We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect City Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #31 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect City Break”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Well, what can I say, Monday morning 6th August arrive at airport for a 4 night (5 day) stay in Amsterdam. Took the train one stop to Lelylaan and then a 5 minute walk to the Westcord Fashion Hotel. Made very welcome at reception and was extremely pleased to have room already available despite the early arrival. Armed with information sheets and local map we headed off to our room (6th floor). The room overlooked the gardens (rather than the road) and, although we were close to the lift, it was extremely quiet. The room was very clean. As a married couple we had no problems with the see-thru shower/bathroom door, but can appreciate this may be a problem for others. Lovely walk-in shower and bath with a separate toilet. Was surprised to see that an iron and ironing board were also provided together with the usual toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities, safe and an extremely large widescreen tv. Luckily we had breakfast included (usual cost Euros 18 per person), and, because we had missed breakfast on the Monday morning, we were presented with a discount meal voucher to use in the restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was plentiful, and always replenished so we never missed out on anything or had to wait around. We did not have lunch/dinner in the restaurant but we did visit the Skyy bar which was very relaxing with lovely views. We used the swimming pool which was never crowded and the towels are provided free of charge. We did not have lunch/dinner in the rest We purchased a 5 day tram pass which was excellent value as the hotel is situated outside of Leidseplein or the Central, and took either the No. 1 of 17 from Surinamplein (5 min walk from the hotel and much easier than the tram stop recommended on the hotel information sheet). For Anne Frank House you do need to get the 17. Hopping on and off the trams was a doddle even for middle agers like us (in our 50's). Vondelpark is about 10 mins walk away and is wonderful for just walking/sitting watching the world go by. You can also cycle thru to Leidseplein with the locals. The staff at the hotel were all extremely polite and nothing was too much trouble for them, they even looked after our bags on departure as our flight was not until later in the day. Would definitely stay here again. The only downside to our entire stay was on the return home, the information centre at Lelyaan St did not sell train tickets and would also not give us change for the ticket machine (as it does not take notes), tried using a credit card but this did not work, eventually went outside, waited for a taxi and got some change. Ensure you have plenty of change for ticket machines. Loved Amsterdam, the people and especially the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor the better and overlook garden rather than street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Squirrelkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn_Veken, Front Office Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Squirrelkins,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review of your stay in our hotel! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much! Your comments will be shared with our entire team, who I am sure will take great pride in reading them!

It was a pleasure heving you as our guests, and I hope for your next visit to Amsterdam you will choose the Westcord Fashion Hotel again!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Front Office Manager
Westcord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,211
    1,416
    220
    51
    27
See reviews for
388
2,077
137
431
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

Arrived here on the 6th of August after arriving from the airport early in the morning, happy to find our room was ready early! Check in girl was a little shy but maybe because I was tired she seemed abit off! Our room was lovely and clean apart from a few scuff marks! Was given a info sheet and a map which was handy! Reception also sold tram passes which was very handy! Top tip exit the reception and turn right down towards surinamplein much more straight forward than the stop they suggest! Also don't bother getting a tram from lelylaan it's a nice 5 min walk to the hotel! Lovely hotel and base to explore the city! Right near vondelpark and good connections to the airport! Would highly reccomend

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn_Veken, Front Office Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Rockalola,

thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel! It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us so much!

It was our pleasure having you as our guest, and I hope you will choose the Westcord Fashion Hotel again on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Front Office Manager
Westcord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

If you fancy a well priced, modern hotel that is slightly out of the way and away from the noise this is definately the hotel for you! Stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Is a 5 min walk to the train station (saving around £30 on a taxi), 5 min walk to the trams (no's 1&17) and away from the noise of the centre. Very clean, with excellent food, facilities and and bars. Little pricey on the breakfast but we paid for a 3 day transport ticket that allows you to go anywhere within Amsterdam, and then went into the centre for brunch. Alternatively you can hire a bike and ride through Vondel park to the centre with the locals.
Would definitely stay again if we returned to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn_Veken, Front Office Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Ian C,

Thank you for staying in our hotel. I am happy to read that you had such a wonderful stay in our hotel and that you thoroughly recommend the Westcord Fashion Hotel!

I would like to share your tip about the Vondelpark with our guests, indeed it is a lovely park and makes for a wonderful trip to Leidseplein or the Museumsquare!

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor, and I hope we may welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Front Office Manager
Westcord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

A clean and modern hotel very close to the tram stop and very easy to get to from the airport. (Take the train to Leylaan from platform 3 - around €5.70 return. Leylaan is the first stop and takes about 10 minutes. At Leylaan go down the stairs and catch the tram 1 to Surinamplein, which is the second stop. After the first stop, look out of the right hand windows for some pale blue flags. This is the hotel. Get off at the next stop past the flags, cross the road to the right (unless you want to tackle steps with your luggage!) and head back to the flags, around a 4 minute walk. The tram costs €2.70 for a one hour ticket or €7.20 for 24 hrs and you can use this on the night bus also, although the night bus (after 12.30 a.m.) will drop you a good 20 minute walk from the hotel.)

The hotel is exactly as it is in the photographs. The staff were very polite and helpful, the room was clean and tidy and quiet. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room, along with an iron and hairdryer, and a vending mini bar. We upgraded to a "Spoil Me" package for €35 as we needed a late checkout, and this included a 3pm checkout, fruit and chocolates in the room every day, luxury toiletries, dressing gowns and flip flops, and two free cocktail vouchers.

Breakfast was buffet style, continental and cooked, which was all nicely laid out and looked appetising.

You can also hire bikes and scooters from the hotel which makes travelling around very easy.

All in all a very nice hotel and the mannequins aren't at all as freaky as they might look in the photos! Would definitely go back to this hotel, (it was cheaper to book the flight and B&B at the hotel through Easyholidays than it was just to book the flight) and stay a bit longer to have a treatment or two at the Spa!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnywizznbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn_Veken, Front Office Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Jonnywizznbee,

I was delighted to read your review of your stay in our hotel! We aim to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests, and I am happy to read that in your case we succeeded!

Your comments are highly appreciated, and I will share your review with our entire team!

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Westcord Fashion Hotel on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Front Office Manager
Westcord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I have just returned from a weekend stay at the Westcord Fashion hotel and thoroughly recommend it.

The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated.

We arrived early in the morning and stopped at the hotel with the intention of just dropping our bags off until we could check but the staff let us check in early and were all extremely friendly and helpful.

The food in the restaurant was really nice and not much more expensive for food and drinks than central amsterdam, The Skyy vodka bar is a must too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bantamfan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn_Veken, Front Office Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Bantamfan84,

It was with great pleasure that I read your review! We continually strive to meet and even exceed the expectations of our guestst, and I am happy to read that in your case we succeeded!

We understand the convenience of being able to check-in early, so indeed we will always do our best to accomodate our early-arriving guests. I will be sure to share your appreciation of our staff and Skyybar with the entire team!

Thank you for choosing the Westcord Fashion Hotel for your stay in Amsterdam, and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next stay in Amsterdam!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The hotel is quite new, clean and with a good size modern room. I do not know whether we had no neighbours or the walls were thick enough but it was very quiet in our room (i hope it is due to the first reason). In turn, I do not understand the name "fashion hotel" as there is nothing about fashion in this hotel except for mannequins in the main hall - rooms are just normal modern rooms.

I definitely did not like glass door to the bathroom - it was auwful and I do not find it romantic at all. If you want someone to see you taking a shower you just simply take this shower with him/her or leave the door open. I probably do not need to mention that not only couples come to this hotel - also just friends or let's say parents with teen children or whoever else who does not to be seen taking a shower (or shaving legs!) when someone is watching.
Another thing is a toilet which is separate (fortunately with no transparent door...) and there is no handbasin.
There is also a restaurant in the hotel, but the prices are far to high.


about the location of the hotel - it is not in the city center, that is why you get a nice hotel room for the price of dodgy hostel room in the city center, so if you pay half of the price of the hotel in city center, do not be cheeky and do not complain that you have to spend 10minutes on the tram (there are two tram lines every few minutes). It is very easy to find this hotel as you just have to go along the main road - all you need to do is to print a map and note the tram stop - I think that if someone is not able to do this, he/she should stay at home and travel only to a local shop and back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn_Veken, Front Office Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Me137,

thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay in the Westcord Fashion Hotel! We really appreciate it when our guests share their experiences with us.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciate the value offered!

With regards to the see-through bathroom doors, I can inform you that we also feature a large number of rooms with frosted glass doors for guests who feel more comfortable with that.

It was a pleasure having you as our guests, and I hope you will choose our hotel again for your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Upon arrival we immediately could check-in. We booked a family room and got the biggest roof top room with a splendid view over the Amsterdam area! The hotel is very modern with a "lounge" touch we very much liked! Also the rooms were very modern and even the bathroom was great, because you could take a shower while overlooking Amsterdam (there was a window in the wall between the bathroom and the room)! Marvelous!

There was enough parking space in the area to park the car. Next to the hotel there is a tram stop and the tram goes directly to the city center.

The only remark I would like to make, is that we had to climb the stair all the way to the entrance door, while there used to be an entrance door on the main grounds. It is not that handy when you have luggage to carry around, because you have to drag it all the way on those stairs.

But otherwise: wonderful modern hotel. Definitley a winner!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn_Veken, Front Office Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Mich B,

I was delighted to read the review you wrote of your experience in our hotel! We strive to exceed the expectations of our guests, and I am happy to know that in your case we succeeded!

I do apologize for the fact that you had to carry your bags up the stairs. Indeed there is an entrance on the street level down the stairs, from which you can take an elevator to reception.
For security reasons this door can only be opened with a guest keycard, but arriving guests can of course also use it by ringing the doorbell. I will see to it that this is made clearer!

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
2.6 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
1.9 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 367 in Amsterdam
4,703 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 367 in Amsterdam
831 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashion Hotel Amsterdam (4-stars) is situated opposite the World Fashion Centre, within ring road A10 of Amsterdam. It has a fantastic location; Leidseplein is within a 10 minute tram ride, Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam RAI are also 10 minutes from the hotel by car and the Vondelpark is only a 5 minute walk away. This makes the hotel suitable for a business stay, but also weekend break to Amsterdam. Fashion Hotel in Amsterdam has 260 spacious modern design rooms with free WIFI internet. After a visit to Fashion’s Restaurant and Bar, with adjacent terrace, you can drink cocktails in the stylish SKYY Bar on the 10th floor. It has a great view over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing