We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place in a perfect location”
Review of Anno 1685

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anno 1685
Ranked #268 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Manchester
2 reviews
“A perfect place in a perfect location”
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I stayed at Anno 1685 with my husband for 3 nights in November. I have to say that this little apartment is the best place I have ever stayed in any European city. The location is perfect. It is located on a quiet little street, close to the trendy 9 Streets shopping area of Amsterdam. I have never slept well in city centre apartments due to the people and traffic noise at night. Not so with Anno. The only noise you can hear is the occasional bicycle bell or scooter - it is so peaceful and relaxing. I was amazed by how close Anno was to the bustle of Amsterdam. We hired the apartment bikes for 2 days (thanks Anke) which was a perfect way to see Amsterdam and it was lovely to come back to such a warm and welcoming place - it was like coming home. There is everything you need in the apartment from a fully stocked kitchen to little things like umbrellas to use on your walks around the area and copious maps and guides. I felt like I was staying at a relative's house. The owner (Anke) was really helpful and nothing was too much trouble for her. I would love to stay here again in the Spring or Summer to see the apartment garden in full bloom.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernscroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    3
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
lewes uk
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Arrived to find Anke, the delightful owner, waiting to explain the apartment and hand over the keys. Charmingly appointed, the ground floor apartment has all you could want, well equiped kitchen, comfortable bed, tv, internet and a charming secluded garden. The location is perfect on the Liedsegracht, a picturesque small canal between the Prinsengracht and the Keizergracht canals, close by is the Jordan with lovely cafes and bars, supermarket etc. and you are so close to central Amsterdam but in delightful peace and quiet. Very nice to sit by the canal and watch the boats go by, yet a five minute walk to the Leidseplein. My three days here passed all too quickly in these delightful surroundings and perfect weather, I'm sure Anke was responsible for that too! Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulosussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We have been to Amsterdam 4 times previously and love it there, so decided we would like to spend our New Year's Eve is the city. The places we have stayed before have been fine but Anno 1685 was such a good find (I'm actually a bit unsure whether to post this review as no doubt Anke will be inundated now!).

Its in a great, quiet location but only 10 mins walk from Dam Square, and the location was one of the highlights for us. It is also on the ground floor which is a bonus, as where we have stayed before have always been on 2nd or 3rd floors with very steep stairs. This of course is part of the charm of the Amsterdam houses but it made such a nice change for us not to have to drag our bags up the narrow staircase.

The apartment has everything you could wish for - fully equipped kitchen, nice big bathroom and lovely shower with plenty of hot water, and the apartment was really warm which we were really grateful for as it was freezing when we were there.

Anke was very helpful but not intrusive - we knew where she was if we needed her.

There is also 2 bikes for hire with the apartment if you feel like it - we took advantage and we loved it - definitely the best way to see this city.

We will be visiting Amsterdam again and are hoping that Anno 1685 is free, in fact will probably book flights around it. I would not want to stay anywhere else now. Thanks so much Anke for making our weekend so enjoyable!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alibongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2009

I stayed here twice recently - the first time in November, and then on my return trip through Amsterdam in December (staying for a few days both times). I had found this hotel through trip advisor and it was just as good (if not even better) than previous recommendations. It was incredibly cosy - truly one of those places where you can just see the care that goes into how it is set up and maintained. Additionally, it had a fully stocked kitchen with all appliances I could want for a short or long stay. The ensuite was refurbished and the overall great love on mine was the beautiful, full enclosed courtyard that you can lazily lay in bed and gaze out into. No one can see you and you have a little tranquil paradise to awaken to each day. On top of this, there is also a laptop with internet in the apartment and satellite television. Anke (the manager) was also always incredibly easy to contact, very quick to respond to questions and was very helpful with a lot of valuable local information. Finally - the over riding convenience of the incredible location just can't be beat. In short, my stay at Anno 1685 was just magical. Thanks Anke.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2009

My husband and I visited Amsterdam for the first time in early October 2009. We enjoy having a kitchen and an outdoor space when we travel, and Anno 1685 offered both. We were so happy with our choice for these reasons:

(1) The location is fantastic. Amsterdam is a small city and very walkable. It was close to the Leidseplein with its many shops and tram stops, the Flower Market (so many tulip bulbs!), the Amercian Hotel and its famously beautiful art deco cafe, and the Anne Frank house. The "Dam" square, Red Light District, and Museumplein were a little further but still walkable ... or just take the tram! We found a ton of great restaurants nearby. Tomaz was our favorite!

(2) It's beautiful ... open the front door and you are looking at a beautiful canal and canal houses. Open the french doors out the back and you have your own small terrace with wonderful greenery. The kitchen is decorated beautifully and has the most amazing wood floors. The bedroom and bath are more standard, but very nice.

(3) It's quiet ... both during the day and evening. The only sounds you hear are the occasional car or bicycle passing in the front. It's a quiet, residential street. At bedtime, I actually put the radio on low to have a bit of background noise!! How often can you say that about a place?

(3) It's functional ... the kitchen has a good sized table for looking at all the brochures and maps that the homeowner keeps in the apartment -- good for planning your outings. It would also be a nice place to sit if you keep a travel journal. The chairs are comfortable. The kitchen can also be "separated" from the bedroom area by pulling a curtain that the homeowner hung between the rooms. The bed is very comfortable and plenty big for two. There are 2 individual comforters that were sooo warm and cozy. Even though my husband and I snuggle up, it would be fine for 2 friends or relatives travelling together. The bathroom facilities are fine and there is some really interesting tiles on the wall and in the shower. The shower is on the small side, but adequate. The lighting is also very good ... halogen ceiling lighting in the kitchen in bedroom were on dimmers. There are reading lights at either side of the bed, and in addition to the main light in the bathroom, there are lights behind the 2 mirrors in the bathroom that could be used as nightlights. There's also a high-speed internet connection! A laptop is provided, but we plugged the connection into our Apple and it worked great. (We watched part of the Giants game over the Internet!)

Finally, there is Anke, the homeowner. She is very kind and very helpful. She answered all of my questions prior to the trip, and was available for any questions during our stay without being in the least bit intrusive. This is important to my husband and I since we tend to be independent travelers and enjoy our privacy.

Our experience at Anno 1685 was wonderful, and we highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2009

My wife and I, along with our 7-month-old son were looking for a place to stay for an extended weekend, visit an exhibition at the Van Gogh Museum, explore Amsterdam by foot, and drive out to Keukenhof gardens. We are experienced European travelers having lived in Germany for 4+ years, and prefer to stay at B&B/vacation apartments/Ferienwohnung rather than hotels, as we've had more authentic experiences in our travels this way. After an extended apartment search (we were even looking at staying in the outlying cities and taking a train in to save some EUR and avoid a hotel) we discovered Anno 1685 as an better alternative. This place is a gem, not just for its centralized yet neighborhood location, but also due to the owner, Anke. The apartment is clean and well kept with modern bathroom/kitchen furnishings. The Leidsegracht is far enough off the train station/red light district city center to be safe and quiet (and less tourist themed), but close enough to allow walking access to all major sites - 10 min. walk to each the museum park, Anne Frank Huis, and flower market. There are plenty of great restaurants nearby, as well as a small grocer ~300 meters away. Room with kitchenette and small patio is in the basement of a canal house - remodeled with comfortably-appointed furnishings but still historically charming. Anke catered to our every need, including finding us a crib/pack-and-play to borrow for our baby and by taking us on a private canal trip in her boat. The apartment has convenient Internet access (laptop included!), has maps and plenty of tourist guides to borrow, and even has umbrellas and other kitchen items to make your stay easier. Bottom line: this is not a backpacker-rate accomodation, but you won't be in a backpacker-rate location, and if you want to feel like you LIVED in an Amsterdam canal neighborhood during your stay with excellent support by a multilingual local hostess, this is the place to do it.

Planning Notes: if driving, do not attempt to park your car in Amsterdam city center - it is expensive to feed the meter and if you don't have a resident sticker for the non-metered areas, you will be towed. Anke knows the owner of a garage around the corner - not 24/7 access to your car, but great rates (15 EUR/day), convenient, and secure.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAX-pats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,663 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
663 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 367 in Amsterdam
599 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Keizershouse Amsterdam
Keizershouse Amsterdam
#135 of 336 in Amsterdam
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anno 1685? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anno 1685

Property: Anno 1685
Address: Leidsegracht 56, 1016 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This completely self-contained elegant and fully equipped light apartment with your front door opening to a beautiful central canal is one whole floor (with your own garden at the back of your bedroom) of a historical house built in 1685. Everything is just around the corner - Anne Franck house or cafes, musea or the tram to the station - from a more central and beautiful point in town you cannot discover Amsterdam. Tea and cafe free, use of laptop, maps, large flat screen TV, bikes in front of door, boat in the summer, you are welcome - with your children, or for your work, very suitable also for seniors - there is no stairs to schlepp your suitcase up! (and we can organize safe parking around the corner). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing