We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Design and comfort...crazy place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #39 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Design and comfort...crazy place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

This Hotel was highly recommended by a colleague of mine.
so i decided to stay there and...wow.

This is amazing.
the whole concept is so special, so new, it feels like you are entering the next century.... really. If this is the way Hotels will look like in the near future, well go for it, I am ready.

Only some highlights:
- No bathroom. you got two glastubes in every room, one is the shower (clear glas) the other one is the toilet (frosted glass).
- Bed. it´s huge. it´s comfortabel. it´s right in front of the window, which is as big as the bed and high as the room.
- moods and themes. you can chosse the colour of the lights inside the room...moods or themes... by simply clicking on the touch screen remote control. pretty cool. lights change from blue to red to green...just anything you like.
- Furniture. If you are into designer furniture... take this hotel.... whatever you wanna see, they got it... eams, jacobsen, le corbusier... they are all there and this is not like putting all this stuff together and make it look expensive... someone really thought about it and it just looks exactly the way it has to be. great.

So...check it out.... this place rocks...

ah... forgot something:
Location.... pretty close to the RAI and the WTC and to the next train station, makes this hotel even a great place for Tourist and not only for business travellers...

parking... enough parking space all around the hotel... Amsterdam offers a day parking ticket for 16€ which is alright... you can try to park at the RAI for free (if there is no exhibition going on) and take the Tram to get to the Hotel, but you have to be a lil bit smart when leaving the parking garage again... anyhow, guess you can make it...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,532
    1,562
    319
    86
    58
See reviews for
235
2,300
368
969
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

I stayed here by accident rather than design, but I'm very glad that I did. After flying into Amsterdam late one weekday evening, I found myself locked out of my accommodations by an overzealous painter. Needing somewhere to stay, and having heard about citizenM previously, I was impressed by managing to get a room for that night for under one hundred euro.

Check-in was painless and self service, and a nice feature was that the system offered me a number of rooms to choose from. A "pod" concept had left me worried I'd be staying in a glorified broom-cupboard in a dingy youth hostel, but I was pleasantly surprised. Common areas were finished to a high standard and were clean, nicely designed and well kept.

The room itself was of a good size: hanging area and safe inside the entrance, leading to a wet area with monsoon rainforest shower and lavatory in glass tubes with sliding doors (lavatory glass frosted), a large sink (shower and sink with complimentary toiletries), mirror with plugs, storage space and good lights, and a curtain that could be pulled over to separate washing areas from sleeping areas.

The bed was absolutely huge and reached to the window, with a television on the wall over it. The entire pod was controlled from a single touch pad remote - mood lighting (including several pre-selected moods which controlled lights and background music), television, temperature and blinds. A wide range of television stations, on-demand and rolling films were also available for free.

Peckish, I visited the ground floor bar and canteen. A range of sushi, snacks and salads were available for purchase - sterile and pre-packaged but, given the time of day, they served to fill a hungry stomach.

The bed was exceptionally comfortable, and the shower brisk and refreshing. A nice touch in the morning was the choice of two shower-gels - one for the morning person and one for the more late-night among us. Check-out in the morning was equally painless and self-powered, and a nice touch was that the system emailed me my invoice to save on paper.

In terms of location, it's something of an exaggeration to call this "Amsterdam city" - it's in the WTC business district and a 20 - 25 minute tram ride into the city centre. However, it's a nice neighbourhood and close to the Zuid/WTC train station with good connections to the airport and onward destinations as well as a range of bus and metro options.

An excellent place to rest my head, I enjoyed my stay. I wouldn't necessarily recommend it to anyone in need of large amounts of wardrobe or stowage space, and the fact that the lavatory is in the room (albeit in its own frosted glass compartment) might put some off - for a brief stay, it was more than adequate for what I needed - comfortable, well designed, well serviced, but not overstuffed with unnecessary hotel services I wouldn't use or want to pay for. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

We only stayed here for one night, but it was a very pleasant experience. The thing I like best is the lobby which is filled with great design furniture by Vitra. The lobby doubles as a great espresso bar and a iMac internet access point. The rooms are pleasant as well, having a very large bed, a big TV and nice, moody lightning. The cylinders with the shower and the toilet are cleverly made. Overall I think this really is a great concept.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pim_RTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

We had a lovely experience at the citizen M. The interior decoration was absolutely gorgeous, very modern. The staff was very polite and friendly and the food was also very delicious, a little expensive, but what can you expect in a hotel like this. The room was very small but just stunning: the domotica was amazing, everything's remote controlled.
The bed was exactly what we hoped it would be: BIG.
And with the trams you are in the centre in about 5 to 10 minutes.
Overall we loved our stay in the citizen M Amsterdam and the city was also wonderful of course.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyralicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

Having seen the hotel on the internet I was really curious to see what it would be like. We had just stayed in a pretty traditional hotel in Brussels and were looking forward to the citizenM experience.
On arrival staff were 'extremely helpful'. It is a self checking in process but the staff talk you through it if you are stuck. The rooms are fabulous. Not much space for bags but once you get in and get sorted you manage. Bed is enormous and really comfortable. Blinds and lights are all controlled by remote. If you are with someone you know intimately or extremely well the toilet is fine. Shower is great once you get the hang of it.
The only downfall was how far out it was, but knew this when we booked it. It took a bit of walking to get to the centre but you could walk through Vondle park which was nice. The tram takes you all the way down to the hotel from the centre and you can get a pass if you choose to. Did not use hotel for breakfast or any other purpose than sleeping in so unable to comment there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

Great hotel, clean and good design. Excelent vaue for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

We booked our stay online for €71 per night for three nights and had great fun, We loved the CitizenM concept, particularly the room remote, the themed wake-up alarms (the countryside theme was mellow), and free on-demand movies. I can't comment on the catering as we didnt try the food, preferring to go into town for a pancake!
The bed is HUGE and comfy. If you are planning a romantic break, his hotel is a good choice.

Transport tip - tram line 5 leaves every 10 mins(direction - 'centraal' to go into town, and 'A'veen Binnenhof' to get back to the hotel - the stop is called Princes Irenestraat) is outside the hotel. If you are coming by train from Schiphol Airport get off at $the Amsterdam Zuid station - the first stop, and take the tram - direction towards Centraal, its only one stop on but easier than walking with your case).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrickBikkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#38 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing