We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Central Guest Rooms
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Keizershof(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Albus(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Thorbecke Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Atlanta Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
6
16
10
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
16
10
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate bathroomthe room was nicecomfy bedthe red light districtgreat locationwalking distanceshowerinternet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We booked this B&B because it was centrally located and was on a par price-wise with most good hostels in the centre of Amsterdam. Location wise it was excellent for a short break as it was 20 mins walk from Dam Square and 10 mins walk from Rembrant Square with a tram stop right outside the front door.

However, we found that the website was not a true representation of the rooms and service provided. We booked a room with a shared bathroom going on the photographs on the website, and were rather disappointed to discover that the room we were allocated was tiny, incredibly dark and looked straight onto the main road. This is not so bad as if we had had the other room with a shared bathroom we would have been overlooking a nightclub which got quite loud on a Friday night.

The room and bathrooms, though small, were clean. However there was no cleaning service during our stay and for a change of towels an additional cost would be incurred. Only one window and light worked in our room (the others were broken) and the noise from the road was quite loud. We would not have been able to sleep with the window open if required. In addition the walls were really thin and we could hear our neighbours and could smell the smoke from the kitchen below where guests are permitted to smoke.

Although Sasha appears to be facilitating via email, in person he is rather abrupt and not on hand for questions or last minute changes to check in/out times. Though he will store your bags free of charge.

Also, the stairs going up to the rooms are extremely narrow so only bring small bags and do not consider staying here if you have trouble climbing stairs as these are particularly challenging even for the fittest!!

(A photo of our room is attached)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GandA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Nice clean place in a good location of the city, walking distance to many places including rembrandt square. However it was very small, like many other places in Amsterdam but the house keeper was professional and our place was clean with no disturbance. It is on a main street so noise from outside if you don't mind. Winding staircase.

The shower didn't have enough pressure and the sink was small, again like many other places in Amsterdam. Its a good place if you/re by yourself or girlfriend, our room wasn't big enough for 2 guys. I guess he had another room or 2 that was bigger but only thing he had available for us was the small room. This is just a place to lay your head at night or early morning depending on what you like to do. That's it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love2travel420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Words can not describe how bad this hotel was.

Before arrival, we were contacted by the hotel and asked to meet at a set time in light of the fact that hotel has no front desk. Unfortunately in spite of us being their on time, no one from the hotel turned up to meet us and thus were left in the street for nearly an hour until eventually a member of staff opened the door.

Following on from this we were shown to our room, which was very small consisting of just a lumpy looking bed with bedding which appeared 'used' to but it politely. Shocked by how dirty it was, we were even more shocked to discover that it was infested by mosquitos. Not just one or two, but hundreds - if not thousands. The walls were crawling with them. The gentleman who showed us to the room expressed his concern that the noise of these might keep us awake, he didn't seem too worried about the prospect of us being eaten alive. To the credit of the guy showing us the room, he did explain that the owner was out of town and that he had tried unsuccessfully to contact him. The guy then explained that if we wanted he would allow us to cancel the room without charge and find something else in the city. We took this option and checked into the IBIS. Unfortunately however it seems that the guy forgot about this conversation and still proceeded to charge our credit card. Obviously we have contacted booking.com to get this money back. Its just a shame its another hassle to have to deal with because of this appalling hotel.

Dont stay there. It is really the most awful place you could ever hope to see.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank london_douglas36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

nice, clean, comfortable, bed was huge, sheets were clean, tram stop literally 2 steps away, would have been nice to see the owner once but was nowhere to be seen, great location near to everything and renbrant sq just round the corner...........overall a very pleasant stay in amsterdam .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank icedbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

It's easy to miss this B&B (or should I say "B") as it is not really signed at all! There is only a Large wooden door as you walk down the street! This started me off with the giggles, then the never ending staircase made me completely hysterical! It seemed to wind up and up never stop! Dont pack heavy bags, or you'll never make it! Sasha was friendly, if a little mysterious. We only saw him for 10 minutes when we arrived. There is no breakfast but there is free tea and coffee. The room was lovely, one of the refurbished ones I think, with a large TV with free cable. The location is fab and we didn't use public transport the entire time we were there. The price is reasonable for the area too, much cheaper than the other hotels I looked at. This place is understated and basic, but perfect if you want a long weekend break with no travel issues. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tankgirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews