We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
citizenM Amsterdam
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,182)
Filter reviews
5,182 results
Traveller rating
2,862
1,782
367
104
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,862
1,782
367
104
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscitizen mfree moviesmood lightingshower and toiletmood padremote controlzuid stationtram stopcity centrerooms are smallhuge bedfrosted glassgreat concepton demandhour barfunky hotelnumber tram
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,784 - 1,789 of 5,182 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Excellent location 10 mins from the airport, and just mins from the station, and across the road from the main tram line into town. This was a new experience for us as seasoned Amsterdam visitors. The service was superb, with all the staff friendly and extremely helpful. We loved the pod like room, which had everything that we needed, and the bed was seriously comfortable.
We will definitely stay here again, and have recommended to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank family_jewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Found the hotel with no problem. Absolutely loved the decor there were so many interesting things to look at. IMacs where available to use and the free WiFi was reliable and fast. Staff where really friendly and helpful. The shower was perfect and the bed.....wow!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nessanessa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenfrancisco, Manager at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

dear Nessanessa1,

don't you just love the bed? it is huuuuge,comfy, soft and zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz..........

Hope to welcome you again soon!

:)

Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

If you want to be somewhere different, come here and be part of the citizenM culture. Enjoyed the style, service, rooms and communal sitting areas.Good tram links to city centre and short train journey to airport.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenfrancisco, Manager at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Oliver W,

thank you for staying with us whilst in Amsterdam, for your review and for inviting everyone to be part of the citizenM culture!
:)

We hope to see you again soon and wish you safe travels.

Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

As other reviewers have noted, this is a "funky", modern fun hotel and we are happy with our choice of hotels for our 3-night, 4-day stay in Amsterdam. Based on TA reviews we chose a high floor facing away from the street - a good choice. You should note that, because of the set up of the rooms, no room will have a view (there's nothing to look at anyway). The rooms are very small BUT have a large bed and very unique setup. We had three suitcases and there was storage (under the bed) for only two. Travellers with loads of luggage may be challenged a bit.
We were in Amsterdam on a hot, sunny weekend and so everyone was "out and about". That meant that the streetcar that we took to go downtown and to the museum area (#5 streetcar) was crowded every single trip. We had also tentatively booked a downtown 5-star hotel and we were initially questioning our judgement in choosing the Citizen M after the first few 20-minute trolly rides to the heart of the city. In the end the Citizen M was the "right choice" - it is less than half the price of the other hotel and it was in a more relaxing "green" part of the city. On our trip, downtown was hot, crowded and noisey - it was nice to escape to the Citizen M's part of town. Across the street, there is a large, picturesque park. The street car stop is at the side of the hotel and the train station is a 5-minute walk. The airport is one stop away on the train and the trip costs about 3 euros.
Tips:
-Buy the breakfast buffet up front when you check in (12 euros - well worth it and available 24/7. Individual food items are expensive.
- take the streetcar to travel around and buy an appropriately long transit pass . Ours was 48 hours and was timed from the first trip. You can buy the bus passes at a kiosk in the train station.
-Buy attractions' tickets from the official tourist office at airport or outside Central Station downtown. These advance tickets help you avoid line-ups and sometimes include a small discount.
- Take time to explore the area around the Citizen M. There are stores and restaurants on Beethovenstraat, and Beatrix park is very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kgelbeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I read a lot about citizenM before I booked the two-night stay there in late May. It lived up to my exceptions in all aspects. Certainly I had seen heaps of pictures about it, but when I actually got there, I was still amused by the short funny quotes that were everywhere. Try to explore everything in the room a little bit and you'll find it full of surprises :)

The room was not big but everything was put to good use. Love the super comfy king size bed! Wi-fi and video on demand are both free.

The hotel is not located in the city centre. The tram stop is one-minute walk away and it took about 20-25 minutes to get to the city centre. Or you can walk five minutes to Zuid station and take the metro there. I don't know until what time the tram runs but could imagine when you do have a late night out, at some point you'd have to worry about how to get back. The bright side is that you are away from the crowd, or all those dodgy places in the city centre you'd rather stay away from. The hotel does have a 24-hour canteen / bar where you can have some late night snack, a couple of drinks (they offer one free drink per stay) and even make some new friends.

Check in / out processes were hassle-free. Got a citizen card to take to the next citizenM hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aasou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews