friendly and welcoming.

Con's: the charge if you want access to your room even a minute before the official check-in time, the lighting/sound system in the rooms is plugged as some all-singing innovative design but amounted to a few small lights changing colour and bird noises. Rooms are perfect size for one person for one night, but any longer or if travelling with someone I'd advise looking elsewhere!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Llyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I absolutely love citizen M hotels, they are modern and such trendy places to stay. In the Citizen M Amsterdam hotel each room has a giant bed, safety deposit box, TV, remote control which basically controls everything in the room, toilet surrounded by glass doors, shower surrounded by glass doors and a sink. The staff in this hotel are brilliant, the customer service could not have been any better. We received vouchers for 2 free cocktails upon arrival and the cocktails we ordered were delicious! The hotel is easy enough to get to from Schipol Airport, just jump on the train to Amsterdam Zuid and then it's a 5 minute walk round the corner. The hotel is located a bit outside the city centre so I would recommend taking the number 5 tram into the heart of Amsterdam, otherwise its a 30-40 minute walk. Overall, I had a great experience and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenMcM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Österreich
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is Perfect for a City visit. Very close To the airport and within 20 min with the line 5 which Starts 100 m in Front of the hotel a convenient Option for the City Center. Rooms are funny and clean. VITRA furniture in the Lobby and very freindly Staff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank andreas870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights in this hotel and we found it really nice: it s clean, with wifi and close to the public transports to downtown and to the airport. Very kind staff. I would not recommend it for long stays since the rooms are small and not a lot of space for big luggages.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#41 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing