We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel. Funky, fun and really a different experience.”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #36 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I love this hotel. Funky, fun and really a different experience.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a fantastic concept, but takes a little getting used to. This was my second visit so I knew exactly what to expect. I suggest you try it and get used to it. This is the hotel of the future. Fantastic check-in and check-out process, fully functional but not wasteful room. A lot squeezed in the space they have used. Love it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,644
    1,648
    326
    91
    60
See reviews for
254
2,407
381
1,011
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sw
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The same as you'd expect from any Citizen M, rooms are very small with no storage at all, but if you go expecting this you won't have a problem, they are clean, comfortable and well thought out, for one or two nights at a reasonable price you won't be able to beat this. Very close to a tram line. The hotel has great facilities, from Mac's to use to a nice little cafe, late bar, decent food etc. I'd certainly stay again, and have from my first trip here stayed at a few other Citizen M's and have been very happy with all of them.

Room Tip: I'm fairly sure as they are a pod/modular design all rooms will be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afula, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was definitely an experience! It is a whole concept that is not like anything else. We knew it would be different than your basic hotel room and that's why we weren't too surprised. Everything is just as people describe it in tripadvisor and what is enjoyable is that it isn't like any of the other hotels we stayed at on our vacation. It was just a fun experience in a "different"kind of hotel room in a extremely well designed space, the public spaces as well as the rooms themselves. We stayed here two nights, the first of which I was a little claustrophobic, but then got used to the idea of not being able to open any windows and the second was the night before our last day in Holland, so convenient to get to the airport in the morning. I don't think I would have wanted to stay for more than that but we really enjoyed our short stay. Very friendly staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomona, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Nice hotel - if you want to sleep in your bathroom. The hotel is an interesting concept if you have a long layover or a one night stay; but falls off sharply for a business trip. Other than being a 5 min walk from the airport, there is no other reason to stay here. It is too small to get any work done - my laptop barely fit on the ledge that serves as a table, my elbow kept hitting the shower stall, and I needed to put my paper work on the bed. The toilet is only feet from the bed, and as there is no window to open - it can get a little "stuffy" despite the ventilation system. Everything is control by single remote control system - which can be temperamental at times. The coffee bar / eating area is OK; otherwise you can eat in the airport. Lot of no frills, lots of self service (even check in). Ideal for a 1-2 night stay and you need to get in / out of the airport. Stayed there twice - probably never again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 48420Tripadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is an experience in itself! Ideally located 5 mins walk from the train station Amsterdam Zuid (=only 1 stop from Schipol airport) and about 40 mins walk to the Rijksmuseum (or tram no. 5, stop close to hotel), it is the perfect location in the expensive residential area of Amsterdam.
On arrival, check-in is done on machines, but very friendly (front desk) staff is always ready to help. It seems you come 'home' to meet friends: rarely ever have I experienced such kind personnel. They are truly international (according to the motto of the hotel), and all speak fluent English. The front desk provides hotel umbrellas, but strangely enough no maps (!!).

The concept of the hotel fits the needs of the busy international traveller perfectly: contemporary stylish (only design furniture), effective (shortcuts, grab your own food, no nonsense), comfortable (sectionalized lobby for different needs such as work, sofa, relax, TV, chat, conference areas). Separate Mac+printer area --- huge windows for perfect lobby lighting, cosy open bar space with wide choice of drinks; great bar keeper.

It is very easy to chat with other guests; the atmosphere is easy-going yet professional. You choose your own space and location in the various sections of the lobby.

The rooms are indeed 'different' in many ways: the king-size bed right in front of the enormous window with built-in shades takes the space at the far end; a big drawer underneath serves as luggage storage room. The bed is very comfortable, 4 pillows are available and cosy. Everything is impeccably clean. With a two-person occupation, one needs to crawl over the other to get in/out. Luckily enough no floor carpet but smooth, clean surfaces. A clear plus for guests with allergies (yet the fixed window does not help).

The room features three open bathroom items - definitely not everybody's taste as the glass doors around the toilet and the shower do not help to create privacy; the wash basin is another separate unit in the room without glass protection - a thin flimsy curtain between bed and the open items is more a decorative detail :). No matter the roommate, I would NOT have wished to share the room with anyone (!) for the obvious lack of any kind of decent privacy. For sure no place to share with a colleague.

The built-in window shades, dark curtain, TV (inumerable channels) and the color lightning work via a tablet: a study in itself. I can hardly see the idea of using the toilet in pink or turquoise light… but am willing to accept that some people might derive pleasure from an individual color choice or from taking a shower in a rain forest atmosphere in dark green shades. Working the shower knobs requires a focused previous study to avoid a cold wet surprise from the big faucet above.
The room window cannot be opened - not to my liking as I appreciate fresh air. Sound-proof: no noise to be heard anywhere.

Space for hanging clothes is almost non-existent apart from a small hanger at the entrance; only short stays will tolerate that.The mirror in combination with the insufficient light is not ideal for making up; the hairdryer works well. Not much space is provided for placing one's toiletries or wash bag - with two occupants this would be a problem. Two shower/shampoo bottles are provided: apart from color/consistency, it was not clear which is for what (maybe for the guest's own preferences). Kleenex, but no other toiletries provided.

Despite some flaws for MY personal taste, this is a great place; I would frequent this hotel any time again and recommend it to solo travellers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GabriellaJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I don't mind picking small hotel rooms to get a good location for a fair price, and the size was also not the issue with this room. The bathroom layout and the placing of the bed means you get the most of the comfort from a larger room.

However, the shower system which was fun the first time got old after a couple of days. I hate that you have to close the doors and stand inside the shower before you turn on the water, because it means that you get covered in cold water first. I found a trick to avoid this, but not after a couple of mornings of freezing in the shower.

The mattress was also very hard.

Service was excellent, and the staff was super friendly. The cleaning was also great.

I wish they would have pots of black coffee and tea ready in the morning so you wouldn't have to stand in line for the baristas to make everything by order. Also, black coffee and tea should be free.

I thought the concept was super cool, but in the end I think some of the hipness got in the way of basic comfort, which is why i give CitizenM 4 and not 5. Still, I would not hesitate to recommend the place for other. The location was perfect for me (conference at RAI).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ida778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Citizen M is a great place if you need to stay near the Schiphol airport. Tiny rooms accommodate only one king sized bed. They are clean and well kept. Somehow we weren't able to determine that three people in this room would have been impossible, so we ended up rending a second room for our teenaged daughter at the last minute. Not a good surprise, but better than staying at the Hilton or Sheraton on the Airport grounds.

The food is good, they have a great place to hang out (since the rooms are so small), and the movies are all free. Walking distance to car rentals and terminals. If you want to stay at the airport, this is the place!

Room Tip: All the rooms are exactly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#38 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,331 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 368 in Amsterdam
848 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing