We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #38 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Amazing staff and amazing room with free wifi and movies on demand!! Myself and my boyfriend stayed for 3 nights and did not want to leave after sleeping so well in huge extra large bed....which was perfect as my boyfriend is over 6ft and we still had room to stretch out! 15/20mins away from Centraal station on the tram and they sell tram day passes (€16.50 for our 3day pass) checking in and out were both very easy processes. I would not recommend for shy couples as the toilet and shower are in the room and do not have a separate room of their own, but it makes for some relationship strengthening if nothing else!! Perfect for people who don't need extra large rooms to store 5suitcases they brought with them but rather the light travellers who can fit their suitcases under the table or in the large drawer under the bed! I can see a lot of people not liking the hotel because it's not as,spacious in the room as most but we really enjoyed it!! The food in the canteen we didn't use as we ate out for all our meals as a holiday treat something we never do at home! We really look forward to coming back and staying with citizenm again :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aoife R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,809)
There are newer reviews for citizenM Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,511 - 1,517 of 4,809 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

I liked the hotel, is a newly built style construction, high technology and it is close to the tram station. Only thing I did not like was they don't offer even a free cup of tea or coffee, everything is charged and very expensive to my taste...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If traditional hotel stays are what you are after, please go back to Google. With self check-in, touch screens, neon lights and *gasp* self service catering - this hotel does not cater for the tech-challenged.
If you are looking for a clean, semi-luxurious, modern hotel in a good location, you've arrived at the right place. It's cheap because it doesn't staff an entire ship.
In short, there are a series of rooms 5 or 6 stories up which face either Amsterdam, or the business district. The rooms have a huge comfortable bed on one end with a desk & chair. There is then a shower and toilet in pod like sections dotted around the room. The finish is solid and the build quality is made to last.
I would most certainly come here again, and would actively seek out other CitizenM properties around the world on my travels.

Room Tip: Pick a room high up and facing north for views of the city.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is very high-tech with a futuristic design. It suits well for the couples who are ok to see each other taking shower through the glass door. The toilet is also in the room. Funny mottoes can be found everywhere - on the shampoo (2 bottles - AM & PM), do not disturb tag, soap, etc: "Designed to turn even the longest-haul traveller into a sparklingly clean and nice-smelling human being again" (on the soap). Young staff is very helpful.
At the same time the hotel is much cheaper than those right in the city center and has a nice Beatrix park nearby.
All in all it was a very pleasant experience in the place with a real Amsterdam atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ZoyaDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

You can tell the Citizen M architect got a simple mission : Revisit what a hotel is, get rid of the unnecessary stuff and focus on a few things that customers will remember and talk about.
So they made a few bold moves like having self check-in or merge the bathroom and the bedroom into one (small) room with fancy lights.
That'd be fine if they were trying to be some sort of Ryanair - cut all costs and offer super low prices. I could understand that. But this concept mixing "cool" features and super low cost things does not work for me. Clearly there are too few pluses to compensate for the long list of minuses. TripAdvisor shows the CitizenM hotel as a 4-star hotel. Even if it's in many ways different from your traditional hotel, that's pretty ludicrous. I'd give it 3 stars tops.

I don't mind the self-checking. It works well and there is someone to help if needed. When you first enter your room, the first impression is rather pleasant with modern decoration, cool lighting, big bed. However you quickly realize how tiny the room actually is. No room for a suitcase, no room to put your bathroom stuff, A/C is always on and it gets real chilly after a while. I am not sure how having the toilet sitting in the middle of the room works if you stay with someone, but that's probably not ideal.

Beside the small room, there is no parking so you'll have to pay the 3€/hour for street parking. Lunch/dinner options are very limited : some sushi-box, a couple of sandwiches and pre-cooked food. And that's pretty much it. I did not take the breakfast but it looked very limited for the price they ask.
I guess it could be an option if you need to stay in that part of the city and are tired of traditional hotels. I like how they tried to re-think the hotel concept but I'd rather go for a hotel with parking, a separate bathroom, a real restaurant, a fridge in the room, space to store my clothes,a window that opens, A/C that switch off... and I won't regret too much the individual lighting or free wifi (they seem to make a big deal out of this for some reason).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrNeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenfrancisco, Manager at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

dear DrNeko,

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

We are glad you noticed we have taken away all the unnecessary stuff from the hotel, like let's say, the little chocolate on the pillow or all those unnecessary sq. meters in the room you simply never use.

When we started citizenM many years ago we realistically knew were not creating something for everyone, we humbly accept that, as in your situation, there are people out there who prefer a more traditional hotel which is okay of course, still we are sorry we are not your cup of tea.

Although small ( 14 sq meters ) we believe everything you could need is in that room, even a desk to work on, a huge comfortable bed to rest on, a rain-steamy shower to help you come back to life after a long journey, the entertainment ( free MOD, Music, Games ) on your TV, full size mirror with American, Asian or European electric outlets to charge your mobile phone or laptop ( after all they also need to recharge after a long journey ) and of course the now a days indispensable free Wi-Fi. ( throughout the whole hotel )

On our lobby we have created light open spaces for you to work, relax, interact with other guests or colleagues or simply to read a book seated on one of our Vitra comfy sofas whilst sipping on a cocktail or a barista coffee at the time of your choice in our 24/ 7 bar for we have taken also away the unnecessary closing times, at citizenM YOU decide when you eat or drink, you can have your breakfast at 3 am or at 2 pm if you are an early bird or a late sleeper or have a cocktail at 9 pm or at 4 am, you are the one on holidays or on a business trip after all, why should a hotel decide when her guests can or should eat or drink?

Although we don't have our own parking ( I guess we couldn't have it all ) we can suggest you a a very good and safe parking place ( they are also extremely affordable by the way, already for less than 10 euro a day you can park your car there and they even give you free tram tickets and you can borrow a bike with us to move around in the city, free of charge........

We would have loved for you to experience us in a different way and like us of course but that wouldn't be realistic, nevertheless we hope you will find a hotel that matches your needs and expectations anywhere you go.

Thank you for your honest feedback.

We wish you safe travels

Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

If you are not comfortable taking a shower in a large, transparent cylindrical tube, then the CitizenM Amsterdam is not for you. But if you like to try something new, want a very comfortable bed and are not too finicky about food choices, then this will work very well. The only hiccup in my short stay was the very slow internet speed. Otherwise, it was a great experience, good breakfast and a decent salad bar for the evenings.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 678flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I were in Amsterdam for 2 nights & stayed at CitizenM. We loved it!! The concept was great and really good value for money. Our room and the hotel in general was very clean and fresh looking. Bed was massive and the shower was lovely. It was perfect for us!! I wouldn't stay in a room with just anyone else tho eg. a friend or someone as the shower/toilet cubicles were still a bit see through but maybe I'm just a prude! All in all a great experience. 5 stars!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Christina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenfrancisco, Manager at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Christina O,

thank you for choosing us and for sharing your experience.
We love that you loved us !

come back soon!
Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 371 in Amsterdam
868 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#37 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#32 of 371 in Amsterdam
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £98 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing