We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #31 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reasonable for the price!”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My partner and i stayed here for 2 nights at the end of august. Hotel is very modern, rooms are clean and service was average. The hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre but the nearest tram stop is 5 minutes walk away and it will take approx 10 mins to get into the centre. Overall, our stay here was average.....not the best hotel i've stayed in but it served a purpose for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Chloe N,
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadisor. It's nice to read that you enjoyed your stay! Your recommendations are very valuable.
I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again as our guest!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,144
    1,371
    209
    50
    26
See reviews for
362
2,017
125
426
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed during bank holiday August12. Hotel clean and nice, but few concerns: ac was not working in the room and someone from hotel staff purchased heiniken on our room acount-thankfully we were not charged for that after explanation, but still a concern- make sure you keep an eye on your drinks purchases frim the room machine. Took 21min by tram to the centraal station, not bad, but next time would choose a hotel closer to city. Overall ok for the value of money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnela6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear arnela6,
I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words, and also for pointing out in which areas we could make improvements! Your comments are therefore highly appreciated and of great value!
It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
Genaral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We booked here for a 3 night short break after finding what seemed to be a good deal on this hotel with flights included. We were also aware that this wasnt a particularly central hotel, but thought that for the price, we would manage. After a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport (which cost 35 euros unbelievably!!), we arrived at the hotel. Check in was fine and we were directed to our room. There are bizarre manequins dotted around the place wearing, ironically, very unfashionable clothes!! Anyway, the room seemed fine at first glance, however, chipped and stained furniture and a bloodstained sheet were not a pleasant find. The bathroom as mentioned by previous reviewers, is quite bizarre with a see through door, however not really a problem for us. The size of the room overall is good and the shower/bath were good also. The pillows have to be the worst Ive ever experienced and when I asked if there were any different ones at reception, the lady seemed shocked at my request...and there were no other pillows. I don't think I got more than 3 hrs sleep each night. Theres a 10 minute walk followed by a 20 minute tram ride to central amsterdam, but I suppose this is reflected in the price of the hotel. Overall I would say this hotel is OK. Nothing special and next time I would definitely pay the extra and stay somewhere else. I am genuinley surprised at how positive most of the reviews are...a bit of a disappointment for us.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisSuarez07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear LuisSuarez7,
Thank you for posting this review on Tripadvisor.
Your comments are of great importance and will help us in our efforts to continuously improve the standards you may expect from us. Therefore your remarks are very much appreciated. I will share your feedback with my team.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam.
Kindest regards,
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This hotel is well worth a visit if you are going to Amsterdam for a weekend. It is only 1 train stop and 2 tram stops from the Airport (20 mins max from airport to hotel) and when heading into the centre of Amsterdam it only takes 10/15 mins by tram. it is a very new modern hotel, with very friendly staff and has the luxury of a pool and spa too (though the sauna and steam are 10 eur pp extra to use).The room we had was lovely with a big comfy bed and the room and bathroom were modern and very clean.The Sky bar is fab and the bar man on duty whole we were there was fantastic and knew his stuff . He picked and explained the cocktails I should try and was spot on every time !!!

The hotel hires bikes and is situated very near Vondelpark which means u can cycle into Amsterdam at your leisure.

Anne Frank, Van Gogh Musuem and the Heineken Experience are a must see as is a Canal Boat trip.

It is a very relaxed city with lots of cafe bars etc to while the time away .

Hotel was excellent value , we took the option without brekfast as it was 18 euro each and we found that there are plenty of beautiful bakeries all over to stop and have breakfast and not as expensive.
We will be back I hope

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millfarm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Millfarm6,
Thank you very much for your kind and enthusiastic words in your review! It was a delight to read you enjoyed your stay so much! I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will read them with pride!
It has been a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back next time!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I booked a x2 night stay at the Wescord Fashion Hotel for me and my boyfriend over the bank holiday weekend and chose this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. While the design of the hotel was lovely (nice interiors, rooms big/trendy,spacious) and the staff were helpful, the hotel itself was too far from the city centre for both of us. The location seems to be in a business district and does not have any local bars/shops to visit - and is alongside what is best described as a dual carriage way.

We're a young couple and arrived on Friday evening and took the train to station Lelylaan from the airport, which is less than 10min. From there, we took the tram (either the 1 or 17 which also stops at Lelylaan) to the hotel. Don't get off the first stop as advised, as it's not very clear which way you're supposed to walk, but if you get off at the second tram stop and walk back on yourselves for around 5min, you'll arrive at the hotel which is located on your left hand side. When you get off the tram, you need to touch out (like an Oyster card) otherwise the doors don't open and you can miss your stop!

We decided to head straight into town once we had checked in and took the tram into town. Both the 1 and 17 go straight to Central Station and take about 20-25min to get there. The hotel is not walkable distance from the city centre and would take at least an hour (if not more) if you choose to do so.

As we wanted to make the most of our short stay, we stayed out past midnight on our first night, but found out that the trams stop running at 12.30pm. We decided to look up which night bus would take us back to Station Lelylaan - which was Bus 353 which you can catch from bus stop D at Central Station. We got off at Station Lelylaan (same stop we got off at when we arrived) and decided to walk the distance to the hotel, but be warned - everything looks very different at night! It is dark and not well signposted and there are no directions anywhere by the station. As a result we got very very lost - which was not a nice experience at all. We thought our best bet back to the hotel was to follow the tram line, but as it wasn't signposted, we ended up walking in the wrong direction alongside a beaten track. After being lost and walking around in the early hours for around an hour, by luck we found someone to ask for directions.

To get back to the hotel from the station, you have to walk under an underpass and even with directions from the lady we asked, the hotel was not easy to find. There really should be a couple of signs to help people find the main hotels from the station. It would have also been helpful if the hotel provided details available transport back to the hotel at night, and also some walking directions from the Station Lelylaan.

Admittedly, on our first night we should have planned things properly in terms of getting home - especially as we're in a foreign country, but we hadn't realised how confusing it was to get back to the hotel. So, our advice is as follows:
1) Take a cab from the centre back to the hotel (between 25-30 EURO)
2) Catch the tram (1 or 17) as long as you leave before 12.30pm
3) If you brave it like us and get the nightbus, ask the driver to help with directions. There is no one to ask once you're at Lelylaan, no cab numbers and no directions/signposts.
4) If you like to be near the action, book a hotel closer to the city centre.

Having said all that, we didn't have any issues with the hotel at all, so if you're after a comfortable and relaxed stay and don't mind being out of town, definitely book the Westcord Fashion Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Pamela C,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and for your compliments. I'm sorry to read that you had some difficulties with our location. Unfortunately I can't change the location, I can only emphasize that the City Centre is only 10 minutes by tram (Leidseplein) On a bicycle (which we provide for rent) it is only 5 minutes to the Vondelpark. It has been a pleasure to welcome you to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again as our guest in the future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
Genaral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

All the staff here are fantastic and very helpful. I cannot express what a great hotel this is to stay in. I know others have complained thats its far from the town but to be honest you can easily get the tram which is a short walk just up the road.

The room was immaculate and clean and had every thing u could need.

The facilities was good although we did not use the spa and the restaurant was amazing i have never had such a fantastic 3 course meal.

We will be definatly staying here again when we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Liz O,
Thank you for your short and clear review on Tripadvisor! I'm very happy to read that you will return to our hotel in the future! That's the best recommendation we can get!
Kindest regards,
WestCord fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Despite this hotel being 20 mins from the central station/Dam Square area by No 1 tram, the positive was that if you ask the hotel for their bicycles (slightly higher price than normal) it is quicker journey and much lovelier via Vondel Park which those who stay closer in don't have the chance to experience. It means that you can also experience the upmarket area to the southeast of Vondel Park for its cafe and/or shopping. Also the understated Bakkerswinkel - for breakfast/lunch.
The rooms are avant-garde (2012); we were happy although we could have done without the noisy Asian group who mistook our room for theirs and knocked on our door and telephoned our room at all hours. Spoke to management who gave our room number without our permssion to the group leader - NO! Not our problem - but presumably a young receptionist. Probably not a problem generally so would still recommend the hotel generally for clean, lovely room, very helpful reception staff (and bar staff), pool very pretty but slightly awkward to access as staff rather invisible.
Please check prices for museum/gallery tickets as we paid 15€ each for Rijks Museum whereas it was 14€ on the door, no queue and free for my 15 year old daughter (I paid the hotel 15€x2!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden as our view was nondescript
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kako25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Kako25,
Thank you for nice review on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our "Avant Garde" rooms! Thank you for recommending our hotel to others! I would like to apologize for the noisy Asian group. Your comment with regards to the museum tickets is very helpful! I hope that we may have the chance to welcome you again in the near future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.6 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
1.9 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#39 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,605 reviews
2.9 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashion Hotel Amsterdam (4-stars) is situated opposite the World Fashion Centre, within ring road A10 of Amsterdam. It has a fantastic location; Leidseplein is within a 10 minute tram ride, Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam RAI are also 10 minutes from the hotel by car and the Vondelpark is only a 5 minute walk away. This makes the hotel suitable for a business stay, but also weekend break to Amsterdam. Fashion Hotel in Amsterdam has 260 spacious modern design rooms with free WIFI internet. After a visit to Fashion’s Restaurant and Bar, with adjacent terrace, you can drink cocktails in the stylish SKYY Bar on the 10th floor. It has a great view over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing