We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One day this will be a 4* Hotel...........” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #33 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Heathrow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One day this will be a 4* Hotel...........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

Not a bad hotel if you are happy to travel. It is on the main tram line into the City and is a stop away from the Airport. The hotel was opened earlier in the year and graded 4*. It hasnt reached that yet - I am sure it will with time. No minibar in room (as stated), No toiletries in pool area, Heating in room only knows cold!!, Prices for food & drink are very high!!!!, Entrance on street level (-2) locked and buzzer doesnt work - so if in wheelchair or with buggy be prepared to climb up and down 30 steep steps - there is no other way!! Showers in room flood the bathroom. Room doors need to be pulled shut as locks dont engage leaving your room vulnerable. Other than that a good quality hotel. I would visit again if I could afford it - Amsterdam is expensive!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeathrowWookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,051
    1,332
    198
    50
    26
See reviews for
341
1,937
125
417
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel on our 12th visit to Amsterdam...we love this city! We always hire bikes when we visit so the fact that the hotel is quite a bit outside the main centre didn't bother us, in fact we liked being in a less touristy area. It was really lovely being so close to the Rembrant Park too.

The property itself is superb. The rooms are ultra modern and very stylish. The glass door on the bathroom may not be to everyone's taste however. The beds were very comfortable and rooms well stocked with tea/coffee and bathroom supplies. The pool is a great addition although it was a little chilly. Free wifi was much appreciated too.

I'll definitely consider staying here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cateecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

Very nice new hotel, spacious well equiped rooms. Just one stop from Schipol airport so very easy to get to. 5 minute walk to tram stop - 10 mins to Leidseplein and 20 mins to Dam square. Location not the best - but we knew this when we booked - hotel excellent value though as to get a similar standard in the centre would have cost at least double.

Only 1 downside - stayed for 4 nights and room was never properly made up - the kettle, iron etc were left out which is not what you expect for 4 stars. Mini bar wasnt fitted so had no fridge to cool drinks etc but got 2 complementary drinks in the trendy, modern hotel bar which made up for it.

Overall was excellent and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHunter1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

Stayed for 3 nights for Bank holiday weekend with my boyfriend. From the airport it's just one stop on the train ( at the airport the ticket machines won't accept notes- coins only, and for some reasons they wouldn't accept any of our credit or debit cards, you can go to the ticket office and stand in a line for a little bit) We were a bit affraid when we got off the train as we didn't check how to get to the hotel from the rail station. We asked people around and although at first they didn't seem to know the hotel, as soon as you say it's the new hotel they are building in the area they will direct you exaxctly where to go. It's about 7 minutes walk to the hotel. The Hotel is finished but they are building some stff just next door and still are doing pavements outside. The hotel was great, the service at the reception fast and efficient, the rooms- brand new, clean, big deep bath tub, separate toilet. The only thing that was a bit odd was the door to the bathroom....which were glass, seethrough doors to the bathroom so lying on the bed you can see everything qwhen sb else is having a shower...not the worse thing when you're with your partner but going with a friend or family could be a bit weird. Yes, the water leakes from the shower area to the sink area but its not that bed and thewy will happily supply more towels for that. The room has coffee/tea set, no minibar yet but instead we were offered a free drink at the hotel bar which is very classy. Tends to be a lot of duch people staying in the hotel.
From the reception you can get travel cards for public transport( cover trams, buses and metro) for 1/2/3/4 days ( we got 4 day travelcard for 18 euros) from the hotel it takes 5 minutes to get to the nearest tram stop- 1 or 17- both regular and go to the central station through the center. It takes less than 20 minutes to get to the centre. The last tram back to the hotel is around midnight so thats the only minus if you want to party till late :/ We didn't take cabs but they are VERY expensive there so better not miss the last tram/train.
Hotel also had swimming pool and welness center with sauna but we didnt get to use them busy with sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justyna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

Hello!

This is a 4 star hotel in Amsterdam with excellent facilities that is currently offering heavily discounted rates - so yes it is too good to be true... The hotel isn't entirely finished - the outside needs landscaping and half the rooms haven't been completed but what has been completed is very swish. However, I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting a good deal for a short break in Amsterdam! I stayed here with my partner for 4 nights on 17th August 2009 and we had no complaints at all.

The rooms are lovely, large and spacious with all modern décor. The TV was fully working with plenty of channels including BBC1 which was nice, the WIFI was also fully functioning for the whole stay. There wasn't a mini-bar in the room… but they are a waste of money anyway and there is plenty going on in Amsterdam so who wants to be stuck in a hotel room drinking! The rooms all have air-con which was great, as it was so hot whilst we were there.

Don't get a taxi from the airport to the hotel!! Train from airport to Leylaan Station takes 5 minutes, (direction Centraal Station). Buy a single ticket with credit card from manned ticket booth in airport. When at Leylaan Station get off and go down stairs to tram stops - get a tram in direction of Centraal Station - ask for a ticket for 2 stops to Surinamaplein (this takes about 2 minutes)… keep a look out on your right (facing forwards) and you will see the Hotel Fashion.

To get into the town centre use the tram, the nearest stops are a 5 minute walk away in either direction, the best one is Surninamaplein and it takes roughly 20 minutes to get to Centraal Station on the No. 1 or No. 17. Leidseplein is about 10minutes away on the No. 1. You can get a 1,2,3 or 4 day pass from hotel - these work out as cheaper.

When this hotel is fully finished it will be even better... but then so will the prices! Go now whilst it's cheap!

Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkIsabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

Hotel was very nice, friendly staff and the room was superb!
Was a shame you had to walk a abit of a distance for the tram, either going under the bridge or walking on the road, would have been handy to have a shop or two near by to buy drinks nibbles to take back to hotel as no mini bar in rooms as yet and ice machines not plumbed in either, the walk to tram wasn't far but after you have been walking around amsterdam the last thing you want to do is have to do is more walking! lol
To get the hotel tv to work switch on at the side of the tv, press the sb button on the control and use the channel up and down button.
Trams 1 and 17 are the ones you want to catch, you can buy tram passes from reception for anything from 1 day to a week or so.
We went to bols museum and at the end you get a free cocktail, this was probably the best museum we went to lol

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missymarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.6 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
1.7 mi away
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,484 reviews
2.9 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#42 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashion Hotel Amsterdam (4-stars) is situated opposite the World Fashion Centre, within ring road A10 of Amsterdam. It has a fantastic location; Leidseplein is within a 10 minute tram ride, Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam RAI are also 10 minutes from the hotel by car and the Vondelpark is only a 5 minute walk away. This makes the hotel suitable for a business stay, but also weekend break to Amsterdam. Fashion Hotel in Amsterdam has 260 spacious modern design rooms with free WIFI internet. After a visit to Fashion’s Restaurant and Bar, with adjacent terrace, you can drink cocktails in the stylish SKYY Bar on the 10th floor. It has a great view over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia and Southall Travel so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing