We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely must try this hotel...outstanding!”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #40 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definitely must try this hotel...outstanding!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I can't praise this hotel enough. It far exceeded my expectations...it was not what I thought....and it was a really brilliant surprise...it's really modern and trendy, and it was excellent to see people of all ages there, the staff are brilliant, they go far beyond excellent customer service. The rooms are really cool....different...but relax and you will soon love the whole concept. Rooms have a big flat screen TV with lots of channels and movies to suit EVERYONE ;) Check in and out is so simple...it takes 30 seconds. Drinks are excellently priced, 4 big TVs in the chill out areas, with sofas, chairs tables...all manner of weird and wonderful pieces of furniture and ornaments. The pictures on the internet really can't paint the whole picture, this place has to be seen to be believed. Please do not be put off by its location...it's out of the centre but the tram stop is right outside the hotel for heading into Central station, dam square, canal trips, etc etc. even better, 5 minutes walk to the next street and you are at Zuid station, the direct link to Schiphol airport...travel time only 6 minutes. Definatly no need for taxis and buses or hire cars here...trams are the way ahead. Everyone should visit Amsterdam once in their life and in my opinion...this is where they should stay! Deserves a 5star hotel rating

Room Tip: All rooms are the same I believe....garden view was really quiet. I don't think city view would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,591
    1,607
    321
    90
    58
See reviews for
244
2,361
371
998
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was initially sceptical as it seemed like a glammed up youth hostel (I have nothing against youth hostels) and superficial but this hotel won me over. Some points that stood out for me -
- comfortable king-size beds
- fast wifi
- smart remote
- free on-demand films
- short tram ride into town
- short walk from the RAI (if you're here for a conference)
- friendly staff
- clever layout of the room

The negative points would be
- the small size of the room. If you're a couple, don't expect each one to have their own space.
- you would struggle to find much storage/hanging space for clothes.
- the toilet and shower are enclosed 'bubbles' within the room itself, rather than a unit off the living space.

Despite the negatives, I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScanDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadiz, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have stayed twice now at the citizenM Amsterdam and really enjoy being a guest. Things work out, beds are comfortable and service is great

However, the "cutting out the middle man means we´re able to pass on the savings directly to you" slogan is a pity.

It is not true as the hotel is paying a considerable commission to booking.com. Maybe even more as what they would pay to a travel agent or touroperator.

As a travel industry professional myself I consider the argument an insult to the travel industry intermediaries as it transmits that they have no added value at all.

And then I consider the concept of CitizenM and its values and image so cool and original a slogan like this "over the head of colleages" simply does not represent those values.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

+ location, hipness, price, sense of humor, free movies, good wifi, fast self service checkin and out
- craptacular do-all-but-nothing-remote (first world problems, I know)

<rant>
I hate their 'advanced do it all' remotes (and the tablets even more)
it reboots
it is slow
it is annoying
it refuses to do things (and then reboots)
it does not all it is supposed to do
it needs recharging
it is not better than a plain and simple button/switch in any way shape or form, so why?
</rant>

Room Tip: If they have; one without the dumb remotes or tablet interface ('fraid they won't have one)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

if you love Eams ( or not :-)) this is the place to enjoy in every corner. Such smart hotel, exellent stuff. Everything smart. Close to the city, easy to reach airport easy check in/out.
See you soon, i hope :-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kre_imirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I guess this is what people called "shoe boxes", but it's fun with excellent services overall. Design is trendy and friendly. Room is cozy, clean and comfortable. You cannot expect too much space and lots of in-room amenities. It's not bad if you just open up yourself for something new and interesting and you'll end up find it wonderful. Staff have been friendly, helpful and welcoming. The room package did not come with breakfast but you could always grab something quick at the hotel restaurant with really nice coffee, or just go for cafes near to the metro station. Convenient to get to different places in the city, only some 10 minutes walking distance to the train & metro station and a few minutes walk to the tram line. Will definitely wanna stay again~

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berriberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a fantastic concept, but takes a little getting used to. This was my second visit so I knew exactly what to expect. I suggest you try it and get used to it. This is the hotel of the future. Fantastic check-in and check-out process, fully functional but not wasteful room. A lot squeezed in the space they have used. Love it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#41 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing