We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth coming back!!!!!!”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #38 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We had a lovely experience at the citizen M. The interior decoration was absolutely gorgeous, very modern. The staff was very polite and friendly and the food was also very delicious, a little expensive, but what can you expect in a hotel like this. The room was very small but just stunning: the domotica was amazing, everything's remote controlled.
The bed was exactly what we hoped it would be: BIG.
And with the trams you are in the centre in about 5 to 10 minutes.
Overall we loved our stay in the citizen M Amsterdam and the city was also wonderful of course.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyralicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,808)
There are newer reviews for citizenM Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,341 - 3,347 of 4,808 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2009

Having seen the hotel on the internet I was really curious to see what it would be like. We had just stayed in a pretty traditional hotel in Brussels and were looking forward to the citizenM experience.
On arrival staff were 'extremely helpful'. It is a self checking in process but the staff talk you through it if you are stuck. The rooms are fabulous. Not much space for bags but once you get in and get sorted you manage. Bed is enormous and really comfortable. Blinds and lights are all controlled by remote. If you are with someone you know intimately or extremely well the toilet is fine. Shower is great once you get the hang of it.
The only downfall was how far out it was, but knew this when we booked it. It took a bit of walking to get to the centre but you could walk through Vondle park which was nice. The tram takes you all the way down to the hotel from the centre and you can get a pass if you choose to. Did not use hotel for breakfast or any other purpose than sleeping in so unable to comment there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Great hotel, clean and good design. Excelent vaue for money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We booked our stay online for €71 per night for three nights and had great fun, We loved the CitizenM concept, particularly the room remote, the themed wake-up alarms (the countryside theme was mellow), and free on-demand movies. I can't comment on the catering as we didnt try the food, preferring to go into town for a pancake!
The bed is HUGE and comfy. If you are planning a romantic break, his hotel is a good choice.

Transport tip - tram line 5 leaves every 10 mins(direction - 'centraal' to go into town, and 'A'veen Binnenhof' to get back to the hotel - the stop is called Princes Irenestraat) is outside the hotel. If you are coming by train from Schiphol Airport get off at $the Amsterdam Zuid station - the first stop, and take the tram - direction towards Centraal, its only one stop on but easier than walking with your case).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrickBikkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We really loved this hotel. The concept is excellent, and some of the small touches and attention to detail really made the hotel almost one of the highlights of our trip. Granted, there are a few downsides, but overall they were not that bad (given the length of our stay - 3 nights).

The design elements of the hotel are great, the big bed was obviously really nice, as well as the gadgets in the bedroom (lights etc) all being centrally controlled. If i had to complain the only thing would be that the blinds were a bit tempremental, and the roller screen was very loud when operated. The communal areas of the hotel were really great though, usually one can feel uncomfortable hanging around in public areas in a hotel, but here we actually wanted to spend time in them. There is TV to watch and numerous books to flick though. The free internet downstairs was great too, although we didn't need it because of the free wireless in the room .

The food available 24 hours a day wasn't that exciting, pretty standard sandwitch bar stuff, but the breakfasts were ok... if a little expensive, but the fact that it was available at 1am after a late arrival made up for it.

In the rooms the lack of cupboard space was the only real downside, however only being there for 3 nights and on leisure it didn't really matter. We loved the unique touches, own brand toileteries, malik the party citizen on our bed, and the self service check in/out.

Overall we really enjoyed staying here, it was something different from a standard hotel and we'll definitely be looking out for hotels that add something extra to a trip in the way that this one did.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplecat1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Fun rooms (the width of a double bed), but not for more than one night. The high-tech room is fun, again for one night. I paid over 100.00 euro and find that overcharged for the minimum service that is being offered. It feels like staying in a high-tech youth hotel. But when you pay over 100.00 per night there are better options. Especially the restaurant is a huge bummer. All is pre-packed, you take what you want in the freezer, heath it up yourself if you want to, pay and sit on a bar stool that 's available. The food is too expensive for the quality that's being offered. And almost 5.00 euro for a coffee, that's just too much. No spaces what so ever where you can relax. All is located in the hall where the 'ambiance' is that of an expensive youth hostel. If I would have paid less than 80.00 euro, I could recommend this hotel. But it's just too expensive. Oh yes, no parking spots, so I paid over 20.00 euro for a parking spot right across the hotel. And since I had to buy a "chip-card" to do so, I had to pay it cash, it can't be put on the room. That adds up to the total of the hotel room. With the food (average sushi and coffee) and parking, I paid over 150.00 euro. And that's unacceptable for the high-tech youth hostel feel they offer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktor9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Super Hotel, lovely staff, don't hesitate go and visit:))))

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss-zwatanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 371 in Amsterdam
868 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#37 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,374 reviews
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#32 of 371 in Amsterdam
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £98 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing