We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #46 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed for two nights this month whist we were in Amsterdam on a mini-break and visiting friends.
The hotel was rather good. We arrived in a bit of a rush as we were running late to get a to a bicycle tour that we booked, making matters more complicated was the fact that we had forgotten the map to the meeting point! The reception helped out by printing one off for us and also giving us one of their free maps (very very basic – they have ones for sale there but you are better off stopping at the tourist information centre in the airport and buying one there along with combined train and tram tickets!), along with storing our luggage – did make me wondering when they said that you can’t check in yet as it is too early, however for 19.95 they can . . . and I work in hotels!!
The room was as it is on the website, maybe slightly smaller and you definitely have to know and like the person you are sharing the room with . . . .
The lounge areas where great and you felt really comfortable sitting there for drinks or a bite to eat, the books were entertaining, and the free wifi was a bonus.
Mood pad was fun for about 5 minutes then its battery would die and you had to recharge.
My only niggle would be is that we pre-paid for breakfast and this was fine (yoghurt and muesli with a piece of fruit, croissant and a juice), however I do expect a hot beverage to be part of my breakfast, so was rather surprised to have to pay for this, especially considering the way it was explained to us, and the fact that I now checked, and this is meant to be included . . . . oh well.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelexpertAmsterdam, social media citizen at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2010

Hi “Mshells”,

Glad you had a good stay and thanks for sharing it here on TripAdvisor.

Replying on some of your concerns:
Check-in time is 2PM however, upon availability, is our policy to apply 19.95 EUR for an early check-in. Extra HK personnel is needed to clean rooms to be available at an earlier time. But we are not strict, arriving a little while before, let’s say 1 or 2 hours, you may check-in free of charge. We think it’s fair to apply the charge for citizens who need to check-in early. Wishing to wait for a check-in, we store your luggage safely and there is plenty of space in the lobby to wait and relax, there is free wi-fi and free computers, canteenM with quality food and drinks ready available, many LCD tvs…

We are working to improve battery life of the Moodpad, which can be charged next to the bed.

I apologize if was any miscommunication, hot beverage is included in the breakfast special. Prepared by the Ambassadors, whom are also baristas, you can have a great espresso, cappuccino, latte, hot chocolate or tea. Seeing you again at citizenM, feel free to contact me directly and I’ll make sure to compensate the wrong charge of the hot beverage.

All the best,
citizenDiego
citizenDiego@citizenM.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,355 - 3,361 of 5,030 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2010

This hotel is one of a kind. There is nothing else like this place. The room was great, I loved the mood pad and all the different options that were available to us. The bar and store were great to have so you didn't have to leave the hotel after a long day of walking around the city.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessta7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

This hotel is well thought out for those who simply want somewhere to rest their head and sleep whilst on a short break (as we were) The rooms are functional and packed with technology and space saving design to allow for a comfortable stay. The quirky shower and toilet designs are unusual but add to the experience. Everything can be done through the easy to use computers at reception.

Parking in the streets nearby is expensive. The Olympic Stadium nearby (about a mile) offers underground parking and two 1 hour tickets (for up to 2) for the tram into amsterdam. This allows you to get into the city and out again on the 16 or 24 tram. Cost is 6 euros per day, well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerandAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We spend in CitizenM 4 days. It was really wonderful time.
Location of the hotel is very good. In the quiet area, close to the park. Tram nr 5 will take you to the Dam square or to the museums. Transport from the airport takes 8 minutes (to Zuid Station).
Rooms are rather small (there's no place for the clothes) but comfortable. The huge bed, shower and toilet in the fluorescent tubes. No privacy in the room so you have to go there with person who you know really good :)
You have to use the pilot if you want to switch on or switch off tv, light, or to curtain.
Free wifi, lots of films in the room, tasty breakfast, young, cheerful and helpful service and you don't need more.
Well design and friendly hotel!!! The best choice in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kejt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Seriously, the bed IS fantastic!! LOVE the bed. Best sleep ever, which was sorely needed for those long days and nights out in Amsterdam.

Very cool hotel experience with the cool pod like rooms with the pod shower and the pod toilet - all of which, very clean. Also watched a bunch of free movies from a pretty extensive list of movies late at night. Huge selection of tv channels (english or otherwise). Moodpad was kind of fun to play around, with the color lights, but the idea gets old pretty quickly. Still, it does the job of being able to control everything in the room pretty much from one control. Free wifi in the rooms, as well as the free computers in the lobby when I needed to print things out. Staff was helpful but not in your face, and the lobby has all sorts of cool designer chairs and furniture and a lot of designer books should you ever get bored in Amsterdam (which is doubtful, but just in case, I guess!)

Location is a bit further away, but very easy access to the tram or the bus or the metro (or if you rent a bike, you could bike it). But also good, because it's pretty quiet as well.

For the price it's pretty great compared with some other hotels in Amsterdam that may be closer to the city centre, but would be much smaller. And nothing beats that huge bed.

All in all, exactly what it appears to be - a very cool designy looking hotel. So, not for those who are looking for a homey personal hotel experience, because it is rather impersonal, but a great comfortable hotel otherwise.

One con: the Moodpad seems to need constant recharging. I leave it out for 10 minutes, it already is a little low on battery and has trouble connecting to the room, so I need to return it to the dock to use it. Quite annoying when you're using it as a remote for the TV and having to use it from the dock.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaver2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I don't know what to say rather than "wow" for Citizen M Hotel... It's stylish, compact, trendy and definitely a top value... You may enjoy your room in which lights change according to your activity or theme, taste great food ranging from croissant to sushi at cafe zone, relax at stylish sofas by reading design mags or get informed about the city by using Mac Computers without a charge. I'd definitely recommend it to couples, the ones travelling with friends & solo travellers. The only thing that would be better is that it could be closer to city...but you may reach to the hotel via Tram no:5 anytime from the city center...so overall two thumbs up! :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bengu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

stayed here in june 2010 with my gf for a couple of nights the rooms were very comfortable with king size beds and very nice interior every room gets a moodpad to control heating and lightin, tv etc the staff were very helpful the location isnt close to the red light but you can get a no5 tram tat brings you up in a few mins overall id recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublin17lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#32 of 375 in Amsterdam
925 reviews
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#33 of 375 in Amsterdam
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £84 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing