We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and relaxing”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #42 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Wasn't there for fun. I was in Amsterdam for an interview and the company booked this hotel that was close to their headquarters.
I wasn't disappointed, the room was really cool with the concealed lighting and a SO big bed I could have slept with 4 other people easily.
Nice experience.
I was alone there however shower and toilet are "isolated" by transparent walls so not sure it's quite convenient when you come in couple/group.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,620 - 1,626 of 4,849 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

A group of 9 cyclists choose this as our Amsterdam base for the night. The hotel is very modern and all rooms are identical 'pods' with king sized beds and 'space age' bathroom fittings in the same room. The hotel was by far the cheapest option compared to the more traditional options. It is in a quiet location but is 50 metres from the Number 5 tram line which runs all the way into the main attractions. We did a lot of sightseeing and the number 5 was the only tram we used. It was a 10 minute ride to the centre - simple.
The hotel offers free Wifi and also free PC use in the lobby area. There are a number of areas to sit on the ground floor which are furnished with chic designer furniture.
The staff were all friendly and helpful. They have city maps and sell the 24 hour public transport tickets so it acts like a traditional hotel in terms of service.
The bar area has all types of food to buy if you don't want to eat out, including fresh sushi and microwave meals, all at very reasonable prices. You even get a complementary drink voucher when you check-in.
We really liked this hotel, the only downside is that the rooms are quite small for 2 people, however, the beds are amazingly comfortable and we slept very well.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical and the lift is efficient, so there are no distinguishing features to name.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siomitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have previously stayed at the CitizenM hotel in Glasgow and liked it very much so for my trip to Amsterdam I decided to book it as I knew I would recieve good service and a good room.

I was wary as it is a bit out of the City and as we were here on a holiday I wanted it to be as easy as possible to access museums and other tourist destinations but it has excellent transport links to both the Airport and the City Centre. The number 5 tram is literally a minutes walk from the hotel and takes you straight in to Centraal station and past many other prime locations such as Museumplein and Leidsplein. It's also easy to get the train from Schipol Airport to Station Oud Zuid and the hotel is located about a 3-4 minute walk from the train station. If location is important to you do not rule out this hotel, it may not be in the city centre but it's no problem to get there!

The staff were friendly and helpful with any queries we did have, we were even able to keep our luggage stored safely in the hotel as our flight home wasn't until 7pm.

The rooms are immaculate and well presented however, be aware that the CitizenM's concept is to minimise space and to do this the toilet and shower are in cubicle's within the room, the only downfall about this is that it did not provide much privacy. I don't like the design of these rooms, the rooms in Glasgow are much better as the toilet and shower are in the same cubicle and have frosted glass covering them. The bed is brilliant, 2 of the best nights sleep I've had all year! Free wi-fi which was handy and free movies which was nice at night before bed.

A handy tip if you are visiting Amsterdam for tourism is to get an 'I Amsterdam' card which provides many free and discounted attractions and free travel throughout Amsterdam. Well worth the money and can be purchased online.

Room Tip: High floors have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clairefairb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

No criticism could be found in the common area. I love the chicness, although modern but still make you feel homey with seating area, TV, bookshelves etc. Breakfast was simple, only cold food but quite okay.

Unlike other comments that I read on this site, we met a staff which was quite cold and arrogant. I guess she was just very proud of her hotel and she thought everything should be self-explanatory.

The room, hmmmm, it wouldn't be too much of a problem if you are travelling alone. But if you are in couple, be aware that the toilet and the shower is in the middle of the room! Of course this is part of the design but still has its downside. On top the shower was leaking some drops in the beginning of the night and even with closed door the noise was unbearable and we had to put our ear plugs...

So 200 euro for a night in this hotel which is still a bit off the center, I wouldn't really recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

What not to like in the hotel? Good service, amazing staff, automated room, nice bar. The food is provided only as a convenience, nothing to write home about. But the breakfast is very good. It was nothing like any hotel we stayed. It's 100 meter from Station Zud, but it's best to take the tram.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EderSilva78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

As you can imagine: Its an Airport hotel you can stay for one or two nights. Interesting concept where you have to do everything on your own: from automatic check in up to breakfast in the morning. The concept is easy: Keep it simple and clean and make a one night stay convenient. The check in is done with machines only – if you need help someone will be there to assist. You create your room key and up you go. Rooms are all the same and follow the “ all in one” concept. It is bath, bed and living room all on 12 qm . Shower and toilet are glass cubes in the room, bed is from wall to wall at the end of the room. If you travel with a lot of language you will be in trouble as the room is small. But all is available, clean and very quiet and the bed is very comfortable. What do you need more for one or two nights. The lobby is meeting place and breakfast/lunch/ dinner area at the same time. It is a self service concept with fair prices. You have the chance to meet people and have a chat over a drink. So all in all a nice little hotel to stay for the night !

Room Tip: All rooms are the same !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had already visited amsterdam tourist spots in the beginning of our trip. Then travel through north Europe and returned to the city just to catch our plane back home. So we choose this hotel because it was quite near the airport (well, there's another CitizenM pratically inside Schipol Airport, but we prefer this one) and more affordable than others uptown. The hotel is located on a region called oud-zuid (south), which is surprisingly very charming. There's a huge and very beautiful park (Beatrix Park) a block away, and many local stores, cafés and wealthy mansions at Beethovenstraat, just a few blocks from the hotel.

The room is good, but kinda small. The king bed is very comfortable, but there's no space at the bedside, so you have to jump on it. Shower and toilet are in the middle of the room, inside glass "star trek" capsules. But I'm an old fashioned guy, and I'm not a fan of this sollution. I think everybody needs a little more privacy to do their business.

We had the breakfast in the hotel, because our plane left very early. But If we had time, I think the cafés at Beethovenstraat are a better choice.

But overall, the hotel is very modern, staff is friendly, everyting is automatic and full of wit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 372 in Amsterdam
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,902 reviews
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#33 of 372 in Amsterdam
650 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#39 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £98 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing