We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to experience something new!”
Review of Restaurant Daalder

Restaurant Daalder
Ranked #16 of 3,858 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$53 - US$78
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Jordaan
Description: When you come into our home, you can expect fine, Michelin-quality cuisine in a down to earth environment. We serve a 4-o 7- course pre fixe menu, made with beautiful fresh ingredients, all hand picked in Paris by our head chef and co-owner, Dennis Huwaë. His exquisite dishes look like art, and with their many flavors and textures, his creations are a delight to the palate. Because we don’t like the atmosphere of reverence that this level of food usually comes with, we do things a little different at Daalder. We like to serve these fine dishes with a smile in a joyful, unpretentious atmosphere. And, because we strive to make delicious and beautiful food accessible, you’ll be still smiling when the bill is presented! Warm Regards, Team Daalder
Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to experience something new!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I wandered into the Jordaan district to find somewhere to eat that was true to Amsterdam and not touristy. I happened on Daalder and was intrigued by the idea of the prix fixe menu - yes please, I'd love to try what your chef has created! Daalder didn't disappoint; everything was fresh, inventive, and delicious. I had a 4-course meal complete with complimentary starters and wine pairings. It was a lovely meal, with a lovely sidewalk view - I will return when I'm next in Amsterdam!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sirrand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    821
    203
    47
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh, balanced and complete menu”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Wow... Me and my partner went for the 4 course option and were not disappointed.
This is a compact venue, relaxed in atmosphere, quality service without the stuffiness of some Michelin establishments.
The food we had enough components without there being too many, was wonderfully well balanced and cooked to complement each other. I love the surprise element of not knowing what you will get. Dont expect fireworks as this is not what it is about... Seasonality, fresh quality produce and modern techniques makes it all worthwhile.
And all down by a small team in a small kitchen... True skill at work. Enjoy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseyW73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing surprise!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

i went to daalder this monday night with three of my friends and the place was packed. we had an amazing waitress and six courses. the food was absolutely incredible, michelin quality food in a relaxed atmosphere. looking forward to my next visit!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with SeatMe.nl

Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Touring The World
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clever, exciting food”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was our second meal at Daalder and it did not disappoint. Each course was clever, well balanced and interesting.

The presentation was beautiful, the team were knowledgeable about both the food and wines and they were super flexible with our allergies and dislikes despite only offering a single chef's menu.

The unassuming style and laid back atmosphere will not prepare you for some of the best food I have ever had in Holland. Well worth a visit. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with SeatMe.nl

Helpful?
2 Thank Internationalgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We cannot say enough good things about this restaurant. We had the 3-course chef's menu and every dish was so nicely presented and more importantly yummy, yummy, yummy! The service was fantastic. The lovely lady who served us went out of her way to ensure we enjoyed our dining experience there. It was customer service at its very best. The place itself is basic and has a relaxed atmosphere to it. It almost belies the service and quality of food one gets. But you go there for food and service. That makes it a 5-star in our ranking.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Daalder also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Daalder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing