We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but a little far from the city”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #40 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place but a little far from the city”
Reviewed 19 July 2010

To all people, planning to travel to Amsterdam... CitizenM is a brilliant hotel.. Loved the bed specially n the mood pad they have.. However, the idea of havong the wash basin almost next to my bed was not too pleasing.. Especially in the mornings..

All in all, an impressive layout.. It deserves to be called as the Trendiest Hotel for the use of technology in every sphere possible.

Last point - The place is based outside the main city of Amsterdam.. Though, this should not discourage those who seek ambience.. As the place is very accesible through trams.. So it is well connected..

Hope this review helps you.. I had a great time and considered it important to pass on the word..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarun_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,591
    1,607
    321
    90
    58
See reviews for
244
2,361
371
998
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Rooms are smallish but well designed and equipped, clean and comfortable. Very good lobby / lounge area for relaxing or working. Brilliant service from friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dj59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petah Tikva
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

i`v been to the CitizenM hotel for 3 days, its been a wonderfull expirience, the Tram #5 to DAM Square is less then a minute walk. the room itself has AC which is very important, and the showers are simply cool and funny, i had a great time, the staff was very kind and very polite, giving us a true home feeling. i defently recommend this hotel by all means. do notice the room is kinda small (but very fullfilling) and theres a "secret" compartment under the bed you can store 2 large suitcases.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oranzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Same as the Airport M, very cool, great staff, functional rooms , mood box wouldnt turn the TV down...
Good location on the No 5 tram route and near Zuid Station

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extracover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

I chose this hotel as it was very close to the airport. I was just looking for somewhere to spend one night before my early morning flight the next day. I was also at the end of my travels, sick, and all I wanted to do was stay in my room all day. After I had checked in, I entered my hotel room and was just blown away. This is one funky hotel room! A king sized bed!! A remote control to adjust the blinds (view of the runway wasn't that great), the coloured mood lighting, and of course, the TV (with heaps of movies to choose from!). Down at the lobby was a bar/snack area with light food (mainly japanese style) and drinks. Definitely a great place to unwind before embarking on a long-haul flight.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Such a COOL hotel. Small rooms would be the only drawback but everything else is just amazing. very clean, good location, free films on demand, most comfortable bed, awesome shower and best of all a great budget (79euros per night). Not to mention the whole branding of the hotel is just cool and hip. I stayed in this hotel after the very satisfying stay in CitizenM Amsterdam Airport Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innocent_Criminal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east midlands
Level Contributor
297 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Stayed for three very hot nights whilst visiting relatives. We were bowled over by first impressions from the self-service check in through to the distinctly different room. We even came to terms with the glass tubes containing the shower and the loo, the latter, perhaps with a nod in the direction of convention, being discreetly cloaked in frosted glass. The bed was spectacular in taking up one end of the entire room and in addition tp offering space it was comfortable. The mechanics of the room were operated via a 'mood' console which unfortunately for us was defective and this created a problem when it came to turning off the flat screen above the bed; so two nights disrupted sleep which particuarly agitated my wife. The staff were helpful but the first attempt at rectifying the problem was unsuccessfully done at a distance by computer and the second night attempt at contacting the service staff was unsuccessful. So although we were generally very impressed and the staff we dealt with were very helpful, we were left questioning the immediacy of the service. Facilities at the hotel were fine and very much consistent with its general ambience; that is there were plenty of free access macs, a slightly plastic self-service buffet and quite generous sitting areas. The location isn't quaint as you might expect within the canal ring but it is relatively covenient being within walking distance of the Zuid station[one stop from Schipol] and on the 5 tram route which goes into the centre. It is at the end of the upmarket Beethoven Straat which has plenty of bars and restaurants and about a 30 minute walk from the Leidseplein and the museums, not much further to Dam Square and the area around the Central Station. So a generally positive experience but do be prepared to battle with the technology and don't be too startled by its idiosyncracies.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancashireexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#41 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing