We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern sexy hotel”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #46 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Wonderful hotel. Modern furniture. Funny shower and toilet right inside the common room.
Touch pad (remote control) for TV, lighting etc.. A couple dozens movies (common and adult each) included in the bill. Nice and pleasant staff. Quite useful breakfast. Smoking is not allowed inside. Close to Schiphol airport (10-15 minutes on taxi). Not far from center – 15-20 minutes from center on taxi. Quiet and nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clean_johnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,870 - 1,876 of 5,032 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

First off - I love this place. I really do. It's modern, quirky, friendly, cheap but even compared to a lot of the very high end hotels I stay in really comfortable.

However - I have 1 major gripe (which is the same no matter what hotel I stay in) and a minor one which I'll cover first.

The room is very modern - you have a remote control that allows you control the blinds, the heating etc. Problem is, focus is on the coolness of the control rather than practicality. You can change the angle of the blinds + lower/raise a blackout curtain. Lack of attention to detail means as cool as that is, the blackout curtain allows light in from both sides which renders it useless. If like me, daylight wakes you up then there is no way to fully block out the light at all. A big shame - less gadgets, more attention to detail would fix this.

Major gripe though is internet. I get lots of people like free Wifi. Problem is you can only give free WiFi if there's enough of it to go around. In this case there isn't. Wifi gets very slow to the point of unusable during peak times. Would much prefer to pay for Wifi for guarantee quality of service so I can actually work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidJBLevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel was a lot of fun - the rooms are small but functional, the staff was super friendly and the restaurant/living room area nice and very modern. The location is pretty good too - easy (and very fast) to get to from the airport and not too far away from the centre (by tram).

The concept is an excellent idea and good value for your money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosetwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

right next to the airport..and bus to kukenhof just at the doors..took the train to go to the city centre..lovely clean rooms with unique design..loved the concept..sure some people with a different taste might not like the concept of the shower area right in the middle of a not so big room..no restaurant is a big drawback..quick self check in and check out ..no waiting..good overall for a very reasonable price

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drshansun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank TravellerGRMY
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a very quirky idea for a hotel - all the rooms are made out of what looks like cargo containers. They are quite small, tightly packed but incredibly fun. You can control the whole room by a 'mood pad', which is great fun. The beds were comfy, the shower and bathroom pods and interesting idea and the whole hotel was extremely clean.

he one downside of this hotel is that is is right by the airport - so you need to catch the train into central Amsterdam. But it's quick, cheap and reliable and we saved money doing it this way, which could then be spent on Heineken.

Loved it, was a great experience.

Room Tip: Every room is identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrittLND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights 7-9th march with my boyfriend. Hotel was lovely there was a nice chilling out area that is very comfortable & very modern. Rooms were nice and clean, there was a remote that controlled the TV/Lighting/Blinds/ even the alarm clock! Staff were friendly & helpful would defo stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerrySmith92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#31 of 375 in Amsterdam
929 reviews
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#33 of 375 in Amsterdam
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £78 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing