We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Citizen M Amsterdam”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #40 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Shetland Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Citizen M Amsterdam”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

On the positive side- good location with easy access to airport and to trams to centre. Reception staff speak good English and are extremely helpful. Public areas are quirky but pleasant.
On the negative side - room is very small no place to put stuff. You can't get out of bed at the sides, no lights next to the bed, shower is very slippery, the centre tips and is wobbly and dangerous also under the but that tips it's very dirty and it keeps dripping uncontrollably in the night. There is a gap between the bed and window which is full of dirt and my glasses (and lots of other peoples stuff ) can fall into. You can't get it out! House keeping is hopeless the bed wasn't made some days, other days we had to ask for toilet roll and one day we had no towels at all in the room. The washbasin spills water out when you turn on the tap too hard. The room is gimmicky with mood light etc but the basics don't work that well. Breakfast is good but expensive at 14E.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grannymary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,591
    1,607
    321
    90
    58
See reviews for
244
2,361
371
998
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chickster78
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights at the start of august. Hotel is located right next to Amsterdam zuid station which is 5 mins from schiphol airport on the train for around €3. The hotel has super friendly staff, is modern and made for the tech minded with self check in and a mood pad in the room to control everything. Rooms are small but plenty big enough for a city break. Beds are mega comfy and as previous reviews state you need to be 'very comfortable' with anyone you share with as shower and toilets are inside the room. Had TV with English channels, shower was amazing, shampoo, shower gel, hair dryer, desk with chair, 3 clothes hangers and no drink making facilities. However, a free drinks voucher was given on arrival which was a nice touch. Breakfast is €12 which is continental, free wifi and plenty of seating areas in the hotel lobby! Location is a little out of the centre but was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle which is only 10 mins on the number 5 tram stop located 2 min walk from the hotel, we got a GBV (tram and bus) 4 day ticket for €21. All in all I really liked this hotel but could see other people maybe finding faults on the room size, bathroom set up and location. I would definitely return.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chickster78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenfrancisco, Manager at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Chickster78,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us ( and the world ) :)
Good description of the public transport, you must be a pro! ;)
To bring town closer to you we have also complimentary bikes ( first to come first to get, not possible to reserve )
we are happy you would consider staying with us again, till then!
Safe travels
Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is not right in the city center, but there is a tram stop right across the street that gets you to all the main attractions in 5-10 minutes. It is also only a 10 minutes train ride from the airport. Being slightly away from all the hustle and bustle was a plus for us--we slept great at night because there was no street noise. The hotel also allows you to rent bikes for free, so we enjoyed a great 10 minute bike ride up to Vondelpark. The room is really spacious for Europe, and the king size bed was fantastic. Wifi worked great in the room.

My only complaint (really, everything else was fabulous) has to do with the air conditioning. It worked great the first 2 nights, but the 3rd night our room would not get below 22.5 degrees (about 75 Fahrenheit), which was really uncomfortable with the down comforter/duvet. They offered to move us to a different room, but we suffered the same problem which tells us they had the AC rigged (as a lot of hotels do nowadays to save a dime). The final result from this: they gave us a 50% discount on that 3rd night's stay. This was nice, but didn't quite make up for the sleep deprivation we suffered from the following day.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in a room with an even number (I believe facing north). There are street lights o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeye617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Amazing staff and amazing room with free wifi and movies on demand!! Myself and my boyfriend stayed for 3 nights and did not want to leave after sleeping so well in huge extra large bed....which was perfect as my boyfriend is over 6ft and we still had room to stretch out! 15/20mins away from Centraal station on the tram and they sell tram day passes (€16.50 for our 3day pass) checking in and out were both very easy processes. I would not recommend for shy couples as the toilet and shower are in the room and do not have a separate room of their own, but it makes for some relationship strengthening if nothing else!! Perfect for people who don't need extra large rooms to store 5suitcases they brought with them but rather the light travellers who can fit their suitcases under the table or in the large drawer under the bed! I can see a lot of people not liking the hotel because it's not as,spacious in the room as most but we really enjoyed it!! The food in the canteen we didn't use as we ate out for all our meals as a holiday treat something we never do at home! We really look forward to coming back and staying with citizenm again :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoife R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I liked the hotel, is a newly built style construction, high technology and it is close to the tram station. Only thing I did not like was they don't offer even a free cup of tea or coffee, everything is charged and very expensive to my taste...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If traditional hotel stays are what you are after, please go back to Google. With self check-in, touch screens, neon lights and *gasp* self service catering - this hotel does not cater for the tech-challenged.
If you are looking for a clean, semi-luxurious, modern hotel in a good location, you've arrived at the right place. It's cheap because it doesn't staff an entire ship.
In short, there are a series of rooms 5 or 6 stories up which face either Amsterdam, or the business district. The rooms have a huge comfortable bed on one end with a desk & chair. There is then a shower and toilet in pod like sections dotted around the room. The finish is solid and the build quality is made to last.
I would most certainly come here again, and would actively seek out other CitizenM properties around the world on my travels.

Room Tip: Pick a room high up and facing north for views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is very high-tech with a futuristic design. It suits well for the couples who are ok to see each other taking shower through the glass door. The toilet is also in the room. Funny mottoes can be found everywhere - on the shampoo (2 bottles - AM & PM), do not disturb tag, soap, etc: "Designed to turn even the longest-haul traveller into a sparklingly clean and nice-smelling human being again" (on the soap). Young staff is very helpful.
At the same time the hotel is much cheaper than those right in the city center and has a nice Beatrix park nearby.
All in all it was a very pleasant experience in the place with a real Amsterdam atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoyaDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#41 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing