We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time and love it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #37 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First time and love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This place just wow-ed us. It's not located at the central but very near zuid station, which is good for us.. just 1 station from Schipol. Tram is just round the corner if you need, and line 5 goes to most of the touristy places, it just perfect for us!
It's very modern concept, and we totally love the design of the room (not recommended for the shy due to "open concept" bathroom). The bed is big and comfy, just make me wanna stay in.. =)
The only not so good experience for us was that the TV wasnt working. We could switched it on, but nothing can be displayed when channels are selected (movies are working fine though). And, the staff said they couldn't do anything about it...-_-

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank py_bh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,495
    1,537
    315
    85
    54
See reviews for
232
2,271
360
946
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

At first I was a bit apprehensive of this hotels location, there was no need. Having not been to Amsterdam before I was unaware just how good the transport is.

Before quarter past 12 you can get the number 5 tram from outside the hotel straight in to Amsterdam centre, after then the 358 night bus runs every hour, and every half an hour on Friday and Saturday.

The hotel it's self is swanky as, rooms really contemporary and so is the bar. They do a massive range of cocktails and I had a few beautiful whiskey sours before we went out which were mixed to perfection.

I was surprised that all the food places in Amsterdam close at 4am so it's a good job the hotel serves food 24/7 because we got back at 5am worse for wear and starving a couple of nights!!

All round brilliant stay, can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sjollema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Very cool hotel. Nice atmosphere. Small room. The toilet is in the room, so not for the shy... Ok breakfast, but have seen better. Save money for breakfast by ordering on check-in. 3 km to the centre of Amsterdam, either nice walk or take the bus.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik Vesterhus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I booked this hotel on the strength of a previous stay at the Citizen M in Glasgow. I was initially a little concerned that it may have been too far from the city centre but with the tram stop on its doorstep it proved to be ideal for a site seeing weekend. It's also very handy to the Amsterdam Zuid station which itself is a short hop away from Schiphol.

The rooms are wonderfully quirky and the bed is one of the most comfortable I've slept in. The staff were extremely friendly, cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beardyniall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Simple and trendy hotel; Nice bar and restaurant area; prices are ok for food and drinks in an Amsterdam hotel; choice of food is quite limited (more snacks than a real meal); Toilet and bathroom in the room are a bit awkward at first but very convenient and adds a "Star Trek" touch to the room; The technology is not always very willing and switching on the light might be an adventure; very small room; located close to tramline
Drawback: A small table in the room to put your suitcase on would be helpful

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was the most "different" hotel I have ever stayed at! It is located pretty close to a metro station. Also, there is a tram stop just outside the hotel and this tram goes directly to Amsterdam Centraal. So, connectivity is not a problem. This hotel uses a lot of technology, right from the self check-in to mood lights to remote control operated blinds! You need to be really comfortable with the person you are staying with if you are planning to stay at this hotel. The room is pretty small but very comfortable. The shower and toilet pods are glass enclosures and well, leave little to imagination :) (the glass is a bit frosted for some privacy) though there is a curtain separating the bed from the shower and toilet pod. It is fine if you are traveling as a couple. Loved their AM/ PM shower gel concept; shower gels of different fragrances for morning and night. They have various types of electrical sockets to suit gadgets from different countries, which was a great help.
We had dinner in the hotel on our first night there as we were too tired to go out and hunt for a restaurant. The food was good though a bit over priced. They also have a snack bar.
Overall, had a great stay and would definitely visit again if I am travelling with my husband!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luckytraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Recently stayed here with my boyfriend over the kings day weekend. From the moment we arrived all members of staff were helpful and friendly. We were recommended some delicious cocktails and the staff kindly explained how to get in to the centre and the best places to visit were detailed on a map for us.

The tram stop was literally a one minute walk and very easy to hop on and off. There were also citizenm bicycles available to borrow which we took great advantage of. It took us only 10 minutes to cycle to Museumplein from the hotel.

Would definitely recommend the hotel and the all you can eat breakfast in the morning, although the hotel isn't in the centre of Amsterdam it's very close to the airport and Museumplein and Amsterdam itself is tiny so it's very easy to get around!

Special thank you to Adrian, Robert, Sally and Paul for being so kind and helpful. I wish I could name all the other staff but I'm unsure of their names!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraStevenson91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#42 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing