We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and different!”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #39 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Small room with two glass tubes in middle of the room for toilet and shower. Breakfast was rather poor. Good location, very good and different service, smiling faces and staff was doing all different tasks, self check in and out. Will stay there again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank IngiBaiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,810)
There are newer reviews for citizenM Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,637 - 1,643 of 4,810 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was a handy stopover for an early morning flight. No negotiating traffic, just a short stroll to the terminal. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room interesting and comfortable. I couldn't believe the size of the bed and am glad I didn't have to change the linen! I slept so well and luckily remembered to set the alarm as I slept so well. I don't think I would go for the breakfast again as it was a bit pricey. You can get cheaper in the terminal. Also, there was a 2 euro credit card charge for the breakfast if you booked it the day before, which made it the same price as if you booked it on the day. I was offered the opportunity to have it refunded as I was clearly not told of this policy at the time, when I asked why the price was different. I would definitely stay here again for the convenience.

Room Tip: I didn't hear a single aero plane from inside.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeadogCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Particularly indicated for those who need to be very close to the Schiphol Airport - reachable in 3 min. walking -. This is a Hi-tech Concept hotel which offers design areas and slightly different rooms (need to get used to the WC and the shower position). Personnel extremely efficient and kind, everything can be done automatically. Suggested at 100%.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chemmi214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed here on a layover to Africa, and chose the CitizenM because of it's proximity to the train, reasonable price and great reviews. I was not disappointed. The train takes you from the airport, to a stop only a few minutes walk to the hotel. Checking in was easy and the staff was excellent. The room is high tech, with a universal remote, and really unique shower concept. From there it was a quick walk to the train again, this time, heading downtown.

There isn't a sit-down restaurant, but a cafe style area which has a great selection. The rooms are not overly spacious, but their layout gives you ample room. I would reccommend this hotel for shorter stays or single travellers most of all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This place just wow-ed us. It's not located at the central but very near zuid station, which is good for us.. just 1 station from Schipol. Tram is just round the corner if you need, and line 5 goes to most of the touristy places, it just perfect for us!
It's very modern concept, and we totally love the design of the room (not recommended for the shy due to "open concept" bathroom). The bed is big and comfy, just make me wanna stay in.. =)
The only not so good experience for us was that the TV wasnt working. We could switched it on, but nothing can be displayed when channels are selected (movies are working fine though). And, the staff said they couldn't do anything about it...-_-

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank py_bh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

At first I was a bit apprehensive of this hotels location, there was no need. Having not been to Amsterdam before I was unaware just how good the transport is.

Before quarter past 12 you can get the number 5 tram from outside the hotel straight in to Amsterdam centre, after then the 358 night bus runs every hour, and every half an hour on Friday and Saturday.

The hotel it's self is swanky as, rooms really contemporary and so is the bar. They do a massive range of cocktails and I had a few beautiful whiskey sours before we went out which were mixed to perfection.

I was surprised that all the food places in Amsterdam close at 4am so it's a good job the hotel serves food 24/7 because we got back at 5am worse for wear and starving a couple of nights!!

All round brilliant stay, can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sjollema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Very cool hotel. Nice atmosphere. Small room. The toilet is in the room, so not for the shy... Ok breakfast, but have seen better. Save money for breakfast by ordering on check-in. 3 km to the centre of Amsterdam, either nice walk or take the bus.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Erik Vesterhus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 371 in Amsterdam
868 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#37 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#32 of 371 in Amsterdam
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £98 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing